Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. - Top - End - #1
    Dwarf in the Playground
     
    Kobold

    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Gender
    Male

    Default A few questions on the Explosive Missile discovery (PF)

    The Explosive Missile discovery for Alchemist allows you to basically shoot arrows that blow up like bombs. Can you use bomb discoveries on this arrow, and does it take up a bomb use per day when you use this? It doesn't answer either of these questions, anyone else have a better understanding on this?
    Last edited by Mockingbird; 2011-12-04 at 04:01 PM.

  2. - Top - End - #2
    Troll in the Playground
     
    OrcBarbarianGuy

    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Ponyville
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: A few questions on the Explosive Missile discovery (PF)

    Quote Originally Posted by Mockingbird View Post
    The Explosive Missile discovery for Alchemist allows you to basically shoot arrows that blow up like bombs. Can you use bomb discoveries on this arrow, and does it take up a bomb use per day when you use this? It doesn't answer either of these questions, anyone else have a better understanding on this?
    It is a little vague. I would assume that it DOES use up a daily Bomb, and you can apply whatever effects you want/have to it, as if you had thrown it.

    The main point of the Discovery is "shoot a Bomb from my Bow/X-Bow/Gun".
    This let's you add the weapon's accuracy bonus to the attack roll, and you get to use the weapon's range increment, instead of the puny 20ft range of a thrown Bomb.

  3. - Top - End - #3
    Dwarf in the Playground
     
    Kobold

    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: A few questions on the Explosive Missile discovery (PF)

    Quote Originally Posted by grarrrg View Post
    It is a little vague. I would assume that it DOES use up a daily Bomb, and you can apply whatever effects you want/have to it, as if you had thrown it.

    The main point of the Discovery is "shoot a Bomb from my Bow/X-Bow/Gun".
    This let's you add the weapon's accuracy bonus to the attack roll, and you get to use the weapon's range increment, instead of the puny 20ft range of a thrown Bomb.
    Well, it doesn't say "shoot a bomb from your bow/xbow/gun", it says "infuse an arrow/bolt/bullet with a bomb's power." In that case, I'd argue that it wouldn't, because you're not using a bomb, you're mixing alchemical items into an arrow/bolt/bullet.
    (I'm playing a bomb-lobbing alchemist at 3rd level and I'm trying to get all the daily bombs I can get :p)

  4. - Top - End - #4
    Barbarian in the Playground
     
    panaikhan's Avatar

    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Gender
    Female

    Default Re: A few questions on the Explosive Missile discovery (PF)

    you could try asking the question in the Fathfinder RAW thread.

    Personally, i'd rule it used up a bomb. it's exactly how I DO rule it, playing my gnome Alchemist / Musket Master.
    Current Character: D&D3.5 Illumian Druid 3 / Necromancer 3 / Mystic Theurge 2 / Arcane Hyrophant 5
    Previous Favorite Characters:
    D&D1e: Elven Mage 15/Thief ??
    D&D2e: Saurian Necromancer 12
    D&D3e: Warforged Juggernaut 5/ Artificer 5/ Acolyte of the Skin 4
    D&D4e: Drow Swarm(?) Druid 3
    OWoD: Daughter of Cacophony
    NWoD: Galatea Promethean
    DH: Hiveborn Assassin 3
    Rifts: Nanobot Swarm / Airborne Computer Virus

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •