Results 1 to 13 of 13
  1. - Top - End - #1
    Dwarf in the Playground
     
    AssassinGuy

    Join Date
    Oct 2009

    Default Combat Advantage Question

    If you have two creatures fighting with swords, one is standing on a table or other item that is higher than the other, does either of them have combat advantage?

    Is the guy with higher ground in a position to bring more weight and power to bear have advantage?

    Or does the guy who only needs to block from above and has a good swing at poorly protected legs have the advantage?

    Is this DM's call, or are there actual rules?
    I lose more minions to that Starting Tavern than from any other. I mean come on! Give a guy a chance!

  2. - Top - End - #2
    Ogre in the Playground
     
    Daftendirekt's Avatar

    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    WI
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Combat Advantage Question

    Pretty sure this is DM's call.

  3. - Top - End - #3
    Titan in the Playground
     
    Kurald Galain's Avatar

    Join Date
    Jun 2007

    Default Re: Combat Advantage Question

    Quote Originally Posted by Ignatius View Post
    If you have two creatures fighting with swords, one is standing on a table or other item that is higher than the other, does either of them have combat advantage?
    By RAW, no. There is no rule that gives either of them combat advantage, therefore they don't have it.
    Crystal Shard Studios - classy freeware games!

    Utility Belt wizard (Batman 4E-style) * Chocolate!

  4. - Top - End - #4
    Orc in the Playground
     
    DwarfClericGuy

    Join Date
    Jun 2010

    Default Re: Combat Advantage Question

    If its a PC then yes I would give CA.

    Aint RAW though

  5. - Top - End - #5
    Bugbear in the Playground
     
    Leolo's Avatar

    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Germany
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Combat Advantage Question

    By RAW it depends on the table.

    If the table grants combat advantage to anyone who is standing on it then this ruling is correct - if not it is not correct.

    Obstacles in 4E can bring it's own effects, and like the question if you could "slip on this floor while running" you can not give a general answer that will be correct for all tables and all floors.

  6. - Top - End - #6
    Dwarf in the Playground
     
    KingFlameHawk's Avatar

    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Combat Advantage Question

    Obi-wan Kenobi would say it does.

  7. - Top - End - #7
    Titan in the Playground
     
    Kurald Galain's Avatar

    Join Date
    Jun 2007

    Default Re: Combat Advantage Question

    Quote Originally Posted by KingFlameHawk View Post
    Obi-wan Kenobi would say it does.
    Anakin's leg is cut off (save ends).
    Crystal Shard Studios - classy freeware games!

    Utility Belt wizard (Batman 4E-style) * Chocolate!

  8. - Top - End - #8
    Orc in the Playground
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Flanking Position

    Default Re: Combat Advantage Question

    Quote Originally Posted by Kurald Galain View Post
    Anakin's leg is cut off (save ends).
    If you save do you get a nifty black power suit same round?

  9. - Top - End - #9
    Titan in the Playground
     
    Oracle_Hunter's Avatar

    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Chicago, IL
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Combat Advantage Question

    Quote Originally Posted by Ignatius View Post
    If you have two creatures fighting with swords, one is standing on a table or other item that is higher than the other, does either of them have combat advantage?

    Is the guy with higher ground in a position to bring more weight and power to bear have advantage?

    Or does the guy who only needs to block from above and has a good swing at poorly protected legs have the advantage?

    Is this DM's call, or are there actual rules?
    There are no actual rules (IIRC) but I'd say it's a wash.

    Why? Because then you run into situations when one target is taller than the other and you begin to ask "who gets CA?" Easier to just say "no effect" than to make a ruling that gives Giants automatic CA versus Halflings
    Lead Designer for Oracle Hunter Games
    Today a Blog, Tomorrow a Business!


    ~ Awesome Avatar by the phantastic Phase ~
    Spoiler
    Show

    Elflad

  10. - Top - End - #10
    Troll in the Playground
     
    RTGoodman's Avatar

    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Eastern NC
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Combat Advantage Question

    I wouldn't give full Combat Advantage, but in the past I've given a +1 bonus on attack rolls for having the high ground if I think it was particular cinematic (or if PCs have been having a long string of bad rolls). Most of my players were 3.x players before, and are used to the higher ground bonus anyway.
    Last edited by RTGoodman; 2011-03-29 at 09:11 PM.
    The Playgrounder Formerly Known as rtg0922

    Homebrew:
    "Themes of Ansalon" - A 4E Dragonlance Supplement
    Homebrew Compendium

  11. - Top - End - #11
    Barbarian in the Playground
     
    NinjaGuy

    Join Date
    Oct 2008

    Default Re: Combat Advantage Question

    Is the table higher than 5ft? If not they are still technically on the ground.
    Haggis is Sheep's stomach filled with its intestines.

    My blog "Awkward GM"

  12. - Top - End - #12
    Orc in the Playground
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Flanking Position

    Default Re: Combat Advantage Question

    Quote Originally Posted by DontEatRawHagis View Post
    Is the table higher than 5ft? If not they are still technically on the ground.
    That makes me wonder if the table WAS 5ft high, and there was an ally on the ground opposite to the enemy... would that count ask flanking? or would the ally have to be 5ft below ground to be "opposite" the enemy?

  13. - Top - End - #13
    Dwarf in the Playground
     
    GnomePirate

    Join Date
    Sep 2009

    Default Re: Combat Advantage Question

    Is this something that was important in old editions?
    Its come up a lot lately (in my gaming group, most of whom never played 3.x but did play adnd, and on other forums)

    RAW there is no such thing as higher ground. You are either adjacent (even if this is one square diagonally up and over) or you are further away than adjacent.

    even in my 3.x games higher ground modifiers never came up, not that the measly +1 would make a difference when prone/squeezing/helpless were +4's

    That makes me wonder if the table WAS 5ft high, and there was an ally on the ground opposite to the enemy... would that count ask flanking? or would the ally have to be 5ft below ground to be "opposite" the enemy?
    you're second is correct for medium creatures. Draw a side view and determine flanking as if it were overhead. for medium creatures you would have one in a diagonal square, and one in the direct side square, and they would not be on opposite sides.

    for large creatures, who take up 2x2x2 you would be flanking until the table placed the player 10ft off the ground.
    Last edited by Bagelz; 2011-03-30 at 03:24 PM.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •