New OOTS products from CafePress
New OOTS t-shirts, ornaments, mugs, bags, and more
  1. - Top - End - #1
    Pixie in the Playground

Default Digital Artists Who Can't Use Traditional Media

Am I the only one?

I like to think I'm halfway-decent with a tablet, but the minute I try drawing with an actual pencil my art skills drop into the negatives. :-S Anyone else have this little affliction?

2. - Top - End - #2
    Colossus in the Playground

Default Re: Digital Artists Who Can't Use Traditional Media

I've been doing computer graphics for about 4 years now. Prior to this my ability to draw with a pencil was dismal at best. Now, it's actually pretty good for some incredibly bizarre reason.
    Dark Souls Remake in a Nutshell
    Don't mess with a Primarch

Sometimes I make avatars too. Shoot me a PM if interested.

3. - Top - End - #3
    Pixie in the Playground

That... doesn't make sense. Are you some kind of living talent-siphon? :'-D

No matter how much digital work I produce, my traditional stuff is still pretty bad.

4. - Top - End - #4
    Angel in the Playground Moderator

You're not the only one. I'm not very good with hand drawing, either.

5. - Top - End - #5
    Ogre in the Playground

There's two aspects to being able to produce art; being able to - for lack of a better term - draw, and being proficient with the medium you're using. As long as you're always trying to improve, any artistic procedure is going to improve the first one.

Your art skills aren't magically decreasing the moment you pick up a pencil; you just need to practice more with traditional media.

The sudden lack of an 'undo' button is daunting, I know, but you do get used to it.
    Last edited by Zanaril; 2011-04-03 at 06:56 AM.
    This post may contain sarcasm.
    DeviantArt

6. - Top - End - #6
    Dwarf in the Playground