Page 59 of 91 FirstFirst ... 93449505152535455565758596061626364656667686984 ... LastLast
Results 1,741 to 1,770 of 2721
  1. - Top - End - #1741
    Orc in the Playground
     
    Chimera

    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Xen'Drik
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 3.5 (by RAW) XXI

    Q875: Wild mage says he reduces your CL by 3 and adds 1d6. How does that interact with practiced spellcaster? I can see it was supposed to work as one modification (1d6-3) and if it was <0 then PSC would add to it, but how does it work RAW? can someone make it only +1d6 with this trick?

    Q876: Can Extraordinary spell aim be used on emanation spells like AMF? if yes can someone provide few easy ways to boost my spellcraft so I can use it with int 8 on lvl 12?

  2. - Top - End - #1742
    Bugbear in the Playground
     
    Sgt. Cookie's Avatar

    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 3.5 (by RAW) XXI

    Q877: Can Dragonfire inspiration be used on natural weapons?

    Q778: Is their a feat, almost identical to the Serenity feat, that changes the paladin's wisdom reliance to charisma? I think there is one, but I'm not sure.
    Last edited by Sgt. Cookie; 2012-09-12 at 08:46 AM.
    Open the lid and snatch a homebrewed treat from Cookie's Jar

    Ponytar by Dirtytabs

    Like the look of the Prestige Bard/Paladin/Ranger, but don't know how best to use them? There's a guide for that.

  3. - Top - End - #1743
    Ogre in the Playground
    Join Date
    Mar 2012

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 3.5 (by RAW) XXI

    A 877

    Yes the description of the feat makes no distinction between natural and manufactured weapons.

  4. - Top - End - #1744
    Troll in the Playground
     
    Venger's Avatar

    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Texas
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 3.5 (by RAW) XXI

    Q 878 What is the duration of the Chaotician's babble ability?
    fight my brute! it's a lot of fun
    Quote Originally Posted by Kelb_Panthera View Post
    How telling is it that people would rather discuss the taxonomy of tomatoes (which are delicious) than the truenamer class?
    Iron Chef Medals!
    Amazing Princess Mononoke avatar by Dispozition

  5. - Top - End - #1745
    Titan in the Playground
     
    Tavar's Avatar

    Join Date
    Sep 2009

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 3.5 (by RAW) XXI

    Q 879 Say one uses truestrike, and scores a critical hit. Does the Critical conformation roll gain the +20 insight bonus?
    He fears his fate too much, and his reward is small, who will not put it to the touch, to win or lose it all.
    -James Graham, 1st Marquess of Montrose
    Satomi by Elagune

  6. - Top - End - #1746
    Ogre in the Playground
    Join Date
    Mar 2012

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 3.5 (by RAW) XXI

    A 879

    Yes:
    Quote Originally Posted by SRD
    When you make an attack roll and get a natural 20 (the d20 shows 20), you hit regardless of your target’s Armor Class, and you have scored a threat. The hit might be a critical hit (or "crit"). To find out if it’s a critical hit, you immediately make a critical roll—another attack roll with all the same modifiers as the attack roll you just made. If the critical roll also results in a hit against the target’s AC, your original hit is a critical hit. (The critical roll just needs to hit to give you a crit. It doesn’t need to come up 20 again.) If the critical roll is a miss, then your hit is just a regular hit.

  7. - Top - End - #1747
    Titan in the Playground
     
    AssassinGuy

    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Sunnydale

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 3.5 (by RAW) XXI

    A 874 No.
    An undetectable alignment spell conceals the alignment of an object or a creature from all forms of divination.
    Holy Word and Blasphemy are Evocation spells, so Undetectable Alignment does nothing to stop them. It might possibly prevent the spells from being cast in the first place if the spellcaster decides to check for alignment beforehand, but that's obviously dependent on how that spellcasting character is played.

  8. - Top - End - #1748
    Troll in the Playground
     
    Lateral's Avatar

    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Boston, The World
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 3.5 (by RAW) XXI

    Q 881

    The spell Shadow Spray, on page 186 of Spell Compendium, has a duration of 1 round/level, an area of "5-foot radius burst," and deals 4 strength damage. Does that mean that the burst lasts 1 round/level, or that the strength damage lasts 1 round/level?
    Last edited by Lateral; 2012-09-12 at 03:55 PM.

  9. - Top - End - #1749
    Ogre in the Playground
    Join Date
    Mar 2012

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 3.5 (by RAW) XXI

    Quote Originally Posted by Curmudgeon View Post
    A 874 No. Holy Word and Blasphemy are Evocation spells, so Undetectable Alignment does nothing to stop them. It might possibly prevent the spells from being cast in the first place if the spellcaster decides to check for alignment beforehand, but that's obviously dependent on how that spellcasting character is played.
    Well then, how do the spells divine/discern/find out whether a creature is of an appropriate alignment to be sent home?
    Quote Originally Posted by Undetectable Alignment
    An undetectable alignment spell conceals the alignment of an object or a creature from all forms of divination.
    This is not restricted to spells of the divination school.
    merriam-webster.com defines divination as:
    1: the art or practice that seeks to foresee or foretell future events or discover hidden knowledge usually by the interpretation of omens or by the aid of supernatural powers
    2: unusual insight : intuitive perception
    That the spells can tell whether a creature is of an appropriate alignment most definitely is a a discovery of hidden knowlege by the aid of a supernatural power. Knowing someone's alignment would also qualify as unusual insight.

  10. - Top - End - #1750
    Titan in the Playground
     
    AssassinGuy

    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Sunnydale

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 3.5 (by RAW) XXI

    Quote Originally Posted by Andezzar View Post
    Well then, how do the spells divine/discern/find out whether a creature is of an appropriate alignment to be sent home?
    The spells in question don't have any requirement to "find out"; they just act as described.

  11. - Top - End - #1751
    Firbolg in the Playground
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Mountain View, CA
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 3.5 (by RAW) XXI

    Quote Originally Posted by Andezzar View Post
    Well then, how do the spells divine/discern/find out whether a creature is of an appropriate alignment to be sent home?
    They don't. The operation is not "test target's alignment, send away if evil", but rather "do something that evil is inherently sent away by".
    Saberhagen's Twelve Swords, some homebrew artifacts for 3.5 (please comment)

    Archives:
    Spoiler
    Show
    Isstinen Tonche for ECL 74 playtesting.
    Team Solars: Powergaming beyond your wildest imagining, without infinite loops or epic. Yes, the DM asked for it.
    Arcane Swordsage: Making it actually work (homebrew)

  12. - Top - End - #1752
    Ettin in the Playground
     
    The Dark Fiddler's Avatar

    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    IUP
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 3.5 (by RAW) XXI

    Quote Originally Posted by Raendyn View Post
    Q875: Wild mage says he reduces your CL by 3 and adds 1d6. How does that interact with practiced spellcaster? I can see it was supposed to work as one modification (1d6-3) and if it was <0 then PSC would add to it, but how does it work RAW? can someone make it only +1d6 with this trick?

    Q876: Can Extraordinary spell aim be used on emanation spells like AMF? if yes can someone provide few easy ways to boost my spellcraft so I can use it with int 8 on lvl 12?
    A 875: Practiced Caster adds 4 to your caster level, but to a maximum of your hit dice. The closest thing to a rule on this case is the following line: "However, even if you can't benefit from the full bonus immediately, if you later gain noncaster-level HD you maybe able to apply the rest of the bonus."

    Thus, it follows that Practiced Caster can increase your caster level by 4, but only up to your HD, even with the penalty from Wild Mage. So, if your roll only rolls a 1 or a 2, then the feat shores that up. If you roll a 3 or higher, the feat has no effect (unless you were already a few caster levels below your HD, in which case it applies after the penalty and die roll, and applies as normal).

    876: Yes, Extraordinary Spell Aim applies to any spell that affects an area, including emanations. The question about spellcraft is a bit beyond the scope of the thread, I think, but have a freebie: Skill Focus.
    Homebrew: The Guardian | Combat Pragmatist
    Animorphs-styled morphing rules for the Fate Core system!
    Coming Soon(?): WarMunchies, a candy-based wargame | Pokemon Four Suits

    The best answer is always to ask your DM.
    Unless you're the DM, in which case you should talk to your players.

  13. - Top - End - #1753
    Banned
     
    willpell's Avatar

    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 3.5 (by RAW) XXI

    Q882
    Can I get a quick list of PRCs that advance Druid spellcasting at every level and don't require prerequisite levels in a non-Druid class (ie no Theurging)?

  14. - Top - End - #1754
    Banned
     
    willpell's Avatar

    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 3.5 (by RAW) XXI

    Q883
    The Bearded Devil has a supernatural ability to do nastier wounds with his glaive; is the glaive itself an ordinary weapon which every barbazu just happens to have? If you Disarm or Sunder his glaive, what happens? If you send him away with a Banishment and then summon the exact same Barbazu back a moment later (assuming you have the ability to do this somehow), will he have a new glaive? If you take the barbazu's glaive away and give him a different glaive, will he be able to inflict lingering wounds with that? (The obvious other question would be "what if it's a guisarme instead?" but we know the RAW answer to that one, silly though it is.)

  15. - Top - End - #1755
    Ogre in the Playground
    Join Date
    Mar 2012

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 3.5 (by RAW) XXI

    A 883

    It seems to be a combination of the weapon and the devil. He does not cause infernal wounds with his claws. If you remove the glaive and give it another you will have to decide whether this glaive becomes its glaive or if it is just a glaive it wields.

    Q 884

    Are there any Forgotten Realms deities that grant the Summoner Domain? How about Deities from other Settings?

    Q 885

    Are there other ways to get a Summoner domain for a cleric or wizard? The wizard could unless I am mistaken refuse to worship a deity and select any domain if he used the domain wizard ACF.
    Last edited by Andezzar; 2012-09-13 at 05:20 AM.

  16. - Top - End - #1756
    Ogre in the Playground
     
    eggs's Avatar

    Join Date
    Feb 2012

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 3.5 (by RAW) XXI

    Q886:
    Alter Self grants "mundane movement capabilities" to its users.
    The Musteval Guardinal from Book of Exalted Deeds has an ability called Focused Movement which similarly to nonflying Flyby Attack, but which is not labeled with any Su. or Ex. tags.
    In the absence of those tags, would Focused Movement be accessible through Alter Self?

    Q887:
    If a creature is summoned via Conjure Ice Beast (Frostburn), is it conjured along with the equipment listed in its statblock?

  17. - Top - End - #1757
    Banned
     
    willpell's Avatar

    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 3.5 (by RAW) XXI

    A 884
    Summoner is, as far as I know, introduced in Complete Divine along with Trithereon, God of Liberation, who grants it (why I have no idea, the two things don't have much to do with each other). Did you mean apart from him?

    A 885
    I might be mistaken, but I believe Domain Wizard specifically states that even if a wizard domain has the same name as a cleric domain, it is not actually the same thing; that suggests that the writers of UA would frown on giving domain wizards access to just any old Cleric domain.

  18. - Top - End - #1758
    Ogre in the Playground
    Join Date
    Mar 2012

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 3.5 (by RAW) XXI

    @ A 884: Yes, apart from him.

    @ A885:
    Quote Originally Posted by Complete Champion p. 52
    Choose one cleric domain. If you worship a specific deity, the domain you choose must be one to which your deity grants access. You now can use that domain’s granted power as a cleric does, but you do not gain access to its spells or extra spell slots.
    Since worshipping a deity is not mandatory (even though a bad idea in Faerun), an atheist wizard could choose any domain.

  19. - Top - End - #1759
    Ogre in the Playground
     
    eggs's Avatar

    Join Date
    Feb 2012

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 3.5 (by RAW) XXI

    A855
    The Heretic of the Faith feat from Power of Faerun lets you swap a domain out for one outside your deity's normal list.

  20. - Top - End - #1760
    Banned
     
    willpell's Avatar

    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 3.5 (by RAW) XXI

    Didn't know the domain wizard was in Complete Champion.

    Q888
    Are there stats on a Pterosaur (as seen in the comic?) I don't recall any flyers being among the Dinosaur entries, nor did Pterosaur have its own entry (being not technically dinosaurs, for all the difference that makes in D&D science).

  21. - Top - End - #1761
    Ogre in the Playground
     
    eggs's Avatar

    Join Date
    Feb 2012

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 3.5 (by RAW) XXI

    A888
    The two pterosaurs I'm aware of are Dragon magazine 318's pteranodon and Monster manual 2's quetzalcoatlus.

  22. - Top - End - #1762
    Bugbear in the Playground
     
    Dumbledore lives's Avatar

    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Redmond, Washington
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 3.5 (by RAW) XXI

    Q889

    Is there an item that blocks teleportation in a wide radius?
    Avatar by Diabhan
    Shapperdash, movie reviews amongst other things.
    Natural 1, a tale of critical failures
    Spoiler
    Show

    Quote Originally Posted by Aquillion View Post
    If you're ever in a situation where you can't survive, go for the broke and fill all of creation with chickens. Just imagine the reaction of people halfway around the world when every square inch of space in their world is suddenly and completely full of chickens.
    Homebrew
    1st in Iron Chef XXXIV with a Warforged bard

  23. - Top - End - #1763
    Ogre in the Playground
     
    zagan's Avatar

    Join Date
    Jul 2007

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 3.5 (by RAW) XXI

    Q 889 edit: Q890

    What happen if someone cast the spell Spirit Jaw (Spc p202) on a creature with spell resistance and the caster level check faill ?
    Does the jaw of force fail to appear or do they appear but simply fail to damage the creature ?
    Finally if it's the second option do you need to reroll the caster level check each time the jaw try to interact with the creature or do you always use the first roll ? (menaing that this casting of spirit jaw cannot affected this creature)


    EDIT 2: Forget this question I found the response myself.
    Last edited by zagan; 2012-09-13 at 01:40 PM.
    Latest homebrew: The Avatars of Magic, powerful monster each dedicated to ne school of magic.

    My homebrewer's Extended Signature
    My character :
    Spoiler
    Show

    Mirar, Bizarre human Focused Conjurer/Master specialist (summoning specialist)
    Xilef, shifter Druid 8//Barbarian 5/Weretouched master 3
    Other Character.

  24. - Top - End - #1764
    Troll in the Playground
     
    Venger's Avatar

    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Texas
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 3.5 (by RAW) XXI

    A888 there are stats on pathfinder, here but I don't think they exist in 3.5, per se.
    fight my brute! it's a lot of fun
    Quote Originally Posted by Kelb_Panthera View Post
    How telling is it that people would rather discuss the taxonomy of tomatoes (which are delicious) than the truenamer class?
    Iron Chef Medals!
    Amazing Princess Mononoke avatar by Dispozition

  25. - Top - End - #1765
    Ettin in the Playground
     
    The Dark Fiddler's Avatar

    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    IUP
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 3.5 (by RAW) XXI

    Quote Originally Posted by eggs View Post
    Q887:
    If a creature is summoned via Conjure Ice Beast (Frostburn), is it conjured along with the equipment listed in its statblock?
    A 887: The spells description states, "In all other ways, conjure ice beast I functions like summon monster I." Since nothing is said about equipment by the spell's description, Conjure Ice Beast would indeed create equipment along with the creature.
    Last edited by The Dark Fiddler; 2012-09-13 at 02:24 PM.
    Homebrew: The Guardian | Combat Pragmatist
    Animorphs-styled morphing rules for the Fate Core system!
    Coming Soon(?): WarMunchies, a candy-based wargame | Pokemon Four Suits

    The best answer is always to ask your DM.
    Unless you're the DM, in which case you should talk to your players.

  26. - Top - End - #1766
    Halfling in the Playground
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 3.5 (by RAW) XXI

    Q891

    Let's say my character is a Horseman Fighter (DR310p36) with the following feats: Mounted Combat, Ride-by Attack, Trample, Spirited Charge, and Quick Turn. Quick Turn is from the DR Mag and it basically let's a mount turn up to 90 degrees during a charge a number of times equal to the mount's DEX mod.

    Now, lets say there are 3 enemies that are somewhat scattered, so I can't form a straight line through them, but I can form a path that goes through all 3 of them using my turns from Quick Turn. I charge past the first 2 enemies, wtih my horse making overrun attempts (assume successful) triggering Trample damage and knocking them prone. As I approach the third enemy, I make a single attack using the Ride-by Attack feat with my Lance (which gains appropriate bonuses from charging, I assume). Now, my horse continues moving ('cause you can do that with Ride-by attack right?), and makes an overrun attempt on the enemy I just hit with my lance (assume success), knocking that enemy prone and inflicting Trample damage.

    ^ Is that RAW legal to do in one round?

    Q892

    Assuming the top was RAW legal. Let's say after all that, I have enough Quick Turns and movement to move through an enemy's square again. The enemy is already knocked prone; can I still inflict trample damage on them by moving through their square?

    Q893

    If Body Blaze (Sandstorm) is cast on a character who then overruns a flying enemy successfully, is the damage applied? (The character with Body Blaze cast on them is also flying). At first when reading the spell, I assumed no, because the Wall of Fire is not created when flying, but part of the spell says "If you overrun a creature or otherwise manage to pass through its square, each creature takes damage as if passing through the wall." That quote leads me to believe that Body Blaze does inflict damage in a flying overrun, but I'm not sure.
    Last edited by 2gig; 2012-09-13 at 07:21 PM.

  27. - Top - End - #1767
    Titan in the Playground
     
    AssassinGuy

    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Sunnydale

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 3.5 (by RAW) XXI

    Re: A 885
    Quote Originally Posted by Andezzar View Post
    The wizard could unless I am mistaken refuse to worship a deity and select any domain if he used the domain wizard ACF.
    Quote Originally Posted by Andezzar View Post
    @ A885: Since worshipping a deity is not mandatory (even though a bad idea in Faerun), an atheist wizard could choose any domain.
    The Domain Wizard ACF is in Unearthed Arcana (pages 57-58) and has nothing to do with Cleric domains. The Domain Granted Power ACF (Complete Champion, page 52) is a different ACF which will give the Wizard the granted power of a selected Clerical domain. This will not provide access to the spells of the domain, though, so it doesn't completely satisfy the question.

    A 886 No.
    Quote Originally Posted by Alter Self
    You do not gain any extraordinary special attacks or special qualities not noted above under physical qualities, such as darkvision, low-light vision, blindsense, blindsight, fast healing, regeneration, scent, and so forth.
    Focused Movement is a listed special quality, not a mundane movement capability. "Special" is an antonym of "mundane".

    A 891 No.

    From Player's Handbook v.3.5 Errata:
    Overrun
    Player's Handbook, page 148
    It’s not possible to overrun as part of a charge.
    Delete “or as part of a charge” from this paragraph.
    Your entire scenario is dependent on this combination, which is forbidden by RAW.

    A 892 N/A.
    Last edited by Curmudgeon; 2012-09-13 at 08:00 PM.

  28. - Top - End - #1768

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 3.5 (by RAW) XXI

    Q894: Does Greater Magic Weapon temporarily allow enhancements beyond the usual +10 limitation?

  29. - Top - End - #1769
    Titan in the Playground
     
    AssassinGuy

    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Sunnydale

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 3.5 (by RAW) XXI

    A 894

    There is no "usual +10 limitation" outside of pre-Epic magic item creation rules. Enhancements other than through Craft Magic Arms And Armor do not have this particular limitation.

  30. - Top - End - #1770
    Bugbear in the Playground
     
    PaladinGuy

    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    UK
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 3.5 (by RAW) XXI

    A894: No - Greater Magic Weapon specifically caps at +5. It also grants an Enhancement Bonus so it does NOT stack with any Enhancment bonus already on the weapon.

    What it does is turn a +1 Holy, Dragon Bane Keen longsword into a +5 Holy, Dragon Bane Keen longsword, or, potentially very usefully, turn a +1 Defending set of armour spikes into +5 Defending set - where you can put all +5 into AC... (DM permitting - this is RAW cheese)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •