Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. - Top - End - #1
    Barbarian in the Playground
     
    Rhaegar14's Avatar

    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Colorado
    Gender
    Male

    Default Enhancement Bonuses

    How does an Enhancement bonus stack with Armor, exactly?

    Example: Say you have a Wizard wearing Thistledown Padded Armor (+1 Armor Bonus, 0% spell fail) with a +3 enhancement bonus, for a total of a +4 bonus. Say that same Wizard casts Mage Armor. Does he then have a +4 bonus or a +7 bonus?

  2. - Top - End - #2
    Troll in the Playground
    Join Date
    May 2011

    Default Re: Enhancement Bonuses

    Enhancement bonuses only apply to the suit of armor they are enchanted to, not to whatever armor you are wearing.

  3. - Top - End - #3
    Barbarian in the Playground
     
    Rhaegar14's Avatar

    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Colorado
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Enhancement Bonuses

    Okay, but that doesn't answer my question. Is the Enhancement bonus from aforementioned +3 Thistledown Padded Armor considered part of the armor bonus (so it doesn't stack with Mage Armor) or is it considered a separate bonus (meaning it does)?

  4. - Top - End - #4
    Barbarian in the Playground
     
    pilvento's Avatar

    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Ruins of Lycia city
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Enhancement Bonuses

    The enhancement bonus u add to any item "enhances" its actual bonus so your +3padded armor will give you a total of 4 armor bonus (1 from armor and 3 from its enchant)

    Mage armor gives the caster +4 armor bonus and armor bonuses dont stack, its like using 2 rings of deflection or 2 amulet of nat armor. the same tipe bonuses never stack, you use the best one suited for you.
    english not base lenguage, sry for the grammar, thanks.


    Kael Proudmoure, Swifblade (avatar by Loki Eremes)
    Unlimited arcane technique: Spell, Sword, and Fist.


  5. - Top - End - #5
    Titan in the Playground
     
    ElfRangerGuy

    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Imagination Land
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Enhancement Bonuses

    An Enhancement Bonus to armor effectively increases the Armor Bonus granted by that armor. It won't stack with any other Armor Bonus you have.

    Same reason that holding a +5 dagger in your off-hand doesn't increase the effectiveness of any other weapon you're wielding. The bonus applies only to the item it's on.

    EDIT: So you'll have the +4, not +7.
    Last edited by KillianHawkeye; 2011-06-08 at 06:33 PM.
    "Nothing you can't spell will ever work." - Will Rogers

    "What you must learn is that these rules are no different than the rules of a computer system. Some of them can be bent. Others can be broken." - Morpheus, The Matrix

    Quote Originally Posted by Krellen View Post
    Remember, Evil isn't "selfish". It's Evil. "Look out for number one" is a Neutral attitude. Evil looks out for number one while crushing number two.

  6. - Top - End - #6
    Orc in the Playground
     
    GnomePirate

    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    USA
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Enhancement Bonuses

    Yeah, stacking rules make me sad sometimes..but are pretty necessary. The rule in question on this thread is:

    Spoiler
    Show
    Stacking

    In most cases, modifiers to a given check or roll stack (combine for a cumulative effect) if they come from different sources and have different types (or no type at all), but do not stack if they have the same type or come from the same source (such as the same spell cast twice in succession). If the modifiers to a particular roll do not stack, only the best bonus and worst penalty applies. Dodge bonuses and circumstance bonuses however, do stack with one another unless otherwise specified.

    Armor Bonus

    An armor bonus applies to Armor Class and is granted by armor or by a spell or magical effect that mimics armor. Armor bonuses stack with all other bonuses to Armor Class (even with natural armor bonuses) except other armor bonuses. An armor bonus doesn't apply against touch attacks, except for armor bonuses granted by force effects (such as the mage armor spell) which apply against incorporeal touch attacks, such as that of a shadow.

    Enhancement Bonus

    An enhancement bonus represents an increase in the sturdiness and/or effectiveness of armor or natural armor, or the effectiveness of a weapon, or a general bonus to an ability score. Multiple enhancement bonuses on the same object (in the case of armor and weapons), creature (in the case of natural armor), or ability score do not stack. Only the highest enhancement bonus applies. Since enhancement bonuses to armor or natural armor effectively increase the armor or natural armor's bonus to AC, they don't apply against touch attacks.
    Bustin' chops.

    Quote Originally Posted by Veyr View Post
    I'm pretty certain myancey is absolutely, 100% objectively correct.
    Spoiler
    Show
    Yeah man, I'd get out while you still enjoy d&d.

    As much as it sucks to say, some people aren't meant to DM because they lack the ability to make judgment calls. These people include:

    The drug-addled
    Furries
    People who buy Backyard Poultry magazine
    People who post on Rants and Raves (craigslist)
    People who buy hummers
    Professional laser tag players

    And this list goes on.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •