Results 1 to 14 of 14
  1. - Top - End - #1
    Banned
     
    liquid150's Avatar

    Join Date
    Mar 2010

    Default Absorption + Energy Transformation Field...How?

    Is not Absorption a Personal range spell, with a target of You? How can you key it to an Energy Transformation Field?

    PS - yeah I'm talking about tricksies. I like getting hit with rulebooks.

  2. - Top - End - #2

    Default Re: Absorption + Energy Transformation Field...How?

    Well, Magic of the Land and Spellguard of Silverymoon give it a range.

  3. - Top - End - #3
    Banned
     
    liquid150's Avatar

    Join Date
    Mar 2010

    Default Re: Absorption + Energy Transformation Field...How?

    Quote Originally Posted by sofawall View Post
    Well, Magic of the Land and Spellguard of Silverymoon give it a range.
    I don't see anything in Magic of the Land that would give it range.

  4. - Top - End - #4
    Firbolg in the Playground
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Mountain View, CA
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Absorption + Energy Transformation Field...How?

    That's because MotL is not where the non-personal part comes from. MotL just allows the spell to qualify for the Spellguard ability, and that is what converts personal range to something else.
    Saberhagen's Twelve Swords, some homebrew artifacts for 3.5 (please comment)

    Archives:
    Spoiler
    Show
    Isstinen Tonche for ECL 74 playtesting.
    Team Solars: Powergaming beyond your wildest imagining, without infinite loops or epic. Yes, the DM asked for it.
    Arcane Swordsage: Making it actually work (homebrew)

  5. - Top - End - #5

    Default Re: Absorption + Energy Transformation Field...How?

    Quote Originally Posted by liquid150 View Post
    I don't see anything in Magic of the Land that would give it range.
    Note: "Or" does not mean the same thing as "and".
    Last edited by sofawall; 2010-07-02 at 09:09 PM.

  6. - Top - End - #6
    Ogre in the Playground
     
    Siosilvar's Avatar

    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    CDT
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Absorption + Energy Transformation Field...How?

    Quote Originally Posted by sofawall View Post
    Note: "Or" does not mean the same thing as "and".
    Except when you're using the English language, when "or" can sometimes mean a logical "and" and vice versa.

    For example, if I said that Incantatrix and Arcane Thesis reduce the cost of metamagic, would you take that to mean in combination?
    Avatar some unholy combination of Winthur and Gato Muerto's ideas.

    +++ Divide By Cucumber Error. Please Reinstall Universe And Reboot +++

  7. - Top - End - #7

    Default Re: Absorption + Energy Transformation Field...How?

    Yes. I would. It would also be true.

  8. - Top - End - #8
    Ogre in the Playground
     
    Siosilvar's Avatar

    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    CDT
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Absorption + Energy Transformation Field...How?

    Quote Originally Posted by sofawall View Post
    Yes. I would. It would also be true.
    But either one also does it by themselves. "and" (not logical and), when used in a typical English-language sentence, usually means that one or the other or both can do something. If both are required, you (usually) need to specify in order to be clear.
    Avatar some unholy combination of Winthur and Gato Muerto's ideas.

    +++ Divide By Cucumber Error. Please Reinstall Universe And Reboot +++

  9. - Top - End - #9

    Default Re: Absorption + Energy Transformation Field...How?

    Quote Originally Posted by Siosilvar View Post
    But either one also does it by themselves.
    "and" (not logical and), when used in a typical English-language sentence, usually means that one or the other or both can do something. If both are required, you (usually) need to specify in order to be clear.
    I tend to assume the opposite. Usually I will say "A and B both work for X" to mean either will work. "A and B work for X" I would assume means you need both.

  10. - Top - End - #10
    Banned
     
    liquid150's Avatar

    Join Date
    Mar 2010

    Default Re: Absorption + Energy Transformation Field...How?

    Quote Originally Posted by sofawall View Post
    I tend to assume the opposite. Usually I will say "A and B both work for X" to mean either will work. "A and B work for X" I would assume means you need both.
    A and B work for X = A and B both work for X, they are interchangeable.

    The proper way to say it would be "A and B together work for X," or "Using both A and B will work for X."
    Last edited by liquid150; 2010-07-03 at 12:47 AM.

  11. - Top - End - #11
    Banned
     
    liquid150's Avatar

    Join Date
    Mar 2010

    Default Re: Absorption + Energy Transformation Field...How?

    I suppose I might as well clarify on why I want to know. I'm looking at putting together a TO Red Wizard just for kicks to show why Red Wizards are the likely most powerful prestige class in the DMG. I know this can depend on your personal character, but humor me.

    I would really like to get my Red Wizard levels to 10 for Great Circle Leader.

    I also don't think Spellguard of Silverymoon really mixes with Red wizard.
    Last edited by liquid150; 2010-07-03 at 09:49 AM.

  12. - Top - End - #12
    Firbolg in the Playground
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Mountain View, CA
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Absorption + Energy Transformation Field...How?

    Quote Originally Posted by liquid150 View Post
    I also don't think Spellguard of Silverymoon really mixes with Red wizard.
    I don't know, maybe a deep undercover agent...
    Saberhagen's Twelve Swords, some homebrew artifacts for 3.5 (please comment)

    Archives:
    Spoiler
    Show
    Isstinen Tonche for ECL 74 playtesting.
    Team Solars: Powergaming beyond your wildest imagining, without infinite loops or epic. Yes, the DM asked for it.
    Arcane Swordsage: Making it actually work (homebrew)

  13. - Top - End - #13
    Colossus in the Playground
     
    hamishspence's Avatar

    Join Date
    Feb 2007

    Default Re: Absorption + Energy Transformation Field...How?

    The Red Wizards set up trade enclaves everywhere- possibly including Silverymoon- and he left the enclave, volunteered for the Spellguard, and passed all the character tests?

    Or- he could be a wizard born and raised in one of those trade enclaves near, rather than in, Silverymoon, he chose to explore the world, wound up in Silverymoon, and chose to sign up to the Spellguard?

    Red Wizards can be any nongood alignment- a neutral Red Wizard might actually like the folk of Silverymoon.
    Marut-2 Avatar by Serpentine

  14. - Top - End - #14
    Ogre in the Playground
     
    Siosilvar's Avatar

    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    CDT
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Absorption + Energy Transformation Field...How?

    Quote Originally Posted by sofawall View Post
    I tend to assume the opposite. Usually I will say "A and B both work for X" to mean either will work. "A and B work for X" I would assume means you need both.
    You're just going to end up confusing the majority of English speakers.
    Avatar some unholy combination of Winthur and Gato Muerto's ideas.

    +++ Divide By Cucumber Error. Please Reinstall Universe And Reboot +++

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •