Page 10 of 52 FirstFirst 123456789101112131415161718192035 ... LastLast
Results 271 to 300 of 1548
  1. - Top - End - #271
    Ogre in the Playground
     
    Blisstake's Avatar

    Join Date
    Mar 2011

    Default Re: Simple Q&A Pathfinder (By RAW) I

    Q85

    Imagine this situation: A neutral cleric worships a neutral/neutral deity, and decides to spontaneously channel positive energy. If they later change their alignment to neutral evil, do they still channel positive energy? I imagine the answer is still yes, but I want to make sure.

    Additional: Under ex-clerics it states that an ex-cleric can no longer gain levels as a cleric of their god until they receive an attonement. Can they gain levels as a cleric as a different god and keep their class features? This is vaguely wording, so I'm thinking the answer is no.
    Avatar by A Rainy Knight

  2. - Top - End - #272
    Barbarian in the Playground
     
    Larpus's Avatar

    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Brazil
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Simple Q&A Pathfinder (By RAW) I

    Quote Originally Posted by von Tortrix View Post
    But it does make a difference in this situation because the length of time it takes it determined by this value so either
    [snip]
    i havn't drank my coffee quota for this time of the day so excuse me if this was poorly articulated.
    My apology, actually, I forgot to consider the later implications of the calculations.

    Quote Originally Posted by Blisstake View Post
    Q85

    Imagine this situation: A neutral cleric worships a neutral/neutral deity, and decides to spontaneously channel positive energy. If they later change their alignment to neutral evil, do they still channel positive energy? I imagine the answer is still yes, but I want to make sure.

    Additional: Under ex-clerics it states that an ex-cleric can no longer gain levels as a cleric of their god until they receive an attonement. Can they gain levels as a cleric as a different god and keep their class features? This is vaguely wording, so I'm thinking the answer is no.
    A85...?
    The first one seems to be a DM call, it looks like an unpredicted occurrence with the given rules, so it depends on whether it's interpreted that the "evil Clerics always Channel negative" or "Once this choice is made, it cannot be reversed" is the most important part.

    I'm slightly more inclined to the former actually, just because neutral Clerics of evil deities Channel negative, so it looks like this is the most important part, but it's so teeny tiny of a thing that it can really go either way afaik.

    And regarding Ex-Clerics, from the straight wording, it looks like they can keep advancing as Clerics from another god and I guess keep their abilities too, just adapting to the new god. But that doesn't look right...
    Last edited by Larpus; 2011-10-28 at 01:25 PM.

  3. - Top - End - #273
    Pixie in the Playground
     
    GnomeWizardGuy

    Join Date
    Sep 2011

    Default Re: Simple Q&A Pathfinder (By RAW) I

    Q. 86

    Does the feat 'Racial Heritage' allow me to add the benifits afforded by a level in a favored class for two races if they both have the same favored class? e.g. Human (gnome racial heritage) favored class Alchemist: add one aditional discovery, add +1/2 dice for bomb dmg.

  4. - Top - End - #274
    Titan in the Playground
     
    Yora's Avatar

    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Germany

    Default Re: Simple Q&A Pathfinder (By RAW) I

    A86: You still get only one benefit from taking one level in your characters favored class. However, each level you can chose to take either the special feature for human or gnome.

    Characters of all races can take +1 skill rank or +1 hit point, as well as a special benefit for combinations of race and class, but only one of them to the exclusion of the others. Just having more than one options does not allow you to take more than one.
    Last edited by Yora; 2011-10-28 at 01:14 PM.
    Spriggan's Den - Thoughts on RPGs and some of my personal creations.
    Ancient Lands - PF/d20 Sword & Sorcery campaign setting

  5. - Top - End - #275
    Titan in the Playground
     
    Yora's Avatar

    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Germany

    Default Re: Simple Q&A Pathfinder (By RAW) I

    Q87: If a silver dragon uses its change shape ablity to assume human form, does it retain its original Str, Dex, and Con scores?

    Q88: Do the Str and Dex boni from Alter Self apply always depending on the form you take, or only when your size changes to Medium or Small?
    RAW clearly says the former, but the later seems so obvious that I wonder if there's any clarification on it.

    Q89: Polymorph spell do not allow you to take the form of a specific creature, but some provide a +20 bonus on Disguise checks. Is that bonus limited to checks to impersonate the creature, or does it also apply to impersonating a specific person?
    Last edited by Yora; 2011-10-29 at 04:04 PM.
    Spriggan's Den - Thoughts on RPGs and some of my personal creations.
    Ancient Lands - PF/d20 Sword & Sorcery campaign setting

  6. - Top - End - #276
    Ogre in the Playground
     
    Imp

    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    in the dark
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Simple Q&A Pathfinder (By RAW) I

    A87: Yes, it retains its physical ability scores and gains a bonus depending on size. Since its actual size might also change, the size modifiers (armor, attack, hide, etc.) are also modified, this is easy to forget when dealing with larger (or smaller) creatures than normal.

    A88: The bonuses apply regardless of whether or not your size actually changes. This has been confirmed on paizo forums.

    A89: I'm not sure about this one. The Polymorph spell says you get a +20 bonus on Disguise but the Disguise skill says you get a +10 bonus. You can't create a disguise for a specific person but you can emulate its type, height, weight, age, etc. which would grant you the bonus regardless of what you were trying to do.

    Edit: Since spells are more specific, I would say the +20 bonus takes precedence. No idea why the skill description and magic description aren't the same.
    Last edited by Keneth; 2011-10-29 at 05:45 PM.

  7. - Top - End - #277
    Eldritch Horror in the Playground Moderator
     
    The Glyphstone's Avatar

    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Simple Q&A Pathfinder (By RAW) I

    Q90: A creature standing in a 5-ft corridor is wielding a tower shield and claiming total cover in the direction of an enemy throwing splash weapons. The total cover prevents the enemy from directly attacking the creature, but if the splash weapon is instead thrown at the square directly in front of the creature, will it deal splash damage despite the total cover from the shield?
    Quote Originally Posted by GungHo, on Battletech
    The Atlas is also goofy but it has that whole "Stay Puft Marshmallow Man" menacing smile thing going for it. The guy who drew that one up was obviously taken to the Nutcracker when he was a child... and he was screaming in terror the entire time.
    Spoiler
    Show

    Quote Originally Posted by Enterti, Cogidubnus
    Glyphstone, out of all the playground I think you scare me the most...
    Quote Originally Posted by Zombimode
    Glyphstone, you are an evil person :D

  8. - Top - End - #278
    Barbarian in the Playground
     
    Shadow Lord's Avatar

    Join Date
    Jun 2011

    Default Re: Simple Q&A Pathfinder (By RAW) I

    Quote Originally Posted by The Glyphstone View Post
    Q90: A creature standing in a 5-ft corridor is wielding a tower shield and claiming total cover in the direction of an enemy throwing splash weapons. The total cover prevents the enemy from directly attacking the creature, but if the splash weapon is instead thrown at the square directly in front of the creature, will it deal splash damage despite the total cover from the shield?
    A90: A creature standing in a 5-ft corridor with total cover would still take damage from a splash weapon; the rules give no allowance over the blocking of splash weapons when you have Total Cover. Thus, you can still damage the creature, because he is adjacent to the thrown splash weapon.
    ~ Thanks to Crimmy for Richardtar ~

  9. - Top - End - #279
    Titan in the Playground
     
    Yora's Avatar

    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Germany

    Default Re: Simple Q&A Pathfinder (By RAW) I

    @90: But when you have total cover, there is no line of effect. By that rule a splash attack would injure people on the other side of a solid stone wall as well.
    Spriggan's Den - Thoughts on RPGs and some of my personal creations.
    Ancient Lands - PF/d20 Sword & Sorcery campaign setting

  10. - Top - End - #280
    Ogre in the Playground
     
    Imp

    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    in the dark
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Simple Q&A Pathfinder (By RAW) I

    A90 addendum

    Line of effect is relative to the source of the splash. So yes, throwing a splash weapon to the square behind the barrier providing total cover would affect anything in that space normally. That is assuming that the thrower has a line of sight to that square in order to target it (DM's discretion if the creature can see past the tower shield).

  11. - Top - End - #281
    Eldritch Horror in the Playground Moderator
     
    The Glyphstone's Avatar

    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Simple Q&A Pathfinder (By RAW) I

    Quote Originally Posted by Yora View Post
    @90: But when you have total cover, there is no line of effect. By that rule a splash attack would injure people on the other side of a solid stone wall as well.
    Q90.5: That would relate to the next question I was going to ask - does total cover, such as from a tower shield, block line of effect? It'd prevent the creature behind the shield from being splashed if it does, as well as shield it from line and burst area spells (though not targeted spells).
    Quote Originally Posted by GungHo, on Battletech
    The Atlas is also goofy but it has that whole "Stay Puft Marshmallow Man" menacing smile thing going for it. The guy who drew that one up was obviously taken to the Nutcracker when he was a child... and he was screaming in terror the entire time.
    Spoiler
    Show

    Quote Originally Posted by Enterti, Cogidubnus
    Glyphstone, out of all the playground I think you scare me the most...
    Quote Originally Posted by Zombimode
    Glyphstone, you are an evil person :D

  12. - Top - End - #282
    Titan in the Playground
     
    Yora's Avatar

    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Germany

    Default Re: Simple Q&A Pathfinder (By RAW) I

    A90: Straight from the PF SRD:
    If you don't have line of effect to your target, he is considered to have total cover from you.
    Completely blocking line of effect is the definition of total cover.
    Spriggan's Den - Thoughts on RPGs and some of my personal creations.
    Ancient Lands - PF/d20 Sword & Sorcery campaign setting

  13. - Top - End - #283
    Dwarf in the Playground
     
    Retech's Avatar

    Join Date
    Mar 2011

    Default Re: Simple Q&A Pathfinder (By RAW) I

    Erm, that is not a logical conclusion.

    If not line of effect > total cover

    Only conclusion from that is

    not total cover > line of effect

    The converse is not necessarily true.
    Awesome avatar made by Eruantion!

  14. - Top - End - #284
    Titan in the Playground
     
    Yora's Avatar

    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Germany

    Default Re: Simple Q&A Pathfinder (By RAW) I

    What else is there that would block line of effect that isn't total cover?
    Spriggan's Den - Thoughts on RPGs and some of my personal creations.
    Ancient Lands - PF/d20 Sword & Sorcery campaign setting

  15. - Top - End - #285
    Eldritch Horror in the Playground Moderator
     
    The Glyphstone's Avatar

    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Simple Q&A Pathfinder (By RAW) I

    More like there could be total cover that doesn't block line of effect - such as a tower shield, since it does grant total cover but explicitly allows for targeted spells on the wielder via the shield, it could be ruled that other line-of-effect things, such as splash weapons or line spells, can bypass the shield as well.
    Quote Originally Posted by GungHo, on Battletech
    The Atlas is also goofy but it has that whole "Stay Puft Marshmallow Man" menacing smile thing going for it. The guy who drew that one up was obviously taken to the Nutcracker when he was a child... and he was screaming in terror the entire time.
    Spoiler
    Show

    Quote Originally Posted by Enterti, Cogidubnus
    Glyphstone, out of all the playground I think you scare me the most...
    Quote Originally Posted by Zombimode
    Glyphstone, you are an evil person :D

  16. - Top - End - #286
    Ogre in the Playground
     
    Imp

    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    in the dark
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Simple Q&A Pathfinder (By RAW) I

    Quote Originally Posted by The Glyphstone View Post
    it could be ruled that other line-of-effect things, such as splash weapons or line spells, can bypass the shield as well.
    RAW only allow for targeted spells to affect the target behind a tower shield, it otherwise acts no different than a wall and hence blocks all attacks that pass through it, including splash weapons.

  17. - Top - End - #287
    Barbarian in the Playground
     
    Larpus's Avatar

    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Brazil
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Simple Q&A Pathfinder (By RAW) I

    Q91
    I know you need two hands to wield a 2-handed weapon, but do you also need both to just hold it?

    Can you, for example, wear a buckler strapped to one arm and, after attacking with a greasword or something, let go of it with a free action and benefit from the buckler's AC bonus?

    Or, if you have claws, let go of the sword and make a claw attack with one of your hands?

  18. - Top - End - #288
    Ogre in the Playground
     
    Imp

    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    in the dark
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Simple Q&A Pathfinder (By RAW) I

    A91

    For the first part, you have to realize that all the turns (yours, your allies' and opponents') basically happen at the same time. The initiative line creates only an illusion of the fight happening sequentially. So yes, you can let go of the two-handed weapon to receive its AC bonus but you won't actually get that bonus until the next round (because you forfeited it due to fighting with that hand) and it goes away again if you decide to attack.

    As for the second part, yes, I believe you can make a natural attack with one claw and hold on to the sword with the other. Remember that all natural attacks count as secondary when wielding a manufactured weapon though.

  19. - Top - End - #289
    Barbarian in the Playground
     
    Daemon

    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Denmark
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Simple Q&A Pathfinder (By RAW) I

    A91 clarification: By RAW you cannot receive an AC bonus from wearing a buckler on the same turn in which you made an attack using a two-handed weapon. There is no way around this.

    As for letting go with one hand from a two-handed weapon to make an alternate attack with one hand, this is indeed a free action. It is also a good tactic when if you are wielding a reach weapon and someone gets up close and personal. A (spiked) gauntlet will count as a melee weapon getting you around any issues you might encounter with natural attacks. You could even choose to attack using a two-handed weapon in one hand but you would incur penalties from using an oversized weapon.
    Last edited by Lord Bingo; 2011-10-31 at 07:36 AM.

  20. - Top - End - #290
    Barbarian in the Playground
     
    Larpus's Avatar

    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Brazil
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Simple Q&A Pathfinder (By RAW) I

    Q91+
    This one I thin to be one big no as it's borderline exploit, but here it goes:

    Can you also as a free action change your weapon to the other hand (that just made a claw attack) and make your second claw attack with the, now free, hand?

    By RAW it sounds possible, but feels very exploity.

    Q92
    Let's say you're a half-caster, such as Alchemist, Bard, Inquisitor, Magus or Summoner. By default you can't use spell completion items (aka. scrolls) without a UMD check, even if they are in your class' list.

    However, what happens if you grab the Scribe Scroll feat?

    It doesn't require you to be a full-caster, so you can take it and, as such, make scrolls. But it also doesn't say it gives you the ability to use them without a UMD check, so by RAW are you in a weird and awkward situation where you're a blacksmith who can make swords but has no idea how to swing them?

  21. - Top - End - #291
    Titan in the Playground
     
    Yora's Avatar

    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Germany

    Default Re: Simple Q&A Pathfinder (By RAW) I

    Quote Originally Posted by Larpus View Post
    Q92
    Let's say you're a half-caster, such as Alchemist, Bard, Inquisitor, Magus or Summoner. By default you can't use spell completion items (aka. scrolls) without a UMD check, even if they are in your class' list.
    How did you get this impression? I never heard that and don't find anything like that in the rules.
    Spriggan's Den - Thoughts on RPGs and some of my personal creations.
    Ancient Lands - PF/d20 Sword & Sorcery campaign setting

  22. - Top - End - #292
    Ogre in the Playground
     
    Imp

    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    in the dark
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Simple Q&A Pathfinder (By RAW) I

    Quote Originally Posted by Larpus View Post
    Can you also as a free action change your weapon to the other hand (that just made a claw attack) and make your second claw attack with the, now free, hand?
    This one is up to the DM's discretion as he's the one delegating how many free actions of a certain kind you can do at any given time. There's a good chance he'll say no.

    Quote Originally Posted by Larpus View Post
    Q92
    Let's say you're a half-caster, such as Alchemist, Bard, Inquisitor, Magus or Summoner. By default you can't use spell completion items (aka. scrolls) without a UMD check, even if they are in your class' list.
    Actually you can use any scroll of the correct type (arcane or divine) assuming the spell is on your spell list. So a magus could cast a scroll of shocking grasp that was scribed by a wizard. If the spell is not on your spell list, if your ability isn't high enough, or if the scroll is not of the right type, you are required to make a UMD check.

  23. - Top - End - #293
    Barbarian in the Playground
     
    Larpus's Avatar

    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Brazil
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Simple Q&A Pathfinder (By RAW) I

    Q92+
    Hmmm...I thought I had read it somewhere, so I either imagined the whole deal, it's either very deep and hidden or it has been changed.

    That said, the limitation does exist for the Alchemist, probably because he casts so differently from the rest.
    Spoiler
    Show
    Although the alchemist doesn’t actually cast spells, he does have a formulae list that determines what extracts he can create. An alchemist can utilize spell-trigger items if the spell appears on his formulae list, but not spell-completion items (unless he uses Use Magic Device to do so). [...]
    Last edited by Larpus; 2011-10-31 at 08:32 AM.

  24. - Top - End - #294
    Ogre in the Playground
     
    Imp

    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    in the dark
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Simple Q&A Pathfinder (By RAW) I

    Yes, since the alchemist doesn't actually cast spells, he can't use spell completion items which basically require you to cast it the same way you would a spell.

  25. - Top - End - #295
    Barbarian in the Playground
     
    Larpus's Avatar

    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Brazil
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Simple Q&A Pathfinder (By RAW) I

    So, by RAW, the Alchemist does get into the awkward situation of knowing how to make something and have no idea how to use it, right?

    Could it be considered a RAW update to allow an Alchemist with Scribe Scroll to read scrolls normally though? After all, the feat was created before the Alchemist and it's a minor enough thing that is unlikely to be truly noticed and corrected (hell, Alchemist is my favorite class for some months now and I just noticed this myself).

  26. - Top - End - #296
    Ogre in the Playground
     
    Imp

    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    in the dark
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Simple Q&A Pathfinder (By RAW) I

    Actually no, since the Alchemist doesn't actually cast spells, he doesn't have a caster level, although for the purposes of spell effects and dispel magic, he treats his alchemist level as the caster level. Since he's not a caster, he can't take Scribe Scroll. You could multiclass and take scribe scroll but he still wouldn't be able to scribe scrolls from his formulas (even though he can create formulas from scrolls).

  27. - Top - End - #297
    Barbarian in the Playground
     
    Larpus's Avatar

    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Brazil
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Simple Q&A Pathfinder (By RAW) I

    That's debatable, it's specifically mentioned that "The alchemist uses his level as the caster level to determine any effect based on caster level", my DM has taken this as to meaning he does indeed have a CL and can select feats as normal.

    But since this is diverting from "simple Q&A", here is a new thread for that.
    Last edited by Larpus; 2011-10-31 at 10:39 AM.

  28. - Top - End - #298
    Dwarf in the Playground
     
    AssassinGuy

    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Tinker AFB
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Simple Q&A Pathfinder (By RAW) I

    Q94: When crafting an item you don't meet the prereqs for, does increasing the DC by 5 allow you to craft the item without that prereq? Or does it increase the DC by 5 to allow someone who does meet the prereq help you?

  29. - Top - End - #299
    Dwarf in the Playground
     
    NamelessNPC's Avatar

    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Casteland, Argentina
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Simple Q&A Pathfinder (By RAW) I

    A94: From the PRD:

    Note that all items have prerequisites in their descriptions. These prerequisites must be met for the item to be created. Most of the time, they take the form of spells that must be known by the item's creator (although access through another magic item or spellcaster is allowed). The DC to create a magic item increases by +5 for each prerequisite the caster does not meet. The only exception to this is the requisite item creation feat, which is mandatory. In addition, you cannot create spell-trigger and spell-completion magic items without meeting their spell prerequisites.
    Bolded is mine. There are not rules for helping another one create an item, as far as I know.

  30. - Top - End - #300
    Dwarf in the Playground
     
    AssassinGuy

    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Tinker AFB
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Simple Q&A Pathfinder (By RAW) I

    Quote Originally Posted by NamelessNPC View Post
    A94: From the PRD:



    Bolded is mine. There are not rules for helping another one create an item, as far as I know.
    Yeah, I was referring to the part where it says that you can use spell completion items or other casters. I just wanted to make sure that I was misinterpreting what it was saying and skipping prereqs by adding 5 when rules as intended was saying if I dont meet the prereq I have to up the DC by 5 and find a caster to cast the prereq for me lol

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •