Page 9 of 38 FirstFirst 1234567891011121314151617181934 ... LastLast
Results 241 to 270 of 1133
  1. - Top - End - #241
    Barbarian in the Playground
     
    DwarfClericGuy

    Join Date
    Jan 2011

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 4e Thread II: Electric Boogaloo

    Quote Originally Posted by TheBajaBojo View Post
    Whoa!! Could you rephrase that, please, I didn't quite get it.

    EDIT: A numbered "step by step" description would be nice.
    To create a multiclass character:

    Step 1: Create a single-classed character as normal.

    Step 2: Take a class-specific multiclass feat for a different class. In addition to gaining the listed benefits of the feat, your character is now multiclassed, and counts as a member of the new class (in addition to the old class) for the purposes of taking feats and paragon paths.

    Step 3(optional): Take power-swap feats, when your character is high enough level. These feats allow you to replace one of your current powers with a power from the new class. There is a power-swap feat for each of the utility, daily, and encounter powers, and each has a different level requirement.

    Step 4(optional): When you reach level 11, engage in paragon multiclassing instead of taking a paragon path. This allows you to replace one of your at-will powers with an at-will power from your second class, and allows you to take powers from your second class when you would normally get a paragon path power.
    Last edited by theNater; 2012-08-13 at 06:16 AM. Reason: Clarity in step 2

  2. - Top - End - #242
    Pixie in the Playground
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Dublin, Ireland
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 4e Thread II: Electric Boogaloo

    Okay, so both sources were correct in a sense...
    So you can multiclass slightly at first and then sacrifice your paragon path for a true 3rd-ed-style multiclass.
    Thanks for clearing that up.

  3. - Top - End - #243
    Ogre in the Playground
     
    NecroRebel's Avatar

    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 4e Thread II: Electric Boogaloo

    Quote Originally Posted by TheBajaBojo View Post
    Whoa!! Could you rephrase that, please, I didn't quite get it.

    EDIT: A numbered "step by step" description would be nice.
    theNater's description is correct, but what you quoted was just a reductio ad absurdum argument showing that it's possible to take more than one MC feat for the same class:

    Spoiler
    Show
    1. There exists feats, such as Sorcerous Power from Arcane Power, that are multiclass feats for their class that require that you have another multiclass feat from the same class.
    2. It is intended to be possible to take these feats (else why would they print them?).
    3. (Argument to be disproven) You may take only one class-specific multiclass feat.
    4. Prior to taking a basic multiclass feat, you cannot take the feats mentioned in 1, because they have those basic multiclass feats as prerequisites.
    5. You take a basic multiclass feat.
    6. If 3 is correct, you cannot now take any other class-specific multiclass feats.
    7. If 3 is correct, you cannot now take any of the feats mentioned in 1.
    8. If 3 is correct, by 4 and 7, you cannot take the feats from 1 before or after taking a basic multiclass feat.
    9. All periods of a character's development are before or after taking a basic multiclass feat.
    10. By 8 and 9, then, there is no period at which you can take the feats from 1.
    11. If 3 is correct, it is not possible to take any of the feats mentioned in 1, ever.
    12. By 2, we have that it is possible to take the feats mentioned in 1, and by 11 we have that it is not possible. If 3, then taking those feats is both possible and not possible, a contradiction. Therefore, it is not the case that 3 is correct.
    13. Therefore, it is not the case that you may take only one multiclass feat.

  4. - Top - End - #244
    Ogre in the Playground
     
    obryn's Avatar

    Join Date
    May 2012

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 4e Thread II: Electric Boogaloo

    Quote Originally Posted by TheBajaBojo View Post
    So you can multiclass slightly at first and then sacrifice your paragon path for a true 3rd-ed-style multiclass.
    It's still not a true 3e-style multiclass. 3e-style multiclassing is basically a point-buy system with class levels being bundles of bonuses & features. 4e hews closer to pre-3e D&D by strongly encouraging single-classed, somewhat archetypal characters.

    Hybrid classes are the closest thing 4e offers, though it's closer to 1e/2e's demihuman multiclassing, and I strongly discourage them as a general rule unless you know exactly what you're doing.

    Paragon Multiclassing in 4e is feat-expensive and of questionable value. Basically, you take powers from second class's list instead of the ones you'd normally gain from your paragon path. Notably, you miss out on the other perks a paragon path provides.

    You still don't get the base features of the class you multiclassed into unless they are provided by one of your feats.

    -O

  5. - Top - End - #245
    Pixie in the Playground
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Dublin, Ireland
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 4e Thread II: Electric Boogaloo

    That much I'd gathered...
    Thanks for confirming.

  6. - Top - End - #246
    Pixie in the Playground
     
    PirateCaptain

    Join Date
    Feb 2012

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 4e Thread II: Electric Boogaloo

    Q 437

    Re: Warlock feature Shadow Walk

    A: Does the concealment take place immediately upon moving 3 squares, at the end of the move action, or the end of the turn?

    B: Having gained concealment, when would one make a stealth check to cause the enemies to lose sight (and thereby gain combat advantage against them), and what type of action would it be?

    C: If an attack is made prior to the expiration of Shadow Walk, is the concealment lost?

  7. - Top - End - #247
    Ogre in the Playground
     
    NecroRebel's Avatar

    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 4e Thread II: Electric Boogaloo

    A 437

    A. The instant you've moved at least 3 tiles away from where you started your turn. It doesn't say at the end of a move action or anything, so that's not important.

    B. Concealment isn't sufficient to allow you to hide. You need superior cover or total concealment, which shadow walk doesn't provide. If you did have superior cover or total concealment from a different source, hiding can be done at the end of any and all actions that involve movement. You only need regular cover or concealment to remain hidden once you already are, so shadow walk helps with that, but it alone doesn't let you hide.

    C. No, shadow walk has no clause that says that the concealment is lost due to anything, so aside from its duration expiring, it doesn't end.

  8. - Top - End - #248
    Ogre in the Playground
     
    Tegu8788's Avatar

    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    East Coast, USA
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 4e Thread II: Electric Boogaloo

    438

    What kind of action is it to shift from a one-handed grip on a weapon to a two-handed weapon. Specifically, can it happen during a charge.

    Guide for starting 4E.
    4E Hybrid Chart.
    My 4E Homebrew.
    DM Challenge



    Avatars created by Meltheim.


    Quote Originally Posted by Tegu8788 View Post
    And if anyone wants help being all the classes, let me know.

  9. - Top - End - #249
    Troll in the Playground
     
    Grey_Wolf_c's Avatar

    Join Date
    Aug 2007

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 4e Thread II: Electric Boogaloo

    Quote Originally Posted by Tegu8788 View Post
    438

    What kind of action is it to shift from a one-handed grip on a weapon to a two-handed weapon. Specifically, can it happen during a charge.
    A 438

    Free action, and yes, it can happen in the middle of any action (assuming the other hand is free).

    Grey Wolf
    Last edited by Grey_Wolf_c; 2012-08-14 at 11:14 PM.
    There is a world of imagination
    Deep in the corners of your mind
    Where reality is an intruder
    And myth and legend thrive
    Quote Originally Posted by The Giant & Yendor View Post
    "GIANT IN THE PLAYGROUND: On a saner forum, there wouldn't have been such speculation."
    Interested in MitD? Join us in MitD's thread.

  10. - Top - End - #250
    Ogre in the Playground
     
    Tegu8788's Avatar

    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    East Coast, USA
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 4e Thread II: Electric Boogaloo

    A 439

    The feat Cunning Stalker states
    You gain combat advantage against enemies that have no creatures adjacent to them other than you.
    If you are not adjacent, i.e., using a ranged attack, do you still get that benefit?

    Guide for starting 4E.
    4E Hybrid Chart.
    My 4E Homebrew.
    DM Challenge



    Avatars created by Meltheim.


    Quote Originally Posted by Tegu8788 View Post
    And if anyone wants help being all the classes, let me know.

  11. - Top - End - #251
    Troll in the Playground
     
    Grey_Wolf_c's Avatar

    Join Date
    Aug 2007

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 4e Thread II: Electric Boogaloo

    Quote Originally Posted by Tegu8788 View Post
    AQ 439

    The feat Cunning Stalker states If you are not adjacent, i.e., using a ranged attack, do you still get that benefit?
    (FTFY)

    A 439

    No, that feat as written requires that you must be adjacent (and only you: not even another enemy can be adjacent to the one targeted). You could still use a ranged attack (granting an OA as normal) and get the CA, though.

    Grey Wolf
    Last edited by Grey_Wolf_c; 2012-08-14 at 11:31 PM.
    There is a world of imagination
    Deep in the corners of your mind
    Where reality is an intruder
    And myth and legend thrive
    Quote Originally Posted by The Giant & Yendor View Post
    "GIANT IN THE PLAYGROUND: On a saner forum, there wouldn't have been such speculation."
    Interested in MitD? Join us in MitD's thread.

  12. - Top - End - #252
    Troll in the Playground
     
    Surrealistik's Avatar

    Join Date
    Feb 2008

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 4e Thread II: Electric Boogaloo

    Quote Originally Posted by Tegu8788 View Post
    A 439

    The feat Cunning Stalker states If you are not adjacent, i.e., using a ranged attack, do you still get that benefit?
    http://community.wizards.com/go/thre...91903/?pg=last

    http://www.enworld.org/forum/d-d-4th...eat-hotfk.html

    Cunning Stalker
    Benefit:
    You gain combat advantage against enemies that have no creatures adjacent to them other than you.

    Technically, you do not have to be adjacent to the target to gain CA against it.

  13. - Top - End - #253
    Pixie in the Playground
     
    PirateCaptain

    Join Date
    Feb 2012

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 4e Thread II: Electric Boogaloo

    Quote Originally Posted by NecroRebel View Post
    A 437

    B. Concealment isn't sufficient to allow you to hide. You need superior cover or total concealment, which shadow walk doesn't provide. If you did have superior cover or total concealment from a different source, hiding can be done at the end of any and all actions that involve movement. You only need regular cover or concealment to remain hidden once you already are, so shadow walk helps with that, but it alone doesn't let you hide.
    Sorry to come back to this, but my reading of the Stealth skill indicates that only standard cover or concealment is needed:

    "Unless a creature is distracted, you must have cover or concealment from the creature to make a Stealth check." (PHB p188)

    I do have an old version of the book, so has it changed? Or am I reading this wrong?

  14. - Top - End - #254
    Ogre in the Playground
     
    NecroRebel's Avatar

    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 4e Thread II: Electric Boogaloo

    Quote Originally Posted by rjthom5 View Post
    I do have an old version of the book, so has it changed? Or am I reading this wrong?
    Stealth has had extensive errata. The most recent, and theoretically final, set of rules are in the Rule Compendium (page 152), where it states a requirement for superior cover or total concealment against a target that is paying attention.

    As mentioned, ordinary cover and concealment are sufficient to maintain stealth, just not to begin it.

  15. - Top - End - #255
    Troll in the Playground
     
    Grey_Wolf_c's Avatar

    Join Date
    Aug 2007

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 4e Thread II: Electric Boogaloo

    Quote Originally Posted by NecroRebel View Post
    Stealth has had extensive errata. The most recent, and theoretically final, set of rules are in the Rule Compendium (page 152), where it states a requirement for superior cover or total concealment against a target that is paying attention.

    As mentioned, ordinary cover and concealment are sufficient to maintain stealth, just not to begin it.
    C 437

    Since partial concealment is necessary to maintain stealth, and the Shadow Walk doesn't kick in until you are 3 away from the start turn position, does it follow that those first three squares of movement also need to have at least partial cover to maintain stealth?

    I.e. You are a Warlock stealthed behind a rock, and all other squares around you have no concealment. If you move, you loose stealth (since you have no concealment), and gaining partial concealment later doesn't undo this.

    Thanks,

    Grey Wolf
    There is a world of imagination
    Deep in the corners of your mind
    Where reality is an intruder
    And myth and legend thrive
    Quote Originally Posted by The Giant & Yendor View Post
    "GIANT IN THE PLAYGROUND: On a saner forum, there wouldn't have been such speculation."
    Interested in MitD? Join us in MitD's thread.

  16. - Top - End - #256
    Bugbear in the Playground
     
    Snowbody's Avatar

    Join Date
    Feb 2011

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 4e Thread II: Electric Boogaloo

    A 437

    That's correct.

    Another reason Shadow Walk is not ideal for retaining Hidden is that you have to move 3 squares, which requires another Stealth check at a -5 penalty.

    The usual use of Shadow Walk is to use it every turn to stay concealed.

  17. - Top - End - #257
    Ogre in the Playground
     
    Tegu8788's Avatar

    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    East Coast, USA
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 4e Thread II: Electric Boogaloo

    Q 440

    I can Throw and Stab (Ranger At-Will) with a Farbond Spellblade Glaive or Greatsword? The requirement is to wield both a thrown and a melee weapon. Does the enchantment qualify the weapon as both a thrown and melee weapon? Using "a" twice makes me wonder.

    Alternatively, could one wield any thrown weapon in one hand and make both attacks with the Farbond weapon?

    Guide for starting 4E.
    4E Hybrid Chart.
    My 4E Homebrew.
    DM Challenge



    Avatars created by Meltheim.


    Quote Originally Posted by Tegu8788 View Post
    And if anyone wants help being all the classes, let me know.

  18. - Top - End - #258
    Ogre in the Playground
     
    Tegu8788's Avatar

    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    East Coast, USA
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 4e Thread II: Electric Boogaloo

    Q 441

    Are there any one-handed reach weapons?

    Guide for starting 4E.
    4E Hybrid Chart.
    My 4E Homebrew.
    DM Challenge



    Avatars created by Meltheim.


    Quote Originally Posted by Tegu8788 View Post
    And if anyone wants help being all the classes, let me know.

  19. - Top - End - #259
    Barbarian in the Playground
     
    Badgerish's Avatar

    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    huddersfield
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 4e Thread II: Electric Boogaloo

    A 441

    Whip!

    edit: Kusari-gama / Cahulaks / Spiked Chain (with multiclass feat) are all double-weapons with reach, which may be relevant

    Gloom pact Hexblades summon the 'Scourge of Exquisite Agony' which is a one-handed weapon with reach, but exclusive to their class/pact.
    Last edited by Badgerish; 2012-08-16 at 01:02 PM.
    Always kill your enemies, otherwise they will come back to haunt you - anon
    Spoiler
    Show
    Quote Originally Posted by Lemur View Post
    No one will ever be able to question your sense of style when you explain that you cut your own hair with your boot knife. Mainly because if they do, you have a knife in your boot.
    Quote Originally Posted by SteveD
    "A gygaxian dungeon is like the world's most ****ed up game show. Behind door number one: INSTANT DEATH! Behind door number 2: A magic crown! Behind door number 3: ten pounds of sugar being guarded by six giant KILLER BEES!"
    noface

  20. - Top - End - #260
    Barbarian in the Playground
     
    shamgar001's Avatar

    Join Date
    Mar 2012

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 4e Thread II: Electric Boogaloo

    Q 442

    Can a Shaman's Spirit companion use companion slot items?

  21. - Top - End - #261
    Ogre in the Playground
     
    tcrudisi's Avatar

    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    North Carolina, USA
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 4e Thread II: Electric Boogaloo

    Quote Originally Posted by Tegu8788 View Post
    Q 440

    I can Throw and Stab (Ranger At-Will) with a Farbond Spellblade Glaive or Greatsword? The requirement is to wield both a thrown and a melee weapon. Does the enchantment qualify the weapon as both a thrown and melee weapon? Using "a" twice makes me wonder.

    Alternatively, could one wield any thrown weapon in one hand and make both attacks with the Farbond weapon?
    Yes, they can. "You must be wielding both a thrown weapon and a melee weapon." A Farbond spellblade is both a thrown weapon and a melee weapon.
    Thank you Ceika for the wonderful Avatar avatar!

  22. - Top - End - #262
    Troll in the Playground
     
    Grey_Wolf_c's Avatar

    Join Date
    Aug 2007

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 4e Thread II: Electric Boogaloo

    Quote Originally Posted by tcrudisi View Post
    Yes, they can. "You must be wielding both a thrown weapon and a melee weapon." A Farbond spellblade is both a thrown weapon and a melee weapon.
    C 440

    In the above case (throw and stab), you first throw the thrown weapon, then you charge. When does a magical weapon return to your hand? As I understand it, it is at the end of the action, so wouldn't you be charging with no weapon at all?

    Thanks,

    Grey Wolf
    There is a world of imagination
    Deep in the corners of your mind
    Where reality is an intruder
    And myth and legend thrive
    Quote Originally Posted by The Giant & Yendor View Post
    "GIANT IN THE PLAYGROUND: On a saner forum, there wouldn't have been such speculation."
    Interested in MitD? Join us in MitD's thread.

  23. - Top - End - #263
    Titan in the Playground
     
    Kurald Galain's Avatar

    Join Date
    Jun 2007

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 4e Thread II: Electric Boogaloo

    Quote Originally Posted by Tegu8788 View Post
    Q 440

    I can Throw and Stab (Ranger At-Will) with a Farbond Spellblade Glaive or Greatsword? The requirement is to wield both a thrown and a melee weapon. Does the enchantment qualify the weapon as both a thrown and melee weapon? Using "a" twice makes me wonder.
    Arguably, the phrase "both a ... and a" means that you have to wield two weapons, not just one weapon that happens to fall into both categories.

    I say "arguably" since this isn't specified in the rules anywhere, so it's ultimately the DM's call.
    Crystal Shard Studios - classy freeware games!

    Utility Belt wizard (Batman 4E-style) * Chocolate!

  24. - Top - End - #264
    Ogre in the Playground
     
    tcrudisi's Avatar

    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    North Carolina, USA
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 4e Thread II: Electric Boogaloo

    Quote Originally Posted by Grey_Wolf_c View Post
    C 440

    In the above case (throw and stab), you first throw the thrown weapon, then you charge. When does a magical weapon return to your hand? As I understand it, it is at the end of the action, so wouldn't you be charging with no weapon at all?

    Thanks,

    Grey Wolf
    Per Rules Compendium p.282:

    "Any magic light thrown or heavy thrown weapon, from the lowly +1 dagger to a +6 dragonslayer javelin, automatically returns to its wielder's hand after a ranged attack with the weapon is resolved."
    Thank you Ceika for the wonderful Avatar avatar!

  25. - Top - End - #265
    Ogre in the Playground
     
    tcrudisi's Avatar

    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    North Carolina, USA
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 4e Thread II: Electric Boogaloo

    Quote Originally Posted by Kurald Galain View Post
    Arguably, the phrase "both a ... and a" means that you have to wield two weapons, not just one weapon that happens to fall into both categories.

    I say "arguably" since this isn't specified in the rules anywhere, so it's ultimately the DM's call.
    While I do agree - I also think this is a difference between RAI and RAW.

    Are you wielding a ranged weapon? Yes.
    Are you wielding a melee weapon? Yes.

    Therefore, you are wielding both a ranged weapon and a melee weapon.
    Thank you Ceika for the wonderful Avatar avatar!

  26. - Top - End - #266
    Pixie in the Playground
     
    PirateCaptain

    Join Date
    Feb 2012

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 4e Thread II: Electric Boogaloo

    Q 443

    The entry in the PHB for purchasing a cart/wagon shows a cost of 20gp for 1 ton carrying capacity. Is this supposed to include something that will pull said cart, or are animals separate? In which case, which animals would be capable of pulling it?

  27. - Top - End - #267
    Barbarian in the Playground
     
    Badgerish's Avatar

    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    huddersfield
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 4e Thread II: Electric Boogaloo

    A 443
    That's just for the cart, draft animals sold separately.

    As for what to pull it... this is ask your GM territory because A) it's pretty complex, and B) does it really matter?

    Real world carts where pulled by all manner of things, from 1 horse/oxen (at walking speed) to 4 horses (at riding speed).

    D&D has many fantastic options for pulling a cart, such as: Giant Ants (oddly expensive), Draft Giant Lizards, and dwarves (with their not slowed by heavy loads feature).


    A444
    Does a creature know if they have combat advantage for an attack or not?

    e.g. a rogue moves behind a corner from an enemy, makes a high stealth check and is sure they are hidden. Then they Deft Strike out of hiding and attack... however they don't have CA because the enemy has tremor-sense and thus the rogue was still 'visible' to the enemy. Do they know before the attack or when it completes?
    Always kill your enemies, otherwise they will come back to haunt you - anon
    Spoiler
    Show
    Quote Originally Posted by Lemur View Post
    No one will ever be able to question your sense of style when you explain that you cut your own hair with your boot knife. Mainly because if they do, you have a knife in your boot.
    Quote Originally Posted by SteveD
    "A gygaxian dungeon is like the world's most ****ed up game show. Behind door number one: INSTANT DEATH! Behind door number 2: A magic crown! Behind door number 3: ten pounds of sugar being guarded by six giant KILLER BEES!"
    noface

  28. - Top - End - #268
    Titan in the Playground
     
    Kurald Galain's Avatar

    Join Date
    Jun 2007

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 4e Thread II: Electric Boogaloo

    Quote Originally Posted by Badgerish View Post
    A444
    Does a creature know if they have combat advantage for an attack or not?
    The rules say that you should always know exactly what is affecting you and how, so yes.
    Crystal Shard Studios - classy freeware games!

    Utility Belt wizard (Batman 4E-style) * Chocolate!

  29. - Top - End - #269
    Bugbear in the Playground
     
    Snowbody's Avatar

    Join Date
    Feb 2011

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 4e Thread II: Electric Boogaloo

    A444

    The point you find out is when you make the stealth check to become Hidden. You know right away, among the combatants you're aware of, who can sense you.

  30. - Top - End - #270
    Ogre in the Playground
     
    Tegu8788's Avatar

    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    East Coast, USA
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 4e Thread II: Electric Boogaloo

    Q 445

    Is there a 4E equivalent for a Macuahuitl? Maybe be in a Dark Sun campaign soon, and curious if there is a good stat block for it.

    Guide for starting 4E.
    4E Hybrid Chart.
    My 4E Homebrew.
    DM Challenge



    Avatars created by Meltheim.


    Quote Originally Posted by Tegu8788 View Post
    And if anyone wants help being all the classes, let me know.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •