Page 35 of 91 FirstFirst ... 102526272829303132333435363738394041424344456085 ... LastLast
Results 1,021 to 1,050 of 2721
  1. - Top - End - #1021
    Ogre in the Playground
     
    killem2's Avatar

    Join Date
    Nov 2011

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 3.5 (by RAW) XXI

    Q 518: I could have swore there was a small section on creating your own hordes in the DMG, now I can't find it. I want to make a couple zombie hordes. If I am mistaken, is there templates for making swarms of larger monsters rather than being stuck to using vermin or bugs?
    The Way we do Level Adjustments
    Looking for a fantastic Tavern Game? Dragon's Tantrum is what you need.

    78% of DM's started their first campaign in a tavern. If you're one of the 22% that didn't, copy and paste this into your signature.
    The PCs started as part of a murder mystery. Some played close comrades with the victim, some were framed for the crime.

  2. - Top - End - #1022
    Ogre in the Playground
     
    Malimar's Avatar

    Join Date
    Oct 2010

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 3.5 (by RAW) XXI

    A 518
    The Mob template is found in DMGII, pp.59-61.

  3. - Top - End - #1023
    Bugbear in the Playground
     
    Crasical's Avatar

    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Texas
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 3.5 (by RAW) XXI

    Q 519

    Is it possible to qualify for the Ur-Priest PRC by 5th level, with a minimum of 2 levels of Monk?
    I named and helped build the Pervirtuoso!
    Ask me about Simon the Warblade!

    Quote Originally Posted by Waker View Post
    [..] that post by Crasical...I can't find the words. Were I capable of emotion, I would cry.
    Quote Originally Posted by Tokuhara View Post
    That's beautiful Crasical... Simply marvelous.
    Avatar by the esteemed Prime32

  4. - Top - End - #1024
    Titan in the Playground
     
    AssassinGuy

    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Sunnydale

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 3.5 (by RAW) XXI

    A 519 No.

    The requirements of 8 skill ranks in each of Knowledge (religion) and Spellcraft prevent that. The level advancement sequence (Player's Handbook, pages 58-59) shows Step 1. Choose Class well before Step 6. Skill Points.

  5. - Top - End - #1025
    Pixie in the Playground
    Join Date
    Dec 2011

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 3.5 (by RAW) XXI

    Q520

    Can a Psion multiclass with Psion to gain access to another discipline?

  6. - Top - End - #1026
    Titan in the Playground
     
    AssassinGuy

    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Sunnydale

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 3.5 (by RAW) XXI

    A 520 No.

    Multiclassing necessarily involves adding a different class (Player's Handbook, page 59).

  7. - Top - End - #1027
    Banned
     
    willpell's Avatar

    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 3.5 (by RAW) XXI

    Quote Originally Posted by Crasical View Post
    Q 519

    Is it possible to qualify for the Ur-Priest PRC by 5th level, with a minimum of 2 levels of Monk?
    Quote Originally Posted by Curmudgeon View Post
    A 519 No.

    The requirements of 8 skill ranks in each of Knowledge (religion) and Spellcraft prevent that. The level advancement sequence (Player's Handbook, pages 58-59) shows Step 1. Choose Class well before Step 6. Skill Points.
    A519 Correction
    It is possible to fulfill the "8 skill ranks in K:Religion and Spellcraft" (along with several other skills at lower levels) prerequisite in another way. A human character can take the first-level-only feat "Able Learner" (Races of Destiny), which allows him to count all of his skills as class skills for purposes of spending skill points, though he still has a lower limit on the number of ranks for his level (2 at first level and 1 every two levels thereafter). The Factotum class (Dungeonscape) gets all skills as class skills; your skill points from Factotum levels can be spent on a 1-for-1 basis on any skill, and since the rule is that any skill that you have previously had in-class can have ranks equal to your level +3, this now applies to all skills once you have taken a Factotum level. Combining these two, you can easily meet the skill prerequisites for Ur-Priest. (It might be possible to do it without "Able Learner" if you have a sufficiently high Intelligence modifier, but it would be far more difficult and I'm not up to doing the math to be sure).

    Here's an example of how that build could work:
    Spoiler
    Show

    Level 1: Select class: Factotum, Select race: Human, select feats: Able Learner and Iron Will, spend 20 skill points as follows: Bluff 4, K: Arcana 4, K: Planes 4, K: Religion 4, Spellcraft 4. (You need to not have an Intelligence penalty greater than -2; if you have a penalty no greater than -1 or an Intelligence bonus, you'll be able to get skills besides these, and it doesn't matter what they are in terms of qualifying as an ur-priest.

    Level 2: Select class: Factotum. Spend 5 skill points as follows: Bluff +1, K:Arcana +1, K:Planes +1, K:Religion +1, Spellcraft +1. Spend any remaining skill points however desired. You have now met all the requirements of the class except the base saves, K:Religion, Spellcraft, and Spell Focus: Evil (not counting the alignment and "an existing ur-priest must teach you" requirements).

    Level 3: Select class: Factotum. Spend Feat: Spell Focus (Evil). Spend 2 skill points as follows: K:Religion +1, Spellcraft +1. Spend remaining skill points however desired. Your saves are now Fort +1, Ref +3, Will +1.

    Level 4: Select class: Monk. Your first level of monk adds +2 to all saves, qualifying you for Ur-Priest's requirement of +3 on the saves other than Reflex. Purchase the 7th ranks in Religion and spellcraft. If you didn't have Able Learner, you'd need to pay 2 skill points for these ranks, but they still count as class skills thanks to your Factotum levels (even if you had only taken one).

    Level 5: Select class: Monk. Purchase the 8th ranks in those two skills. You now qualify to take Ur-Priest at your next level up.
    Last edited by willpell; 2012-07-21 at 11:07 PM.

  8. - Top - End - #1028
    Titan in the Playground
     
    AssassinGuy

    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Sunnydale

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 3.5 (by RAW) XXI

    Re: A 519 Correction

    You've missed the point, it seems. The question asked if it were possible to qualify by 5th level, not after 5th level.

  9. - Top - End - #1029
    Banned
     
    willpell's Avatar

    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 3.5 (by RAW) XXI

    Quote Originally Posted by Curmudgeon View Post
    Re: A 519 Correction

    You've missed the point, it seems. The question asked if it were possible to qualify by 5th level, not after 5th level.
    I thought it was weird for me to be correcting you.... By my reading "qualify for a PRC" means "meet the prerequisites to gain the PRC at your next level", not "take the PRC at this level" (which would mean you qualified the previous level). However it is more likely that he meant it the other way.

  10. - Top - End - #1030
    Ogre in the Playground
    Join Date
    Mar 2012

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 3.5 (by RAW) XXI

    Q 521

    Is the CON damage from a charge attack doubled on a valorous wounding weapon? What about a valorous wounding lance?

    Q 522

    Is there a cheaper way to get double damage on a charge and CON damage on a weapon than +1 valorous wounding (32k)?
    Last edited by Andezzar; 2012-07-22 at 05:12 AM.

  11. - Top - End - #1031
    Banned
     
    willpell's Avatar

    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 3.5 (by RAW) XXI

    Q523
    A Lance may be wielded in one hand while mounted; if you do so, do you still add 1.5x your Strength bonus to its damage, or does it take 1x your Strength bonus like any other weapon being wielded in one (non-off) hand?

  12. - Top - End - #1032
    Titan in the Playground
     
    AssassinGuy

    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Sunnydale

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 3.5 (by RAW) XXI

    A 523
    Wielding a Weapon Two-Handed

    When you deal damage with a weapon that you are wielding two-handed, you add 1½ times your Strength bonus. However, you don’t get this higher Strength bonus when using a light weapon with two hands.
    The 1½ STR bonus always comes from using a weapon two-handed. If you decide to wield a lance with just one hand you forgo this increased damage.

  13. - Top - End - #1033
    Banned
     
    willpell's Avatar

    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 3.5 (by RAW) XXI

    Q524
    I see nothing saying otherwise, so just to confirm - an Elemental is vulnerable to mind-affecting effects, correct?

  14. - Top - End - #1034
    Titan in the Playground
     
    AssassinGuy

    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Sunnydale

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 3.5 (by RAW) XXI

    A 524 Yes.

    There's no immunity to mind-affecting spells and effects in the Elemental type description, so you would only need to check for immunities specific to an individual elemental creature. None of the standard Monster Manual Elementals have this immunity.

  15. - Top - End - #1035
    Ogre in the Playground
     
    zagan's Avatar

    Join Date
    Jul 2007

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 3.5 (by RAW) XXI

    Q 525

    The swarm shifter template (libris mortis p125) state that when in swarm form the creature lose all special attack of the base creature. What is considered a special attack for this purpose ?
    Racial special attack ?
    Class based special attack ?
    spellcasting ?
    manifesting ?
    Initiating ?
    What about effect that are always (or nearly always) on such as a paladin aura of courage, rogue evasion, marshal aura, soulmeld, stance that sort of thing.
    Latest homebrew: The Avatars of Magic, powerful monster each dedicated to ne school of magic.

    My homebrewer's Extended Signature
    My character :
    Spoiler
    Show

    Mirar, Bizarre human Focused Conjurer/Master specialist (summoning specialist)
    Xilef, shifter Druid 8//Barbarian 5/Weretouched master 3
    Other Character.

  16. - Top - End - #1036
    Firbolg in the Playground
     
    Math_Mage's Avatar

    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 3.5 (by RAW) XXI

    Q 526

    Can you use Deflect/Snatch Arrows on an attack that misses your AC? Put another way, are Deflect/Snatch Arrows used before or after the attack roll?

    Quote Originally Posted by SRD
    Deflect Arrows [General]
    Prerequisites

    Dex 13, Improved Unarmed Strike.
    Benefit

    You must have at least one hand free (holding nothing) to use this feat. Once per round when you would normally be hit with a ranged weapon, you may deflect it so that you take no damage from it. You must be aware of the attack and not flat-footed.

    Attempting to deflect a ranged weapon doesn’t count as an action. Unusually massive ranged weapons and ranged attacks generated by spell effects can’t be deflected.
    Last edited by Math_Mage; 2012-07-22 at 03:48 PM.
    Avatar source

    Spoiler: Seasonal Dragons
    Show

    GENERATION X: This is a protest against generational signature viruses. If you agree with this sentiment, don't copy this into your sig.

  17. - Top - End - #1037
    Ogre in the Playground
    Join Date
    Mar 2012

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 3.5 (by RAW) XXI

    A 526

    No, You can only use Snatch Arrows, when you could use deflect arrows. Deflect Arrows can only be used on attacks that would hit you.

    Q 527

    Do the Automatic and Bonus Languages from the different Regions form the Player's Guide to Faerûn replace the available languages for the races from the PHB or do they add to them?
    Do the choice of Bonus Languages have no bearing on a human character, since humans can already learn any non-secret language according to the PHB?
    Last edited by Andezzar; 2012-07-22 at 03:51 PM.

  18. - Top - End - #1038
    Halfling in the Playground
     
    SolithKnightGuy

    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 3.5 (by RAW) XXI

    Q 528

    What exactly is multiplied (by default) on a critical? The number of dice rolled? The str bonus? What about sneak attacks and favored enemies?

    Q 529

    Does the Speak Language skill allow a character to learn any language that exists in the setting (outside of secret languages like druid) or just bonus languages?

    Q 530

    Does favored enemy damage stack with sneak attack?
    Last edited by Keithicus; 2012-07-22 at 07:51 PM.

  19. - Top - End - #1039
    Ettin in the Playground
     
    ElfRangerGuy

    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Imagination Land
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 3.5 (by RAW) XXI

    A 528

    You essentially roll your weapon's damage once again (or more times for x3 or x4 weapons) and add them together. It includes Str bonus, Weapon Specialization, Power Attack, Favored Enemy, the weapon's magical enhancement bonus, and any other static damage bonus you normally get on your attack.

    It does not include any extra dice of damage, such as Sneak Attack, Iajutsu Focus, Dragonfire Inspiration, or from a flaming weapon.


    A 529

    Any language other than secret ones.


    A 530

    Yes, they stack. They are entirely unrelated abilities.
    "Nothing you can't spell will ever work." - Will Rogers

    "What you must learn is that these rules are no different than the rules of a computer system. Some of them can be bent. Others can be broken." - Morpheus, The Matrix

    Quote Originally Posted by Krellen View Post
    Remember, Evil isn't "selfish". It's Evil. "Look out for number one" is a Neutral attitude. Evil looks out for number one while crushing number two.

  20. - Top - End - #1040
    Ogre in the Playground
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 3.5 (by RAW) XXI

    Q 531 How does Soul of Light (DrM) interact with the Vigor line (SpC)? For instance if a cleric with SoL up casts Mass Lesser Vigor, does everyone targeted by MLV gain Fast Healing 7, or do they immediately heal 6 and then gain fast healing 1 as normal, or does SoL do nothing?
    Hello milky way...

  21. - Top - End - #1041
    Banned
     
    willpell's Avatar

    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 3.5 (by RAW) XXI

    Quote Originally Posted by zagan View Post
    Q 525

    The swarm shifter template (libris mortis p125) state that when in swarm form the creature lose all special attack of the base creature. What is considered a special attack for this purpose ?
    A 525 partial
    The Monster Manual details the definition of special attacks (they are distinct from special qualities, you'll see that all monsters have sections listing these, although some are also rolled into the creature's type). Since the designers were not big on players playing monsters, I don't know of any rule clarifying what parts of a class's abilities count as special attacks or special qualities; there might be something in Savage Species but don't count on it. You might also take this question to Ur-Priest's Monstrous Handbook (just look up his member profile, it's in his sig); if anyone knows the answer it'd probably be him, and reading the handbook might tell you what you need to know, or at least give you a starting point.

    Q532
    The vestige Buer does not mention any saving throw for undead targets of its Healing Gift power. Does the standard saving throw for supernatural abilities apply, or do the undead just take the damage with no save possible?
    Last edited by willpell; 2012-07-23 at 12:11 AM.

  22. - Top - End - #1042
    Ogre in the Playground
     
    Malimar's Avatar

    Join Date
    Oct 2010

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 3.5 (by RAW) XXI

    Q 533
    If an elf passes within 5' of the same secret door multiple times, does she get multiple Search checks to detect it, or only one?

  23. - Top - End - #1043
    Halfling in the Playground
     
    BlackDragon

    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Austin, TX
    Gender
    Female

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 3.5 (by RAW) XXI

    Q 534

    The 3.5e Draconomicom states that the various colors of dragons can sometimes interbreed, but I have have found no information on what exactly the outcome of said cross-color breeding is. IS there any kind of clarification for this situation? (IE: What do you get when a Red female hooks up with a Green male type of deal. For whatever reasons.)
    Finishing first is only impressive in a race, my dear.

  24. - Top - End - #1044
    Ogre in the Playground
    Join Date
    Mar 2012

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 3.5 (by RAW) XXI

    A 533

    Yes. There are no restrictions on trying again in the description of the skill. If there are none you can try as often as you like.

  25. - Top - End - #1045
    Titan in the Playground
     
    AssassinGuy

    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Sunnydale

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 3.5 (by RAW) XXI

    A 533

    It's a Search check every time the Elf passes within 5'. This is, of course, done by the DM because the Elf isn't actually looking for the door.

  26. - Top - End - #1046
    Banned
     
    willpell's Avatar

    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 3.5 (by RAW) XXI

    A534
    One possible outcome of such a crossbreed is a Red dragon with the Half-Dragon (Green) template applied, or vice versa. Beyond that I don't think there's likely to be any official answer. If you want to homebrew some new dragons for your campaign this is one possible explanation for how they could come to exist, but of course that's not really a rules matter.

  27. - Top - End - #1047
    Bugbear in the Playground
     
    Elric VIII's Avatar

    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    New York
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 3.5 (by RAW) XXI

    Q535

    Can you apply poison to multiple missile weapons (arrows, bolts, shuriken) using only a single dose, in the same way you can enchant 50 at a time?

  28. - Top - End - #1048
    Titan in the Playground
     
    AssassinGuy

    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Sunnydale

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 3.5 (by RAW) XXI

    A 535 No.

    From page 296 of Dungeon Master's Guide:
    One dose of poison smeared on a weapon or some other object affects just a single target.

  29. - Top - End - #1049
    Dwarf in the Playground
     
    Zombie

    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 3.5 (by RAW) XXI

    Q536
    So I read that shield spikes is considered a weapon and can be enchanted as one...

    Is that also true with armor spikes? And if it is where do I find a reference that confirms it?

  30. - Top - End - #1050
    Ogre in the Playground
    Join Date
    Mar 2012

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 3.5 (by RAW) XXI

    A 536

    According to this table or Table 7-5 on p. 116 of the PHB spiked armor is a light martial weapon. As such it can be enchanted like any other manufactured weapon.

    Q 537

    Can you take non-actions when you are helpless, paralyzed or otherwise not allowed to take certain actions?
    Last edited by Andezzar; 2012-07-23 at 04:39 PM.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •