Page 19 of 52 FirstFirst ... 9101112131415161718192021222324252627282944 ... LastLast
Results 541 to 570 of 1548
  1. - Top - End - #541
    Ogre in the Playground
     
    Imp

    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    in the dark
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Simple Q&A Pathfinder (By RAW) I

    A208 This is the only relevant part:

    [...] and she can use it as a secondary natural attack [...]
    Any unarmed/natural attack can be used to deliver a touch attack, so yes, you can do that.

  2. - Top - End - #542
    Ettin in the Playground
    Join Date
    Apr 2011

    Default Re: Simple Q&A Pathfinder (By RAW) I

    Q209

    Leading out of Q208, would said touch attack use the full BAB (as a normal touch attack would) or BAB -5 (as a secondary natural attack would).

  3. - Top - End - #543
    Ogre in the Playground
     
    Imp

    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    in the dark
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Simple Q&A Pathfinder (By RAW) I

    A209 I guess it depends on how it's used. If you make the touch attack as part of casting a spell (the freebie), then it's at full BAB.

    I have no idea how touch attacks mesh with the full attack action however. If we assume that the touch effect is manifested on one specific natural weapon (i.e. the hair), then you can make a secondary attack as a touch attack normally at -5 penalty as part of the full attack action.

    The rules are somewhat vague about that however. Say you cast a spell like Frostbite which has multiple charges, can you discharge it on each of your natural attacks? Nothing says you can't. But then nothing says you can either.

    There's also this:
    If you touch anything or anyone while holding a charge, even unintentionally, the spell discharges.
    Does this mean touch with that particular hand/extremity or is it any touch? Does it discharge if a cleric tries to cast a cure spell on you?

    And then a few sentences lower:
    Alternatively, you may make a normal unarmed attack (or an attack with a natural weapon) while holding a charge.
    So how exactly does this work if it always discharges even accidentally?

    In any case, I think it's best to assume that you can elect when to discharge the touch attack, so if you're gonna make a touch attack with the hair as part of a full attack, make a secondary attack as normal.

  4. - Top - End - #544
    Troll in the Playground
     
    Chained Birds's Avatar

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    ☢CAUTION☢
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Simple Q&A Pathfinder (By RAW) I

    Q210

    Can a monk's flurry of blows be used on shurikens for multiple ranged attacks? And if so, can a Ki Focus group of shurikens Wushu Dart allow the monk to stunning fist a dude from a range?
    Last edited by Chained Birds; 2012-01-19 at 09:21 AM.
    Avatar by Savannah
    Quote Originally Posted by Karoht View Post
    In soviet dungeon, aboleth farms you!
    Spoiler: Characters
    Show

    Unfortunately, by November 12th of this year, I will be gone for at least 8-9 weeks. Apologies to all active games I am in.

  5. - Top - End - #545
    Ogre in the Playground
     
    Imp

    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    in the dark
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Simple Q&A Pathfinder (By RAW) I

    Q211 How much weight can a flying creature carry around? Say a hawk grabs something off the ground, how heavy can it be while still allowing the hawk to fly (albeit more slowly due to encumbrance)?

  6. - Top - End - #546
    Bugbear in the Playground
     
    Daemon

    Join Date
    Aug 2010

    Default Re: Simple Q&A Pathfinder (By RAW) I

    Q212: A level 8 or higher monk with the Tetori archetype is engaged in a grapple. Being a tetori, she is able to make attacks of opportunity while grappling and has the grab ability. Another enemy passes through her threatened area, and the tetori makes her AoO and grabs that enemy. Is she now grappling both enemies? She has grappled both of them without using the "single limb" option of Grab; does she now have to begin doing so, or can she continue to grapple both of them as normal? If she has Combat Reflexes, can she drag in more enemies?
    Last edited by Benly; 2012-01-19 at 07:35 AM.

  7. - Top - End - #547
    Titan in the Playground
     
    Yora's Avatar

    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Germany

    Default Re: Simple Q&A Pathfinder (By RAW) I

    A211: Apparently, a flying creature can fly as long as the load does not exceed the maximum carrying capacity.
    Spriggan's Den - Thoughts on Sword & Sorcery, RPGs, and some of my personal creations.

    Quote Originally Posted by Galloglaich View Post
    DnD is basically a comic book superhero game set in an alternate reality more related to a Renaissance Faire than any actual history or mythology from the real world.

  8. - Top - End - #548
    Orc in the Playground
     
    Murillio's Avatar

    Join Date
    Oct 2010

    Default Re: Simple Q&A Pathfinder (By RAW) I

    A210

    You're able to make multiple ranged attacks with shurikens using flurry of blows.

    "a monk can make a flurry of blows as a full-attack action. When doing so he may make one additional attack using any combination of unarmed strikes or attacks with a special monk weapons"

    Since shurikens are special monk weapons its a go. Plus flurry of blows is at its core the Two Weapon Fighting feat chain I don't see why not.

    As an example, when people build a Ninja focused on sneak attacking with shurikens they tend use two weapon fighting in order to get those extra attacks. Thus if thats legal I don't see why it would be a problem for a monk to do the same with flurry of blows.

    Regarding the Ki Focus + Wushu Dart. No idea.
    Last edited by Murillio; 2012-01-20 at 01:33 PM.

  9. - Top - End - #549
    Orc in the Playground
     
    WolfInSheepsClothing

    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Simple Q&A Pathfinder (By RAW) I

    Quote Originally Posted by Yora View Post
    A211: Apparently, a flying creature can fly as long as the load does not exceed the maximum carrying capacity.
    A211 Addendum: This is only true if it is not a mount.
    As soon as a creature is considered a mount it can't fly with a medium or heavy load.

  10. - Top - End - #550
    Ogre in the Playground
     
    Imp

    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    in the dark
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Simple Q&A Pathfinder (By RAW) I

    Quote Originally Posted by mikau013 View Post
    A211 Addendum: This is only true if it is not a mount.
    As soon as a creature is considered a mount it can't fly with a medium or heavy load.
    Well that's just silly, how does that make any sense? And how exactly does one differentiate between mounts and normal creatures anyway?

  11. - Top - End - #551
    Ettin in the Playground
    Join Date
    Apr 2011

    Default Re: Simple Q&A Pathfinder (By RAW) I

    Q213

    Looking at building a spellslinger, and I ran into a number of ambiguities. Does a Spellslinger use ammunition when casting through their gun? If not, does the spell use the gun's range or the spell's normal range (for non-cone spells, obviously)? Additionally, does a spell fired through the gun use the weapon's critical range (not multiplier, which is explicitly set separately)?

  12. - Top - End - #552
    Pixie in the Playground
     
    EvilClericGuy

    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Simple Q&A Pathfinder (By RAW) I

    Keneth: I would guess the logic is you can't carry a rider and also a load at the same time?

  13. - Top - End - #553
    Ogre in the Playground
     
    Imp

    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    in the dark
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Simple Q&A Pathfinder (By RAW) I

    A213 A spellslinger can fire either a bullet or a spell but not both at the same time. The range of the gun also has no effect on the range of the spell fired through it, only the crit multiplier is affected if a single firearm is chosen.

    This really should have been a magus archetype if you ask me...

    Quote Originally Posted by BlackHumor View Post
    Keneth: I would guess the logic is you can't carry a rider and also a load at the same time?
    I'm not seeing any logic here unless a creature only counts as a mount when there's an actual rider on its back. If that's the case then it kinda makes sense, although just barely.

  14. - Top - End - #554
    Bugbear in the Playground
     
    Daemon

    Join Date
    Aug 2010

    Default Re: Simple Q&A Pathfinder (By RAW) I

    Q214:

    Other than increasing your Dexterity, is there any way to increase the number of attacks of opportunity you can make per round beyond what Combat Reflexes grants?

  15. - Top - End - #555
    Ogre in the Playground
     
    Blisstake's Avatar

    Join Date
    Mar 2011

    Default Re: Simple Q&A Pathfinder (By RAW) I

    Quote Originally Posted by Benly View Post
    Q214:

    Other than increasing your Dexterity, is there any way to increase the number of attacks of opportunity you can make per round beyond what Combat Reflexes grants?
    A214

    I think there are a few specific ways. The only one I remember is the classfeature of a Kensai, though.
    Last edited by Blisstake; 2012-01-21 at 03:20 PM.
    Avatar by A Rainy Knight

  16. - Top - End - #556
    Ogre in the Playground
     
    Doorhandle's Avatar

    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Australia
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Simple Q&A Pathfinder (By RAW) I

    A214 I think there are a few specific ways. The only one I remember is the classfeature of a Kensai, though.
    Also puma style, although that's more "cross-counters of opportunity."

    Q215: If you have a piece of ammunition that was, say, 1+ shocking and flaming burst, and a bow that was 3+ seeking, thundering, acid burst, would all the bonuses stack?

    I know the straight enhancement bonuses wouldn’t (It would only be 3+,) but what about the properties?
    Last edited by Doorhandle; 2012-01-22 at 02:06 AM.
    Have a deviantart!
    Can't write. Can't plan. Can draw a little.
    Quote Originally Posted by Craft (Cheese) View Post
    "In his free time, he gates in Balors just so he can kill and eat them later!"

  17. - Top - End - #557
    Orc in the Playground
     
    Lappy9001's Avatar

    Join Date
    Dec 2011

    Default Re: Simple Q&A Pathfinder (By RAW) I

    Q216

    Does the Pathfinder Beginner Box address two-weapon fighting? I can't seem to find the rules anywhere, and I'd like to know for sure before I port in the rules from the full game.

  18. - Top - End - #558
    Ettin in the Playground
    Join Date
    Apr 2011

    Default Re: Simple Q&A Pathfinder (By RAW) I

    A215

    Yes. RAW says a launcher can impart certain specifically delineated special abilities on its ammunition, but makes no mention of displacing the ammunition's own special abilities (aside from the specific example of enhancement bonus, which doesn't stack).

    However, it's not clear by RAW what happens if that stacking results in a total enhancement bonus over +10 (which is expressly prohibited).

  19. - Top - End - #559
    Ogre in the Playground
     
    Imp

    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    in the dark
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Simple Q&A Pathfinder (By RAW) I

    A215+ The total bonus of the projectile isn't really increased when a weapon imparts its abilities onto it; this is merely a temporary bonus and is not restricted to the +10 limit.

  20. - Top - End - #560
    Dwarf in the Playground
     
    SpaceBadger's Avatar

    Join Date
    Oct 2009

    Default Re: Simple Q&A Pathfinder (By RAW) I

    Q 217 Are there still no psionics in PF? I could have sworn I saw a post recently cite to an Ultiimate Psionics book, but I don't find any psi in the PFSRD or any such book in the Paizo online catalog.

  21. - Top - End - #561
    Barbarian in the Playground
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Canada
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Simple Q&A Pathfinder (By RAW) I

    A 217

    Here. It's third party, but it's pretty good. I've only used the Soulknife, but it was certainly a vast improvement over it's 3.5 counterpart.
    Last edited by Drelua; 2012-01-22 at 09:48 PM.

  22. - Top - End - #562
    Ettin in the Playground
    Join Date
    Apr 2011

    Default Re: Simple Q&A Pathfinder (By RAW) I

    A217

    Rules for psionics in Pathfinder are available through 3rd party publisher Dreamscarred Press. They can be found in the PFSRD near the bottom right of the homepage. They enjoy a high reputation, so don't be frightened off by their 3rd party status.

  23. - Top - End - #563
    Ogre in the Playground
     
    Blisstake's Avatar

    Join Date
    Mar 2011

    Default Re: Simple Q&A Pathfinder (By RAW) I

    A217+

    In addition, James Jacobs of Paizo said they would likely never do an official system for psionics. If it ever comes up, it will probably be in the form of an archetype.
    Avatar by A Rainy Knight

  24. - Top - End - #564
    Pixie in the Playground
     
    HalflingPirate

    Join Date
    Mar 2011

    Default Re: Simple Q&A Pathfinder (By RAW) I

    Q218:

    Another flight-related question:

    What do the rules say about carrying another creature while flying? And i'm not talking about on the back, but by claws or a beak or something similar.
    Are the rules the same as for inanimate objects, or are grapple checks involved? And is there a difference for voluntary and involuntary creatures?
    Last edited by Haron; 2012-01-23 at 03:15 AM.

  25. - Top - End - #565
    Ogre in the Playground
     
    Imp

    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    in the dark
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Simple Q&A Pathfinder (By RAW) I

    A218 This was actually my question as well but I couldn't find any explicit rules on the matter. The Fly spell and Flight psionic power both limit the weight to the maximum load plus any armor worn but it's not exactly the same as "natural" flight, I suppose. Falling back on the rules for carrying capacity, I would say a creature can move at its base speed reduced by the load with up to its maximum capacity (as was said above).

    Carrying an unwilling creature would involve a grapple check every round and, if successful, allow you to move up to half your speed as per grapple rules. Carrying willing creatures or inanimate objects doesn't require any checks as far as I know (except for fly checks penalized by the load).

    I actually haven't been able to find the rule that limits a (flying) mount to a light load. Perhaps it only applies to mounted combat.

  26. - Top - End - #566
    Dwarf in the Playground
     
    SpaceBadger's Avatar

    Join Date
    Oct 2009

    smile Re: Simple Q&A Pathfinder (By RAW) I

    Thank you for all of the helpful answers on Q217. This place rocks.

  27. - Top - End - #567
    Pixie in the Playground
     
    WhiteWizardGirl

    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Gender
    Female

    Default Re: Simple Q&A Pathfinder (By RAW) I

    Q219:

    I remember reading a spell somewhere that causes a gaping pit to open up to the elemental planes but I can't remember what it's called. I feel like it was called 'hellmouth' or something similar. Does this sound familiar to anyone? It might have been 3.5 but I'm not sure.

  28. - Top - End - #568
    Orc in the Playground
     
    WolfInSheepsClothing

    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Simple Q&A Pathfinder (By RAW) I

    A 219:
    Not sure if this is the one you're looking for but something like:
    Reality Maelstrom from Manual of the planes (3.0)?

  29. - Top - End - #569
    Ettin in the Playground
     
    Zherog's Avatar

    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Bensalem, PA
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Simple Q&A Pathfinder (By RAW) I

    Except Manual of the Planes isn't a Pathfinder source...
    John Ling
    Frog God Games Lead Pathfinder Developer

    Note: unless explicitly stated otherwise, opinions in my posts are my own and not those of Frog God Games.

  30. - Top - End - #570
    Orc in the Playground
     
    WolfInSheepsClothing

    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Simple Q&A Pathfinder (By RAW) I

    Well poster said it could be 3.5 as well and this spell sprang to mind.

    But what about this item then?

    http://www.d20pfsrd.com/magic-items/...an-melancholic

    If not, could you perhaps give slightly more information? Source, lvl, spell type etc?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •