Page 7 of 38 FirstFirst 123456789101112131415161732 ... LastLast
Results 181 to 210 of 1127
  1. - Top - End - #181
    Troll in the Playground
     
    Grey_Wolf_c's Avatar

    Join Date
    Aug 2007

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 4e Thread II: Electric Boogaloo

    A420
    Quote Originally Posted by Ecoman View Post
    a) does ongoing damage hurt the PC at the start or end of there turn?
    Start

    Quote Originally Posted by Ecoman View Post
    b) do they make saving throws for effects at the start or end of there turn?
    The general rule is end, although there are exceptions (warden, for example, does both start before ongoing damage happens, and again at turn end).

    GW
    There is a world of imagination
    Deep in the corners of your mind
    Where reality is an intruder
    And myth and legend thrive
    Quote Originally Posted by The Giant & Yendor View Post
    "GIANT IN THE PLAYGROUND: On a saner forum, there wouldn't have been such speculation."
    Interested in MitD? Join us in MitD's thread.

  2. - Top - End - #182
    Pixie in the Playground
     
    Imp

    Join Date
    Jul 2012

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 4e Thread II: Electric Boogaloo

    Q421
    Hi another question

    What sort of action is a knowledge based check during a encounter

    such as rolling on arcane to see what type of magic creature you are fighting

    i guess its a minor? and if you fail how many rerolls can you attept in that encounter.

    Thank you

  3. - Top - End - #183
    Barbarian in the Playground
     
    shamgar001's Avatar

    Join Date
    Mar 2012

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 4e Thread II: Electric Boogaloo

    A 421
    According to PHB pg. 180, "No action required—either you know the answer or you don’t."

  4. - Top - End - #184
    Dwarf in the Playground
     
    HalflingRogueGuy

    Join Date
    Jan 2012

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 4e Thread II: Electric Boogaloo

    A 421 cont.

    Which means no re-roll is available. You can't "start to know" something you don't know (just remember school ). DM can allow a re-roll if conditions changed, such as the creature turning visible, starting turn metal into rust or something similar. Though, to be honest, it's actually a new roll, but meh.

    Hope it helped, cheers.

  5. - Top - End - #185
    Ogre in the Playground
     
    DwarfClericGuy

    Join Date
    Jul 2009

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 4e Thread II: Electric Boogaloo

    Q422

    Today a PC of mine just got hit by a prepared action, in the middle of his turn, which dazed him. He already spent his minor action and provoked the prepared action in the middle of a move.

    I resolved this by letting him finish his move before ending his turn but I was wondering, how should I have handled this?

  6. - Top - End - #186
    Bugbear in the Playground
     
    Snowbody's Avatar

    Join Date
    Feb 2011

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 4e Thread II: Electric Boogaloo

    A422

    RAW doesn't totally cover this, but we can infer some things.

    Some results are obvious. If you are killed by an OA, or Immobilized or Stunned in the middle of your move, obviously you stop moving.

    The rule for Slowed is:
    If you’re slowed while moving, stop moving if you have already moved 2 or more squares.
    This suggests that conditions are applied as if they'd been in effect since the beginning of the turn. In other words, after you're hit with a status effect, check whether the current action would have been legal if this status had been in effect since the start, and if it's not legal, it gets stopped. The only question is whether "the start" is the start of the whole turn or the start of the current action.

    This has been discussed before:
    http://rpg.stackexchange.com/questio...t-the-movement
    http://rpg.stackexchange.com/questio...rtunity-attack

  7. - Top - End - #187
    Ogre in the Playground
     
    Yakk's Avatar

    Join Date
    Nov 2006

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 4e Thread II: Electric Boogaloo

    A422: Generously, the restriction would occur at the moment the effect landed. So if dazed, you get one action after the daze, then your turn ends. If this provoked in the middle of the move, you'd have the choice to finish your move and then your turn, or end your move immediately and do 1 more action. If slowed, your speed is reduced to 2 after the slow, and you may be out of movement points. If stunned, you don't get to do any actions after being stunned. If immobilized, you don't get to move (without teleporting) after being immobilized.

  8. - Top - End - #188
    Titan in the Playground
     
    LaZodiac's Avatar

    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Canada
    Gender
    Female

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 4e Thread II: Electric Boogaloo

    Q423: Would the Mage's 'Magic Missle' spell activate feats like White Lotus Enervation?
    Shin Megami Tensei FS: Season Two!

    Additionaly: OOC Thread!

    Lets Watch: RWBY, an experiment in self torture.

    Avatar by Elder Tsofu. Thanks!

  9. - Top - End - #189
    Bugbear in the Playground
     
    ClericGuy

    Join Date
    Feb 2007

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 4e Thread II: Electric Boogaloo

    Quote Originally Posted by LaZodiac View Post
    Q423: Would the Mage's 'Magic Missle' spell activate feats like White Lotus Enervation?
    A 423: No. Magic Missile by RAW doesn't meet the requirements of a power that "hits" (as per the PHB g 276); it is an automatic effect as long as you can target the enemy with the power. Regardless, Magic Missile does not target any defenses, so White Lotus Enervation wouldn't have any effect. Is there a particular reason you're asking?

  10. - Top - End - #190
    Titan in the Playground
     
    LaZodiac's Avatar

    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Canada
    Gender
    Female

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 4e Thread II: Electric Boogaloo

    Yha, I was wondering if I'd be able to use Magic Missle to just...blow up enemy defenses by 1 point automatically with Wizard's Fury. Minor action -1 to defenses seems cool. But ok, I understand.
    Shin Megami Tensei FS: Season Two!

    Additionaly: OOC Thread!

    Lets Watch: RWBY, an experiment in self torture.

    Avatar by Elder Tsofu. Thanks!

  11. - Top - End - #191
    Pixie in the Playground
     
    Imp

    Join Date
    Jul 2012

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 4e Thread II: Electric Boogaloo

    Q424
    Hi I know if a PC leaves combat without shifting provokes attack but does a PC not in combat running past a enemy provoke opportune attack?

    ta

  12. - Top - End - #192
    Firbolg in the Playground
     
    Urpriest's Avatar

    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Stony Brook
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 4e Thread II: Electric Boogaloo

    Quote Originally Posted by Ecoman View Post
    Q424
    Hi I know if a PC leaves combat without shifting provokes attack but does a PC not in combat running past a enemy provoke opportune attack?

    ta
    A 424

    If a PC is running past an armed enemy then they are already in combat.
    Lord Raziere herd I like Blasphemy, so Urpriest Exalted as a Malefactor

    Meet My Monstrous Guide to Monsters. Everything you absolutely need to know about Monsters and never thought you needed to ask.
    Quote Originally Posted by Mithril Leaf View Post
    One of the unwritten rules of Giantitp is that Urpriest is always right.
    Trophy!
    Spoiler
    Show


    original Urpriest (by Andraste)

  13. - Top - End - #193
    Pixie in the Playground
     
    Imp

    Join Date
    Jul 2012

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 4e Thread II: Electric Boogaloo

    So an enemy can hit you if you run stright past them?

  14. - Top - End - #194
    Barbarian in the Playground
     
    Badgerish's Avatar

    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    huddersfield
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 4e Thread II: Electric Boogaloo

    correct.

    If creature-A leaves creature-B's threatened squares without shifting, creature-B can make an opportunity attack vs creature-A.

    You normally threaten the squares adjacent to you, but you don't if you are dazed/stunned/surprised.
    Always kill your enemies, otherwise they will come back to haunt you - anon
    Spoiler
    Show
    Quote Originally Posted by Lemur View Post
    No one will ever be able to question your sense of style when you explain that you cut your own hair with your boot knife. Mainly because if they do, you have a knife in your boot.
    Quote Originally Posted by SteveD
    "A gygaxian dungeon is like the world's most ****ed up game show. Behind door number one: INSTANT DEATH! Behind door number 2: A magic crown! Behind door number 3: ten pounds of sugar being guarded by six giant KILLER BEES!"
    noface

  15. - Top - End - #195
    Ogre in the Playground
     
    tcrudisi's Avatar

    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    North Carolina, USA
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 4e Thread II: Electric Boogaloo

    Quote Originally Posted by Badgerish View Post
    correct.

    If creature-A leaves creature-B's threatened squares without shifting, creature-B can make an opportunity attack vs creature-A.

    You normally threaten the squares adjacent to you, but you don't if you are dazed/stunned/surprised.
    Note that if you consider the enemy "surprised", then they do not get an opportunity attack. So if the enemy had no idea they were there until they were running past, there would be no OA. This can be found in the Surprise Round rules.

    And this is why I didn't answer in the first place: the answer is really complicated.

    The players are running past an armed enemy. Well, more than a few factors go into this.

    1) Would the enemy attack anyway? (If not, the no OA)
    2) Was the enemy aware of their presence beforehand? (If not, then no OA.)
    3) Even if he was aware of them, did he suspect that they intended on getting past him or attack him? (If not, then no OA.)
    4) Was his weapon drawn? (If not, then no OA.)
    5) Otherwise, he probably gets an OA.
    Last edited by tcrudisi; 2012-07-30 at 07:32 AM.
    Thank you Ceika for the wonderful Avatar avatar!

  16. - Top - End - #196
    Orc in the Playground
    Join Date
    May 2011

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 4e Thread II: Electric Boogaloo

    Okay, I have a question for you all. I'm playing a Warlock and I have the at will power "eldritch blast" in 4ed (I normally play 3.5). I was wondering if "Threatening Reach" applied to eldtritch blast, or if there was a way at low levels to make OAs at a distance with Eldritch Blast? (Level 7 specifically)

  17. - Top - End - #197
    Troll in the Playground
     
    Grey_Wolf_c's Avatar

    Join Date
    Aug 2007

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 4e Thread II: Electric Boogaloo

    Quote Originally Posted by Xtomjames View Post
    Okay, I have a question for you all. I'm playing a Warlock and I have the at will power "eldritch blast" in 4ed (I normally play 3.5). I was wondering if "Threatening Reach" applied to eldtritch blast, or if there was a way at low levels to make OAs at a distance with Eldritch Blast? (Level 7 specifically)
    No, threatening reach only applies when you have it as a property. PCs don't have it unless one of their powers explicitly mentions it (usually stances, feats and polymorphs, IIRC). Eldritch Blast is a ranged power to which the concept does not apply (threatening reach applies only to OA MBAs).

    Your second question is not really a RAW question, but from what I remember, the warlock has no such power at low levels. You may want to check the druid's Fire Hawk At Will for an example of a power that does, and then check for similar ones in the Warlock repertoire.

    Grey Wolf
    Last edited by Grey_Wolf_c; 2012-07-31 at 07:59 PM.
    There is a world of imagination
    Deep in the corners of your mind
    Where reality is an intruder
    And myth and legend thrive
    Quote Originally Posted by The Giant & Yendor View Post
    "GIANT IN THE PLAYGROUND: On a saner forum, there wouldn't have been such speculation."
    Interested in MitD? Join us in MitD's thread.

  18. - Top - End - #198
    Orc in the Playground
    Join Date
    May 2011

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 4e Thread II: Electric Boogaloo

    Ugh, I don't like 4th ed, why I joined I don't know. The changes to the rules for attacks of opportunity are just annoying. Same goes for the changes to undead. That said, would anything else work, are there no feats for rogues or other stealth classes that have ranged OA? (I should clarify I'm playing a rogue warlock hybrid). I was hoping to combine combat reflexes with long and short range OA.

  19. - Top - End - #199
    Troll in the Playground
     
    Grey_Wolf_c's Avatar

    Join Date
    Aug 2007

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 4e Thread II: Electric Boogaloo

    Quote Originally Posted by Xtomjames View Post
    Ugh, I don't like 4th ed, why I joined I don't know. The changes to the rules for attacks of opportunity are just annoying. Same goes for the changes to undead. That said, would anything else work, are there no feats for rogues or other stealth classes that have ranged OA? (I should clarify I'm playing a rogue warlock hybrid). I was hoping to combine combat reflexes with long and short range OA.
    You should open a thread for this question: it is not a RAW question and cannot really be adequately explored in this thread.

    GW
    There is a world of imagination
    Deep in the corners of your mind
    Where reality is an intruder
    And myth and legend thrive
    Quote Originally Posted by The Giant & Yendor View Post
    "GIANT IN THE PLAYGROUND: On a saner forum, there wouldn't have been such speculation."
    Interested in MitD? Join us in MitD's thread.

  20. - Top - End - #200
    Barbarian in the Playground
     
    shamgar001's Avatar

    Join Date
    Mar 2012

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 4e Thread II: Electric Boogaloo

    Q426 (I think?)

    Does the Swordmage Aegis reaction apply to all targets I mark, or only the ones I mark with the Aegis power?

  21. - Top - End - #201
    Barbarian in the Playground
     
    Drglenn's Avatar

    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Medway, England
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 4e Thread II: Electric Boogaloo

    Quote Originally Posted by shamgar001 View Post
    Q426 (I think?)

    Does the Swordmage Aegis reaction apply to all targets I mark, or only the ones I mark with the Aegis power?
    A426 just the Aegis power, though there are other powers that can mark an enemy as if by your Aegis power
    Last edited by Drglenn; 2012-08-02 at 05:46 AM.
    Amazing ponytar by Dirtytabs
    Larger Version:
    Spoiler
    Show

  22. - Top - End - #202
    Barbarian in the Playground
     
    shamgar001's Avatar

    Join Date
    Mar 2012

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 4e Thread II: Electric Boogaloo

    Q427
    Do you have to be actually wielding a weapon to use its power? I would assume that there's a rule somewhere that states that, but I can't seem to find it.

  23. - Top - End - #203
    Bugbear in the Playground
     
    ClericGuy

    Join Date
    Feb 2007

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 4e Thread II: Electric Boogaloo

    A427: As far as I can tell, by a strict RAW reading... no. At least, not if the "power" in question is activated (rather than a "property") Per the Rules Compendium (p 280):

    Many magic items have a special property that is constantly active, or active in certain circumstances... Unless otherwise noted, a magic item's property remains active for a creature only while it wears the item or wields the item.
    There is no such requirement to "wield" a weapon listed for an AEDU power for a weapon in either the PHB or the Rules Compendium that I can see.

    That said, many weapons that have an AEDU power specify that the power is used through "this" weapon. For example, with a Duelist's Weapon:

    "Power: Daily, minor action: You have combat advantage against the next creature you attack with this weapon on this turn."

    That said, as a DM, if you tried to "activate" an AEDU power on a weapon you had in your backpack or on your belt or something, I would probably laugh at you until you got the hint that that's seriously trying to game the system.

  24. - Top - End - #204
    Barbarian in the Playground
     
    Badgerish's Avatar

    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    huddersfield
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 4e Thread II: Electric Boogaloo

    Q428

    I'm seeking clarification/opinion on "Evard's Dreadful Mist" - lvl 15 Wizard Daily Attack Power.

    It starts with an area burst 2 attack that deals no damage and sets up a zone. Simple enough, but the 'effect' that sets up the zone says:

    "Effect: The burst creates a zone of thick fog that blocks line of sight until the end of your next turn. You can use the Evard's Dreadful Mist Attack power, using a square within the zone as the origin square."

    The zone can be sustained with a minor action.

    "Evard's Dreadful Mist Attack power" is, itself a Daily power (black border, marked 'daily') that is triggered when a creature enters/starts it's turn in the zone. It's a burst 1 and deals decent damage.

    so... how many times can "Evard's Dreadful Mist Attack power" be triggered?
    A) once, as it's a daily attack power. Sustaining the primary power only sustains the zone
    B) once per turn, as it's a daily attack power, but when you sustain the primary power you gain another (1) use of the attack power
    C) as many times as it is triggered in the 1st round of use, sustaining the primary power only sustains the zone
    D) as many times as it is triggered, sustaining the power keeps up the ability to trigger the attack power

    It's a lvl 15 daily, it should be strong. If it only did flat damage or low-dice/no-Int damage then I would accept version D, but it's a full damage AoE each time...
    Always kill your enemies, otherwise they will come back to haunt you - anon
    Spoiler
    Show
    Quote Originally Posted by Lemur View Post
    No one will ever be able to question your sense of style when you explain that you cut your own hair with your boot knife. Mainly because if they do, you have a knife in your boot.
    Quote Originally Posted by SteveD
    "A gygaxian dungeon is like the world's most ****ed up game show. Behind door number one: INSTANT DEATH! Behind door number 2: A magic crown! Behind door number 3: ten pounds of sugar being guarded by six giant KILLER BEES!"
    noface

  25. - Top - End - #205
    Bugbear in the Playground
     
    ClericGuy

    Join Date
    Feb 2007

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 4e Thread II: Electric Boogaloo

    Quote Originally Posted by Badgerish View Post
    Q428

    I'm seeking clarification/opinion on "Evard's Dreadful Mist" - lvl 15 Wizard Daily Attack Power.
    A428: the "secondary" power of Evard's Dreadful Mist Attack is a daily ability, and therefore can be used only once. Note that it is an opportunity action; it would be absurdly powerful if it were an "at-will" ability while Evard's Dreadful Mist was active (you would be able to activate it multiple times per turn!).

  26. - Top - End - #206
    Barbarian in the Playground
     
    shamgar001's Avatar

    Join Date
    Mar 2012

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 4e Thread II: Electric Boogaloo

    Q429

    In DMG pg. 40:

    When a power has an effect that occurs upon hitting a
    target—or reducing a target to 0 hit points—the power
    functions only when the target in question is a meaningful
    threat.
    Is "meaningful threat" ever defined in RAW? Is a PC targeting himself a meaningful threat to himself?

  27. - Top - End - #207
    Ogre in the Playground
     
    obryn's Avatar

    Join Date
    May 2012

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 4e Thread II: Electric Boogaloo

    A429
    Generally speaking, no.

    A "meaningful threat" is kind of vaguely defined, so it requires DM judgment. But generally, a PC himself and his allies are not viable threats. Nor are innocuous townspeople, prisoners, or bags of rats.

    -O
    Last edited by obryn; 2012-08-07 at 12:14 AM.

  28. - Top - End - #208
    Ogre in the Playground
     
    Dimers's Avatar

    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Boston, MA
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 4e Thread II: Electric Boogaloo

    Sorry if the answer to this is available on wizards.com ... I'm not a member, so I can't see details of the posts, just what Google headlines show me.

    Q 430

    The paragon path Psionic Incarnate, on Psi Power page 126, has as its capstone Daily power the ability to revv up an augmentable at-will power. But there's no requirement that you KNOW an augmentable at-will power to take the paragon path, and it doesn't give such a power to you. So what do you do about a character who doesn't know one?

  29. - Top - End - #209
    Ogre in the Playground
     
    NecroRebel's Avatar

    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 4e Thread II: Electric Boogaloo

    A 430

    Technically, it doesn't specify that you have to use an augmentable at-will power that you know, so you just pick one (probably one of the L27 ones for maximum strength) and use it.

    If your DM (rightfully) doesn't let that fly, you'd simply be unable to use that power.

  30. - Top - End - #210
    Titan in the Playground
     
    Kurald Galain's Avatar

    Join Date
    Jun 2007

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 4e Thread II: Electric Boogaloo

    Quote Originally Posted by Dimers View Post
    Sorry if the answer to this is available on wizards.com ... I'm not a member, so I can't see details of the posts, just what Google headlines show me.
    You should be able to read all of the WOTC forums without logging in, just like you can do here. For instance, this link.
    Last edited by Kurald Galain; 2012-08-09 at 06:47 AM.
    Crystal Shard Studios - classy freeware games!

    Utility Belt wizard (Batman 4E-style) * Chocolate!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •