Page 18 of 52 FirstFirst ... 891011121314151617181920212223242526272843 ... LastLast
Results 511 to 540 of 1548
  1. - Top - End - #511
    Ogre in the Playground
     
    Imp

    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    in the dark
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Simple Q&A Pathfinder (By RAW) I

    A194 No, metamagic rods apply metamagic effects to spells being cast. If you're using a wand, you're not casting a spell.

  2. - Top - End - #512
    Bugbear in the Playground
     
    Volos's Avatar

    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Simple Q&A Pathfinder (By RAW) I

    Q195
    After one enters a stance employed by a fighting style a style feat embodies, is there any condition, effect, or situation caused by an outside force that can cause one to drop or end the stance? (Style Feats, Ultimate Combat, pg 78) Example: A monk is first to act in combat, he has all three of the Crane Style feats. He uses a swift action to adopt the stance from the Crane Style. Does he remain in this stance until he dies and/or combat ends? Or is there a way an outside force can cause him to drop the stance?
    Last edited by Volos; 2012-01-07 at 08:13 AM.

  3. - Top - End - #513
    Titan in the Playground
     
    Yora's Avatar

    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Germany

    Default Re: Simple Q&A Pathfinder (By RAW) I

    Q196: Would a creatures natural immunity to polymorph be in conflict with a natural change shape ability, or would a natural polymorph ability ignore the immunity?
    Spriggan's Den - Thoughts on RPGs and some of my personal creations.

    When you start dividing quotes into blocks to reply to each paragraph seperately, that's usually a strong sign that you're no longer contributing to the thread, but just arguing over who is right.

  4. - Top - End - #514
    Bugbear in the Playground
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Simple Q&A Pathfinder (By RAW) I

    A195: The only condition that deactivates your stance is activating another stance, or effects that explicitly state that they change your stance. I am not aware if those exist.

  5. - Top - End - #515
    Ogre in the Playground
     
    Imp

    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    in the dark
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Simple Q&A Pathfinder (By RAW) I

    A196 An immunity always takes priority but since this is a rather unique case the GM might be inclined to make an exception. How would you even achieve that anyway?

  6. - Top - End - #516
    Titan in the Playground
     
    Yora's Avatar

    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Germany

    Default Re: Simple Q&A Pathfinder (By RAW) I

    @196: With a custom creature. However, proteans to have immunity to polymorph while being shapechangers unless they want to.
    Spriggan's Den - Thoughts on RPGs and some of my personal creations.

    When you start dividing quotes into blocks to reply to each paragraph seperately, that's usually a strong sign that you're no longer contributing to the thread, but just arguing over who is right.

  7. - Top - End - #517
    Ogre in the Playground
     
    Imp

    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    in the dark
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Simple Q&A Pathfinder (By RAW) I

    A196+ Yes, the only way around an immunity is when the rules explicitly say so, like in the case of proteans. If making a custom creature then a similar rules provision should be added for it to avoid confusion later.

  8. - Top - End - #518
    Dwarf in the Playground
     
    DonDuckie's Avatar

    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Odense, Denmark
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Simple Q&A Pathfinder (By RAW) I

    Q197) Can a Crag Linnorm skeleton fly?

    Q198) How do I know/determine if a creature flies magically in general? (it's for the skeleton template)

    Q199) Would mystic theurge let a character control more HD undeads?
    For example: cleric 3/necromancer 3/mystic theurge 2
    would have caster level 5 + 5 = 10
    Last edited by DonDuckie; 2012-01-08 at 03:24 AM. Reason: added the Qs

  9. - Top - End - #519
    Ogre in the Playground
     
    Imp

    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    in the dark
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Simple Q&A Pathfinder (By RAW) I

    A197 Yes, since it doesn't use wings to fly, it should be able to do so as a skeleton.

    A198 See Flight under Universal Monster Rules:
    Quote Originally Posted by SRD
    If the creature has wings, flight is an extraordinary ability. Otherwise, it is spell-like or supernatural [...]
    A199 Yes, assuming you can find enough corpses, you should be able to control up to a maximum of 30x4 HD at level 20.

    Edit: You should also note that these are separate "HD pools", when you cast Animate Dead as a necromancer, it can't exceed 15x4 HD. You can't control the excess with the cleric's HD pool, you can however use Command Undead to assume control of the excess but this is again a separate pool.
    Last edited by Keneth; 2012-01-08 at 06:05 AM.

  10. - Top - End - #520
    Ettin in the Playground
     
    OldWizardGuy

    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Simple Q&A Pathfinder (By RAW) I

    Q200
    Has a Red Wizard equivalent been published? Circle magic in particular is what I'm looking for.

  11. - Top - End - #521
    Ettin in the Playground
    Join Date
    Apr 2011

    Default Re: Simple Q&A Pathfinder (By RAW) I

    A200

    The closest thing I can think of is the Coven Hex for the Witch class. Unlike Circle Magic (which tops out at CL 40), the only limit to this caster level booster is the number of witches you can fit in a 30' radius.

  12. - Top - End - #522
    Orc in the Playground
     
    El Dorado's Avatar

    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Austin, TX
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Simple Q&A Pathfinder (By RAW) I

    Q 201

    Aura of Heroism (Su): At 8th level, you can emit a 30-foot aura of heroism for a number of rounds per day equal to your cleric level. Using this ability is a swift action. Allies in the area are treated as if they were under the effects of heroism.
    Is the 30-foot aura mentioned above measured as a radius or a diameter?
    Avatar by Qwernt

  13. - Top - End - #523
    Ogre in the Playground
     
    Blisstake's Avatar

    Join Date
    Mar 2011

    Default Re: Simple Q&A Pathfinder (By RAW) I

    A201

    I don't see it expicitly written anywhere, but are spells are typically measured by radius rather than diameter, so I would go with that.

    A200

    No, and I belive Red Wizard isn't open content, so there will never be an official conversion.
    Last edited by Blisstake; 2012-01-08 at 11:56 PM.
    Avatar by A Rainy Knight

  14. - Top - End - #524
    Ogre in the Playground
     
    Imp

    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    in the dark
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Simple Q&A Pathfinder (By RAW) I

    Q202 Speaking of spell areas, Grease covers a 2x2 square, right? Or is it a 4x4 square?

  15. - Top - End - #525
    Dwarf in the Playground
    Join Date
    Aug 2007

    Default Re: Simple Q&A Pathfinder (By RAW) I

    Quote Originally Posted by Keneth View Post
    Q202 Speaking of spell areas, Grease covers a 2x2 square, right? Or is it a 4x4 square?
    A202 10ft square. So 2x2.

  16. - Top - End - #526
    Titan in the Playground
     
    Ravens_cry's Avatar

    Join Date
    Sep 2008

    Default Re: Simple Q&A Pathfinder (By RAW) I

    A202
    It says "10-foot square" so 2X2 sounds right. 4x4 would be a twenty foot square.
    Q203
    Here's a weird interaction question.
    Dragonbane Aura grants a bonus on saving throws against dragons breath to allies equal to the bonus from your aura of courage when in your aura of courage.
    Fair enough, makes sense.
    But here's where things get tricky. There is another feat, Fearless Aura, that grants allies immunity to fear effects when in your aura of courage.
    Does this mean that with for Paladin that has both feats, your allies, within the area, are immune to dragon breath effects?
    Last edited by Ravens_cry; 2012-01-09 at 05:49 AM.
    Quote Originally Posted by Calanon View Post
    Raven_Cry's comments often have the effects of a +5 Tome of Understanding

  17. - Top - End - #527
    Ogre in the Playground
     
    Imp

    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    in the dark
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Simple Q&A Pathfinder (By RAW) I

    @202 Just thought I'd check in case it was like the radius of a circle.

    A203 No, since immunity is no longer a bonus to checks. It's either the original bonus since nothing says that it no longer applies, or it's no bonus at all if the GM wants to argue that immunity replaces the bonus completely but that would make the feat useless.

  18. - Top - End - #528
    Orc in the Playground
     
    El Dorado's Avatar

    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Austin, TX
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Simple Q&A Pathfinder (By RAW) I

    A 201 Addendum

    Aha! It's in the Beastiary, under Monster Introduction

    Aura: If the creature has a particular magical or exceptional aura, it is listed here along with its radius from the creature and, as applicable, a save DC to resist the aura's effects.
    Avatar by Qwernt

  19. - Top - End - #529
    Dwarf in the Playground
     
    DonDuckie's Avatar

    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Odense, Denmark
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Simple Q&A Pathfinder (By RAW) I

    Q204 Can I use Spellcraft for the Craft Construct feat? The general rules says spellcraft or other appropriate skill(usually). And the feat says it works like other item creation feats which all can use spellcraft.

  20. - Top - End - #530
    Ogre in the Playground
     
    Imp

    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    in the dark
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Simple Q&A Pathfinder (By RAW) I

    A204 Yes, you can use Spellcraft to create any magic item including constructs.

  21. - Top - End - #531
    Dwarf in the Playground
     
    DonDuckie's Avatar

    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Odense, Denmark
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Simple Q&A Pathfinder (By RAW) I

    Quote Originally Posted by Keneth View Post
    A204 Yes, you can use Spellcraft to create any magic item including constructs.
    Q204 follow up
    So there is no need for a Item crafter to put skillpoints in craft skills. 'Need' in the sense it can't limit his ability to craft items.

  22. - Top - End - #532
    Ogre in the Playground
     
    Imp

    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    in the dark
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Simple Q&A Pathfinder (By RAW) I

    Q204+ No, unless you also wish to craft the base components, there is no need for the Craft skills.

  23. - Top - End - #533
    Dwarf in the Playground
     
    Stone Heart's Avatar

    Join Date
    Jan 2010

    Default Re: Simple Q&A Pathfinder (By RAW) I

    Q205 Does having extra arms actually provide any benefit to grappling? I was considering playing an alchemist 2/Tetori Monk X, for a grapple focused build with extra arms and I could not find anything about it.
    Last edited by Stone Heart; 2012-01-12 at 04:42 AM.
    Awesome Avvy courtesy of Beholder1995

  24. - Top - End - #534
    Ogre in the Playground
     
    Imp

    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    in the dark
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Simple Q&A Pathfinder (By RAW) I

    A205 No, there's no benefit for having extra arms (apart from being more versatile), only extra legs.

  25. - Top - End - #535
    Pixie in the Playground
     
    EvilClericGuy

    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Simple Q&A Pathfinder (By RAW) I

    Q206: Suppose I make a first level sorcerer with the elemental (fire) bloodline and give him Burning Hands as one of his starting spells. He then gets Burning Hands (a version that's technically of the energy type of his bloodline but since it's fire anyway it's identical) as one of his bonus spells at 3rd level.

    Can he then switch the original Burning Hands away for some other spell at 4th level (without losing the bonus spell) or not?

  26. - Top - End - #536
    Ogre in the Playground
     
    Blisstake's Avatar

    Join Date
    Mar 2011

    Default Re: Simple Q&A Pathfinder (By RAW) I

    A206 (Deleted old post; I misread the question)

    Since bloodline spells are "in addition to the number of spells given on the sorcerer table," so I think, technically, you have Burning Hands listed twice for spells known. That would allow you to switch the first with another spell known at 4th level.
    Avatar by A Rainy Knight

  27. - Top - End - #537
    Ogre in the Playground
     
    Imp

    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    in the dark
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Simple Q&A Pathfinder (By RAW) I

    A206 Technically there's no rules for this, so talk to your GM. Since you can't know the same spell twice, you can't replace "one of them", the only question is, if you decide to replace burning hands, can you retroactively benefit from the bonus spell? You really should have thought of this beforehand.

  28. - Top - End - #538
    Ogre in the Playground
     
    Imp

    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    in the dark
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Simple Q&A Pathfinder (By RAW) I

    Q207 Is there any simple way to avoid ability damage? I'm looking for something to the effect of Sheltered Vitality from Spell Compendium.

  29. - Top - End - #539
    Ettin in the Playground
    Join Date
    Apr 2011

    Default Re: Simple Q&A Pathfinder (By RAW) I

    Q208

    Can a witch use the prehensile hair hex to deliver touch attacks on targets 10' away? Logically it would seem an obvious "yes," but I can't seem to find a good RAW definition of what constitutes a "touch attack."

  30. - Top - End - #540
    Ogre in the Playground
     
    Imp

    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    in the dark
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Simple Q&A Pathfinder (By RAW) I

    A208 This is the only relevant part:

    [...] and she can use it as a secondary natural attack [...]
    Any unarmed/natural attack can be used to deliver a touch attack, so yes, you can do that.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •