Page 12 of 91 FirstFirst ... 23456789101112131415161718192021223762 ... LastLast
Results 331 to 360 of 2721
  1. - Top - End - #331
    Titan in the Playground
     
    AssassinGuy

    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Sunnydale

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 3.5 (by RAW) XXI

    A 180 Yes.

    These are untyped bonuses from different sources, so they stack.

    A 181 Yes.

    Artificers must always employ Use Magic Device for any wand, including those they create.

    A 182
    Once it is in place, the warforged can insert a normal magic wand into the sheath, whereupon it merges with the character’s body
    An eternal wand is a new form of wand built around a crystalline shard, not a normal magic wand which would fit into a Warforged wand sheath.

    A 183 N/A.

  2. - Top - End - #332
    Ogre in the Playground
     
    mattie_p's Avatar

    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    <<Undetected>>
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 3.5 (by RAW) XXI

    Fixing end of page glitch.
    Chairman of Zinc Saucier. Currently judging made from scratch Flayerspawn Psychics. It is just like Iron Chef but comes with double the prize money.
    Quote Originally Posted by Psyren View Post
    So now you're claiming that spellcasting "lacks a clear, supernatural element?" Being supernatural is literally the only point of magic.
    Spoiler
    Show
    Characters:
    Grath - Southern Comfort Campaign
    Prizes:
    Eglath - 2nd Place Iron Chef XXXII


    Avatar by Derjuin, sing her praises to Elysium. Adopt an Avatar today.

  3. - Top - End - #333
    Dwarf in the Playground
     
    Amakule's Avatar

    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 3.5 (by RAW) XXI

    Q 184: A character with 1 level in Abjurant Champion gains Extend Abjuration. Could that character apply the Extend Spell feat to an abjuration spell affected by said class feature, tripling (quadrupling?) the duration of the spell?
    Homebrew

  4. - Top - End - #334
    Barbarian in the Playground
     
    panaikhan's Avatar

    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Gender
    Female

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 3.5 (by RAW) XXI

    Based upon Curmudgeon's timely help:

    Q185
    Can an Eternal Wand be made into a Warforged component, to basically perform like a Wand Sheath?
    Current Character: D&D3.5 Illumian Druid 3 / Necromancer 3 / Mystic Theurge 2 / Arcane Hyrophant 5
    Previous Favorite Characters:
    D&D1e: Elven Mage 15/Thief ??
    D&D2e: Saurian Necromancer 12
    D&D3e: Warforged Juggernaut 5/ Artificer 5/ Acolyte of the Skin 4
    D&D4e: Drow Swarm(?) Druid 3
    OWoD: Daughter of Cacophony
    NWoD: Galatea Promethean
    DH: Hiveborn Assassin 3
    Rifts: Nanobot Swarm / Airborne Computer Virus

  5. - Top - End - #335
    Troll in the Playground
    Join Date
    Mar 2012

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 3.5 (by RAW) XXI

    Q 186

    Can a cleric with the Air domain use his Turn Earth Creatures attempts to power Divine Metamagic?

  6. - Top - End - #336
    Firbolg in the Playground
     
    Thurbane's Avatar

    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Terra Australis
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 3.5 (by RAW) XXI

    A 184

    No - the exact wording of the Extended Abjuration ability says "Double the duration of abjuration spells you cast, as if you had applied the Extend
    Spell feat to them
    ", so it would be like trying to stack Extend Spell with itself.

    A186

    No - under the section on Divine Feats (CD p. 77), it specifically says "Second, the force that powers a divine feat is the ability to channel positive or negative energy to turn or rebuke undead.", meaning that other types of Turn or Rebuke attempts cannot be substituted. Specific feats (such as Elemental Healing and Elemental Smiting) override this limitation under the "specific trumps general" ruling.

  7. - Top - End - #337
    Orc in the Playground
     
    leegi0n's Avatar

    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 3.5 (by RAW) XXI

    Q 187

    does a racial FEAR bonus stack with a class FEAR ability?

    i.e.: a death knight / dread necromancer?


    Q 188

    is there a cloak or magical item out there in dnd land that emits smoke?
    Last edited by leegi0n; 2012-06-08 at 01:33 PM.
    Rakshasa avatar by Szilard!

  8. - Top - End - #338
    Troll in the Playground
    Join Date
    Mar 2012

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 3.5 (by RAW) XXI

    A 188

    Yes, the Horn of Fog. Otherwise make a(n eternal) wand of fog cloud/obscuring mist.

    There is also the mithralmist shirt (MIC 20).
    Last edited by Andezzar; 2012-06-08 at 04:42 PM.

  9. - Top - End - #339
    Firbolg in the Playground
     
    Thurbane's Avatar

    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Terra Australis
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 3.5 (by RAW) XXI

    A 188 cont.

    There's also the Smoking weapon property (Lords of Darkness, p.180).

  10. - Top - End - #340
    Firbolg in the Playground
     
    Thurbane's Avatar

    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Terra Australis
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 3.5 (by RAW) XXI

    Q 189

    The Fiend-Blooded PrC (HoH, p.102) gets the ability Fiendish Companion, which adds the Fiendish template to your familiar. If you don't have a familiar at the time you get this class ability, but gain one later (say, through the Obtain Familiar feat), could you apply this ability at that time?

  11. - Top - End - #341
    Ogre in the Playground
     
    Kol Korran's Avatar

    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Israel
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 3.5 (by RAW) XXI

    Q 190 regarding disarming

    i'm trying to make sure i got the advantages of disarming right. if you disarm with a weapon, the opponent's weapon falls to the ground in the Defender's square. so that means he can pick it up on his turn?

    if so the disarm seems to provide 3 advantages:
    - you coast the disarmed defender a move action to pick up their weapon.
    - you prevent using full round actions with said weapon.
    - you gain an AoO when they pick up the weapon.

    a) are there any other advantages?

    b) can you get the weapon away from the defender? either on you or some distance away?

    thanks.

  12. - Top - End - #342
    Troll in the Playground
    Join Date
    Mar 2012

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 3.5 (by RAW) XXI

    A 189

    a) If you were unarmed before, you now have a weapon.

    b)If you were unarmed, when you started the disarm attempt, you end up with the weapon in your hand. You could drop the weapon as a free action or throw it away (to a square of your choice) as an attack.

  13. - Top - End - #343
    Titan in the Playground
     
    AssassinGuy

    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Sunnydale

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 3.5 (by RAW) XXI

    A 189 Yes.

    Fiendish Companion is a class ability.
    The fiendish template (described on page 108 of the Monster Manual) can be applied to your familiar, if you so desire.
    There is no requirement for immediate use, and the ability persists as long as you retain that class level.

  14. - Top - End - #344
    Banned
     
    Little Brother's Avatar

    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    DenLiner

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 3.5 (by RAW) XXI

    Q190: How does one calculate the DCs for Perfected Map utterances?

  15. - Top - End - #345
    Barbarian in the Playground
     
    ElfRangerGuy

    Join Date
    Feb 2012

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 3.5 (by RAW) XXI

    Q 191

    The divine prankster from races of stone has the following requirement:

    Special: The character must be a worshiper of Garl Glittergold.
    Other classes, such as radiant servant of Pelor

    Special: Must have Pelor as a patron deity
    If I remember correctly a character can worship as many gods as he wants to but can only have a patron deity. I am correct? Can a radiant servant of Pelor worship Garl Glittergold and be a divine prankster?
    Last edited by Aeryr; 2012-06-09 at 05:02 AM.
    Currently playing:
    Aer the Raven in the refounding of the temple of nine swords.
    Estef in From Splendor to Shadow
    DMing Here be Dragons IC & OOC

  16. - Top - End - #346
    Dwarf in the Playground
     
    DruidGuy

    Join Date
    Jan 2010

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 3.5 (by RAW) XXI

    Q 192: How much does a +1 Darkwood Shield cost? Is it 257 (base) + 150 (Masterworked) + 1,000 (+1 enhancement) = 1,407 gold?

  17. - Top - End - #347
    Troll in the Playground
    Join Date
    Mar 2012

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 3.5 (by RAW) XXI

    A 192

    No, A shield crafted from darkwood already is a masterwork item. You do not need to add the 150 gp and the additional craft check to make it masterwork.

    A +1 darkwood shield costs Shield Price+10gp*original weight of the shield+1000gp (+1 Enchantment)

    That would make:
    +1 darkwood buckler: 1065 gp
    +1 light wooden shield: 1053 gp
    +1 heavy wooden shield: 1107 gp
    +1 tower shield: 1480 gp

    Interesting that all darkwood shields, except the tower shield, are better and cheaper than masterwork shields of normal wood.

  18. - Top - End - #348
    Titan in the Playground
     
    AssassinGuy

    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Sunnydale

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 3.5 (by RAW) XXI

    A 191 Maybe.

    Your memory is a bit off. The worship options are not quite so free-form. The WHAT DO YOU SERVE? section of Complete Divine (page 6) sets the following options:
    • a single deity
    • a pantheon of related deities
    • a principle
    • Nature
    Having a divine patron, and worshiping a deity, are the same thing.

    For your particular application (worshiping both Pelor and Garl Glittergold) this is workable if it fits one of the above options. Because both deities are in the core D&D pantheon, if your character worships that pantheon you could satisfy both requirements. However, there are other restrictions based on race, class, and alignment which could make doing so nonviable. An example, from Player's Handbook on page 32:
    If the typical worshipers of a deity include the members of a race, a cleric must be of the indicated race to choose that deity as his own. (The god may have occasional worshipers of other races, but not clerics.)
    Since this list (Table 3–7: Deities) includes the core deities and multiple different races, you cannot be a Cleric and worship the whole core pantheon (because you cannot be all of those races simultaneously); you may only pick a single deity from the list to worship. Clerics have the additional restriction that their alignment must be within 1 step of the deity they worship, which requirement is also impossible with all the alignments of the core deities.

    If you found a way to qualify for both Radiant Servant of Pelor and Divine Prankster, with no Cleric levels, you might be able to accomplish your aim.

  19. - Top - End - #349
    Dwarf in the Playground
     
    Tasroth's Avatar

    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    The Fortress of Cereneld
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 3.5 (by RAW) XXI

    A 192 Correction

    The cost of a darkwood item is calculated by adding 10gp per pound (original weight) to the cost of a masterwork version of that item (DMG pg. 283).

    So to the original question, you don't have to add the 150gp masterwork cost again (it's included in the 257gp). A +1 heavy darkwood shield (as your example) would cost 1,257gp.
    Last edited by Tasroth; 2012-06-09 at 06:47 AM.
    What do you mean "Dungeon Master" isn't a proper job?

    Thanks to Thufir for the avatar.

    D&D Characters Past and Present:
    Spoiler
    Show


    The Honest Man (3.5 LG human fighter), Princess Kailee (4e Good elf cleric), Elric (4e Good human paladin)
    Talia Dakashnit (3.5 CE human fighter), Gabriel Stryfe (d20 Modern fast hero), Tacin Willow (3.5 NG human fighter//bard)


  20. - Top - End - #350
    Barbarian in the Playground
     
    Edhelras's Avatar

    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Norway
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 3.5 (by RAW) XXI

    Q193 Is the natural attack (for instance, a claw or a bite) from an evil aligned monster is considered Evil for bypassing damage reduction (for instance 10/evil)?

    And BTW, what then about the unarmed attack from a good-aligned character? (Against a monster with DR 10/good - would my LG character be better off dropping the non-aligned longsword an attacking with bare hands?
    Last edited by Edhelras; 2012-06-09 at 07:25 AM.

  21. - Top - End - #351
    Titan in the Playground
     
    AssassinGuy

    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Sunnydale

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 3.5 (by RAW) XXI

    A 193 No.

    Alignment is a trait general to a creature, not specific to their weapons, unless explicitly stated. An example:
    An astral deva’s natural weapons, as well as any weapons it wields, are treated as good-aligned for the purpose of overcoming damage reduction.
    Without such a statement a creature's natural weapons have no special alignment properties.

  22. - Top - End - #352
    Barbarian in the Playground
     
    ElfRangerGuy

    Join Date
    Feb 2012

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 3.5 (by RAW) XXI

    Quote Originally Posted by Curmudgeon View Post
    A 191 Maybe.

    Your memory is a bit off. The worship options are not quite so free-form. The WHAT DO YOU SERVE? section of Complete Divine (page 6) sets the following options:
    • a single deity
    • a pantheon of related deities
    • a principle
    • Nature
    Having a divine patron, and worshiping a deity, are the same thing.

    For your particular application (worshiping both Pelor and Garl Glittergold) this is workable if it fits one of the above options. Because both deities are in the core D&D pantheon, if your character worships that pantheon you could satisfy both requirements. However, there are other restrictions based on race, class, and alignment which could make doing so nonviable. An example, from Player's Handbook on page 32: Since this list (Table 3–7: Deities) includes the core deities and multiple different races, you cannot be a Cleric and worship the whole core pantheon (because you cannot be all of those races simultaneously); you may only pick a single deity from the list to worship. Clerics have the additional restriction that their alignment must be within 1 step of the deity they worship, which requirement is also impossible with all the alignments of the core deities.

    If you found a way to qualify for both Radiant Servant of Pelor and Divine Prankster, with no Cleric levels, you might be able to accomplish your aim.
    My wrong assumption was probably caused by the "Religion" section of the forgotten realms campaign setting (pg. 39).

    Quote Originally Posted by FRCS
    The selection of a patron deity does not mean that your character only worships or makes praying offerings to one deity.
    I know that Pelor is not a deity in Faerun so...

    Q193
    Any idea on how to make a gnome Harmonious Knight paladin of freedom, that has Milil as patron and later on takes levels in divine prankster?

    Q194
    If somehow an Harmonious Knight becomes a divine prankster would its inspire courage provide bonuses as the inspire courage of a bard equal to the paladin levels and divine prankster levels?
    Currently playing:
    Aer the Raven in the refounding of the temple of nine swords.
    Estef in From Splendor to Shadow
    DMing Here be Dragons IC & OOC

  23. - Top - End - #353
    Ettin in the Playground
     
    Metahuman1's Avatar

    Join Date
    Mar 2011

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 3.5 (by RAW) XXI

    Q 195 The Factotum class says he get's all skills as class skills. Would this include the skills used by the Binder, Shadowcraft mage, and Truenamer in Tome of Magic to run there class features? And would this grant them the ability to use those skills to preform Utterances and Bind Vestiges and such?
    "I Burn!"

  24. - Top - End - #354
    Titan in the Playground
     
    AssassinGuy

    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Sunnydale

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 3.5 (by RAW) XXI

    A 195 Ask your DM; no.

    For the first question (Truespeak as a class skill), the Factotum standard class has a specific rule which gives them all skills as class skills. However, the Truespeak skill has a built-in exception to the usual skill rules.
    Of the standard classes, only the truenamer has Truespeak as a class skill.
    Both of these statements are absolutes. The usual order of rules application is from general to specific to exception (see Rules Compendium on page 5), which means the Truespeak exception would hold. However, Dungeonscape wasn't printed until after Tome of Magic. Frankly, the Factotum authors created a problem by not addressing prior conflicting rules. As a result this mess has to be adjudicated by each individual DM, with no clear RAW answer.

    As for the second question (using Truespeak), any character can use the skill to identify utterances being spoken. But only spellcasters can add truename speech to augment their spells, and the Factotum is not a spellcaster. The Truespeak skill by itself does not convey the ability to speak utterances; various Truenamer class abilities and/or feats are required in addition to that. Since those Truenamer abilities are Spell-like, the Factotum Cunning Brilliance ability cannot duplicate them. The Factotum has no ability to replicate a feat except where such a feat is granted as a standard class ability explicitly labeled as Extraordinary.

    A vestige binding check has no skill requirement, and the Factotum cannot gain any such ability through their class. The Binder class ability which allows this is Supernatural and thus also cannot be replicated via Cunning Brillilance.

  25. - Top - End - #355
    Firbolg in the Playground
     
    ElfRangerGuy

    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Imagination Land
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 3.5 (by RAW) XXI

    A 193 additional

    Creatures with an alignment-based subtype (such as many Outsiders) will bypass the relevant form of Damage Reduction with their natural attacks and wielded weapons.
    "Nothing you can't spell will ever work." - Will Rogers

    "What you must learn is that these rules are no different than the rules of a computer system. Some of them can be bent. Others can be broken." - Morpheus, The Matrix

    Quote Originally Posted by Krellen View Post
    Remember, Evil isn't "selfish". It's Evil. "Look out for number one" is a Neutral attitude. Evil looks out for number one while crushing number two.

  26. - Top - End - #356
    Ogre in the Playground
     
    killem2's Avatar

    Join Date
    Nov 2011

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 3.5 (by RAW) XXI

    Q 196: When you are a medium character making your self large, then onto huge with the likes of Expansion, which huge template do you use in the back of the DMG? The long one or the tall one?

    Q 197: Can expansion be augmented to grow past huge, such as if you spend 6 more points, can you grow to gargantuan?
    Path of the Nefarious: A Way of the Wicked Journal.
    Please take a look at the adventures of my group going through Fire Mountain Games's Way of the Wicked, An evil based Pathfinder Compatible adventure path.
    http://d20evil.blogspot.com/

  27. - Top - End - #357
    Firbolg in the Playground
     
    ElfRangerGuy

    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Imagination Land
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 3.5 (by RAW) XXI

    A 196

    That depends on your body type. If you are a humanoid or other creature which stands upright, you are tall. If you are a horse or centaur or similarly proportioned creature (mostly quadrupeds/multi-legged creatures and snake- or worm-like creatures which slither across the ground), then you are long.

    A 197 No.
    "Nothing you can't spell will ever work." - Will Rogers

    "What you must learn is that these rules are no different than the rules of a computer system. Some of them can be bent. Others can be broken." - Morpheus, The Matrix

    Quote Originally Posted by Krellen View Post
    Remember, Evil isn't "selfish". It's Evil. "Look out for number one" is a Neutral attitude. Evil looks out for number one while crushing number two.

  28. - Top - End - #358
    Troll in the Playground
    Join Date
    Mar 2012

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 3.5 (by RAW) XXI

    Q 198

    Does an eagle that advances to 3 HD as an animal companion become medium?

    Q 199

    Are there spells that shrink/enlarge creatures other than humanoids?
    Last edited by Andezzar; 2012-06-09 at 04:47 PM.

  29. - Top - End - #359
    Bugbear in the Playground
     
    EvilClericGuy

    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    New York
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 3.5 (by RAW) XXI

    Q 199

    Are there any arcane PrCs that grant full casting and net 3+ metamagic feats (other than Incantatrix)?

    Q 200

    Is ability damage affected by the part of Chain Spell that allows Reflex for half?

  30. - Top - End - #360
    Titan in the Playground
     
    AssassinGuy

    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Sunnydale

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 3.5 (by RAW) XXI

    A 198 No.

    Animal companion advancement is a Druid class feature, different from that of a normal animal. The companion gains exactly those characteristics specified in the Druid class description, and no others.

    A 200 Yes.
    If the chained spell deals damage, the secondary targets each take half as much damage as the primary target (rounded down) and can attempt Reflex saving throws for half damage (whether the spell allows the original target a save or not).
    There is no limitation to damage by type, so ability damage is included.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •