New OOTS products from CafePress
New OOTS t-shirts, ornaments, mugs, bags, and more
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
  1. - Top - End - #1
    Titan in the Playground

Question [D&D any] Old timers - what do you play now?

Hey all...I'm a self confessed "old fart" of D&D. I started playing about 26 years ago.

When I started, I was mainly playing AD&D 1E, with small amounts of Basic D&D (Red Box). Our group moved on to AD&D 2E when it came out, but unfortunately, the group disintegrated late in 2E's run (people started having kids, and/or starting their own businesses, that didn't leave much time for gaming).

Happily, our group re-formed a few years later, and launched into 3.5 (we missed 3.0 altogether).

When 4E came out, I flipped through the books, and played a couple of sessions at Game Day, but I just didn't take to it (lets not start an edition war here - my reasons for not playing 4E are purely a matter of personal taste, and I don't have a problem with 4E as a system).

My group still plays 3.5 D&D, at our weekly Monday sessions.

Anyhow, I was wondering how many other old-timer D&D players are on the forum, and what D&D (if any) are you still playing today?

2. - Top - End - #2
    Titan in the Playground

Default Re: [D&D any] Old timers - what do you play now?

Is 11 years still "old"?

I started with late 2nd Edition but soon switched to 3rd Ed. because it really streamlined the rules while still maintining about the same feeling and game world assumptions in the core rulebooks. There are a couple of 3rd Ed. books I think are quite good, but I only use them for fluff and still mostly play core only.
    Lately I started to use E6, and I really like how it removes the high level siliness of 3rd Ed.

I took some looks at 4th Ed. but I really seems like a very different game that just uses a great deal of the fluff I didn't like about late 3rd. Ed., so I really can't b bothered about it.
    Last edited by Yora; 2010-07-15 at 04:06 AM.