Page 85 of 91 FirstFirst ... 35607576777879808182838485868788899091 LastLast
Results 2,521 to 2,550 of 2721
  1. - Top - End - #2521
    Halfling in the Playground
     
    Taveena's Avatar

    Join Date
    Jan 2012

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 3.5 (by RAW) XXI

    Q1237

    Is there any way I could use Polymorph Any Object and Mind Rape/Programmed Amnesia without being a Wizard/Sorceror/Spell to Power Erudite?
    Incredible avatar made by Ceika.

  2. - Top - End - #2522
    Titan in the Playground
     
    AssassinGuy

    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Sunnydale

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 3.5 (by RAW) XXI

    A 1236 No.

    That's a house rule, not RAW.

    A 1237

    Anyone with sufficient Use Magic Device skill and the necessary scrolls can use those spells.

  3. - Top - End - #2523
    Ogre in the Playground
     
    mattie_p's Avatar

    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    <<Undetected>>
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 3.5 (by RAW) XXI

    Quote Originally Posted by inexorabletruth View Post
    Q1236
    Isn't there a rule somewhere about skill training (gaining skills without levelling up)? I'm pretty sure it was something to do with spending a week with someone trained in the skill you're trying to learn, and you gain +1 skill points or something like that. It could've been a house rule a DM used when I was learning the game and never questioned it. But if the rule exists, does anyone know the source for the rule?
    A1236 Clarification: There is an optional rule, described in detail on pages 197-198 of the 3.5 DMG, where the character must receive training of some sort after earning the level in order to gain skill ranks and feats. But this does not earn you skill points without leveling up.

    You could, of course, visit the Oytugh Hole, Chaos Shuffle Iron Will into Open Minded, and get 5 skill points, but that is no longer a simple question/answer.
    Chairman of Zinc Saucier. Currently judging made from scratch Flayerspawn Psychics. It is just like Iron Chef but comes with double the prize money.
    Quote Originally Posted by Psyren View Post
    So now you're claiming that spellcasting "lacks a clear, supernatural element?" Being supernatural is literally the only point of magic.
    Spoiler
    Show
    Characters:
    Grath - Southern Comfort Campaign
    Prizes:
    Eglath - 2nd Place Iron Chef XXXII


    Avatar by Derjuin, sing her praises to Elysium. Adopt an Avatar today.

  4. - Top - End - #2524
    Barbarian in the Playground
     
    RangerGuy

    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Saint Paul, MN
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 3.5 (by RAW) XXI

    Thank you for your quick and clear responses! Here is a follow-up question.

    Q 1238

    If you have the Ride-By Attack feat and you are mounted, can you take the overrun action during a move at the velocity of running, so that you can travel up to twice your "speed," provided that you move in an unobstructed straight line?

  5. - Top - End - #2525
    Ettin in the Playground
     
    ElfRangerGuy

    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Imagination Land
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 3.5 (by RAW) XXI

    A 1238

    No. You cannot overrun while charging whether you are mounted or not.
    Last edited by KillianHawkeye; 2012-11-01 at 03:47 PM.
    "Nothing you can't spell will ever work." - Will Rogers

    "What you must learn is that these rules are no different than the rules of a computer system. Some of them can be bent. Others can be broken." - Morpheus, The Matrix

    Quote Originally Posted by Krellen View Post
    Remember, Evil isn't "selfish". It's Evil. "Look out for number one" is a Neutral attitude. Evil looks out for number one while crushing number two.

  6. - Top - End - #2526
    Troll in the Playground
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Baltimore, MD
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 3.5 (by RAW) XXI

    Q 1239: Does the power boost from the Flood of Shadow mystery (which boosts all variable numeric effects of mysteries and shadow-based spells cast in its area by 50%) stack with the Empower Mystery feat?
    Pulvis Et Umbra Sumus: Shadowcaster Handbook
    Archer Build Compendium

    Iron Chef Awards!
    Spoiler
    Show

    GOLD MEDALS
    IC XLIX: Babalon, Queen of Bones
    IC XLV: Dead Mists
    IC XL: Lycus Blackbeak
    IC XXXIX: AM-1468
    IC XXXV: Parsifal the Fool
    IC XXX: Jal Filius

  7. - Top - End - #2527
    Halfling in the Playground
     
    RedWizardGuy

    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Everywhere at every time

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 3.5 (by RAW) XXI

    Q 1240 If someone with a penalty to STR (for this example, -2) is being inspired, does the automatic adjustment to 1 for damage apply before or after the extra damage?
    Say someone's melee damage is 1d3-2. On a roll, he gets a 2. If the inspire applied before the adjustment, the result would be 1. If it applied after, it would be a 2.

  8. - Top - End - #2528
    Ettin in the Playground
     
    Kelb_Panthera's Avatar

    Join Date
    Oct 2009

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 3.5 (by RAW) XXI

    Quote Originally Posted by Garan View Post
    Q 1240 If someone with a penalty to STR (for this example, -2) is being inspired, does the automatic adjustment to 1 for damage apply before or after the extra damage?
    Say someone's melee damage is 1d3-2. On a roll, he gets a 2. If the inspire applied before the adjustment, the result would be 1. If it applied after, it would be a 2.
    All of the physical damage an attack does (as opposed to the energy damage added by some weapons) is calculated under the normal mathematical rules. Only if the final value is <1 do you increase it to 1.

    In your example, the character would do only 1 damage.
    I am not seaweed. That's a B.

    Praise I've received
    Spoiler
    Show
    Quote Originally Posted by ThiagoMartell View Post
    Kelb, recently it looks like you're the Avatar of Reason in these forums, man.
    Quote Originally Posted by LTwerewolf View Post
    [...] bringing Kelb in on your side in a rules fight is like bringing Mike Tyson in on your side to fight a toddler. You can, but it's such massive overkill.
    A quick outline on building a homebrew campaign

    Avatar by Tiffanie Lirle

  9. - Top - End - #2529
    Dwarf in the Playground
     
    Zombie

    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 3.5 (by RAW) XXI

    Q1241

    Does steel dragon excist in a published book? Because i can only find it online, and my DM will only let me use it if its published.

  10. - Top - End - #2530
    Ogre in the Playground
    Join Date
    Mar 2012

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 3.5 (by RAW) XXI

    Q 1242

    Does selecting a Celestial/Fiendish Creature make the Summon monster spell a [Good]/[Evil] spell?

  11. - Top - End - #2531
    Ogre in the Playground
     
    mattie_p's Avatar

    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    <<Undetected>>
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 3.5 (by RAW) XXI

    A 1242: Yes. Also potentially other descriptors.

    From the spell text:
    Quote Originally Posted by Summon Monster I
    When you use a summoning spell to summon an air, chaotic, earth, evil, fire, good, lawful, or water creature, it is a spell of that type.
    Chairman of Zinc Saucier. Currently judging made from scratch Flayerspawn Psychics. It is just like Iron Chef but comes with double the prize money.
    Quote Originally Posted by Psyren View Post
    So now you're claiming that spellcasting "lacks a clear, supernatural element?" Being supernatural is literally the only point of magic.
    Spoiler
    Show
    Characters:
    Grath - Southern Comfort Campaign
    Prizes:
    Eglath - 2nd Place Iron Chef XXXII


    Avatar by Derjuin, sing her praises to Elysium. Adopt an Avatar today.

  12. - Top - End - #2532
    Ogre in the Playground
    Join Date
    Mar 2012

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 3.5 (by RAW) XXI

    A 1242 Rebuttal

    The thing is, the Celestial/Fiendish Creature Template does not add the [Good]/[Evil] Subtype. At least according to the SRD Summon Monster refers to the [Good]/[Evil] Subtype, not the alignment.

  13. - Top - End - #2533
    Troll in the Playground
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Baltimore, MD
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 3.5 (by RAW) XXI

    Quote Originally Posted by Andezzar View Post
    A 1242 Rebuttal

    The thing is, the Celestial/Fiendish Creature Template does not add the [Good]/[Evil] Subtype. At least according to the SRD Summon Monster refers to the [Good]/[Evil] Subtype, not the alignment.
    In the description of the spell itself, it gives the alignment of the creature you are summoning.
    Pulvis Et Umbra Sumus: Shadowcaster Handbook
    Archer Build Compendium

    Iron Chef Awards!
    Spoiler
    Show

    GOLD MEDALS
    IC XLIX: Babalon, Queen of Bones
    IC XLV: Dead Mists
    IC XL: Lycus Blackbeak
    IC XXXIX: AM-1468
    IC XXXV: Parsifal the Fool
    IC XXX: Jal Filius

  14. - Top - End - #2534
    Ogre in the Playground
    Join Date
    Mar 2012

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 3.5 (by RAW) XXI

    Quote Originally Posted by Piggy Knowles View Post
    In the description of the spell itself, it gives the alignment of the creature you are summoning.
    I know, the question is whether a good/evil alignment is sufficient to make it a [good]/[evil] spell. The SRD links the words good/evil in the sentence mattie_p quoted to the [good]/[evil] subtypes. Celestial/fiendish creatures while "always" of good/evil alignment do not have that subtype.

    Q 1243

    Is the range: Touch a fixed range?
    Last edited by Andezzar; 2012-11-02 at 01:25 PM.

  15. - Top - End - #2535
    Troll in the Playground
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Baltimore, MD
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 3.5 (by RAW) XXI

    Ah, I see the confusion.

    The text of the spell itself just says that summoning a good creature makes it a good spell. The d20srd.org site links to the page for subtypes for convenience, but that doesn't change the fact that the spell, as written, doesn't specify the subtype.
    Pulvis Et Umbra Sumus: Shadowcaster Handbook
    Archer Build Compendium

    Iron Chef Awards!
    Spoiler
    Show

    GOLD MEDALS
    IC XLIX: Babalon, Queen of Bones
    IC XLV: Dead Mists
    IC XL: Lycus Blackbeak
    IC XXXIX: AM-1468
    IC XXXV: Parsifal the Fool
    IC XXX: Jal Filius

  16. - Top - End - #2536
    Ogre in the Playground
    Join Date
    Mar 2012

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 3.5 (by RAW) XXI

    Q 1244

    So basically creature of good alignment=good creature? Interesting.

    Q 1245

    Is the Purple Worm the closest thing to the sand worms from Dune or is there something similar that actually lives in the desert?

    Q 1246

    Are there rules for detecting a burrowing purple worm or other burrowing creature?
    Last edited by Andezzar; 2012-11-02 at 02:05 PM.

  17. - Top - End - #2537
    Troll in the Playground
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Baltimore, MD
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 3.5 (by RAW) XXI

    Quote Originally Posted by Andezzar View Post
    Q 1244

    So basically creature of good alignment=good creature? Interesting.?
    Yes - otherwise spells like Holy Smite would only affect a small subset of creatures.
    Pulvis Et Umbra Sumus: Shadowcaster Handbook
    Archer Build Compendium

    Iron Chef Awards!
    Spoiler
    Show

    GOLD MEDALS
    IC XLIX: Babalon, Queen of Bones
    IC XLV: Dead Mists
    IC XL: Lycus Blackbeak
    IC XXXIX: AM-1468
    IC XXXV: Parsifal the Fool
    IC XXX: Jal Filius

  18. - Top - End - #2538
    Ettin in the Playground
     
    Kelb_Panthera's Avatar

    Join Date
    Oct 2009

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 3.5 (by RAW) XXI

    Quote Originally Posted by Andezzar View Post
    Q 1244

    So basically creature of good alignment=good creature? Interesting.

    Q 1245

    Is the Purple Worm the closest thing to the sand worms from Dune or is there something similar that actually lives in the desert?

    Q 1246

    Are there rules for detecting a burrowing purple worm or other burrowing creature?
    1245: there's the ashworm in sandstorm and another much larger sandworm creature in the same book.

    1246: A burrowing creature is still a moving creature and should be detectable via listen check. The DC will be kinda steep until the critter's right on top of you though.
    I am not seaweed. That's a B.

    Praise I've received
    Spoiler
    Show
    Quote Originally Posted by ThiagoMartell View Post
    Kelb, recently it looks like you're the Avatar of Reason in these forums, man.
    Quote Originally Posted by LTwerewolf View Post
    [...] bringing Kelb in on your side in a rules fight is like bringing Mike Tyson in on your side to fight a toddler. You can, but it's such massive overkill.
    A quick outline on building a homebrew campaign

    Avatar by Tiffanie Lirle

  19. - Top - End - #2539
    Pixie in the Playground
     
    GnomePirate

    Join Date
    Nov 2011

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 3.5 (by RAW) XXI

    Q1247
    Under the description of the special material Riverine in Stormwrack, it says that it costs 2,000gp per pound of it. If I were to make an item out of less than a pound, how much would it cost, specifically for a ring, which has no specified weight?

    Q1248
    Also, if I were to enchant a ring to cast certain spells per day, and that ring was intelligent/my item familiar, could it also counterspell those spells?
    Last edited by MehMuffin; 2012-11-02 at 05:15 PM.

  20. - Top - End - #2540
    Titan in the Playground
     
    AssassinGuy

    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Sunnydale

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 3.5 (by RAW) XXI

    A 1241 Yes.

    You can find the 3.5 version of steel dragons on pages 140-142 of Dragons of Faerûn.

    A 1246

    That's what tremorsense does.
    Last edited by Curmudgeon; 2012-11-02 at 05:46 PM.

  21. - Top - End - #2541
    Ogre in the Playground
    Join Date
    Mar 2012

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 3.5 (by RAW) XXI

    I meant without tremorsense, are there any Listen DCs? Can PCs without any special forms of perception detect a purple worm burrowing into reach before combat and biting and grabbing one in the surprise round?

    Q 1249

    How does Improved Grab/Swallow Whole work with mounted characters and their mounts?

  22. - Top - End - #2542
    Pixie in the Playground
     
    GnomePirate

    Join Date
    Nov 2011

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 3.5 (by RAW) XXI

    Q1250
    By "Life Sustaining nourishment" does the ring of sustenance only fulfill the need for food or does it provide anything else?

  23. - Top - End - #2543
    Bugbear in the Playground
     
    DeltaEmil's Avatar

    Join Date
    Mar 2010

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 3.5 (by RAW) XXI

    A1250
    The ring of sustenance makes it that you don't need to eat or drink anymore (and that you only need to sleep for 2 hours to gain the benefits of 8 hours of sleep) once it is attuned to you.

  24. - Top - End - #2544
    Titan in the Playground
     
    AssassinGuy

    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Sunnydale

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 3.5 (by RAW) XXI

    A 1249

    These abilities work against single creatures. Either the mount is unaffected, or the rider is unaffected (other than automatically falling when the mount is pulled into the enemy creature's space).

  25. - Top - End - #2545
    Banned
     
    willpell's Avatar

    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 3.5 (by RAW) XXI

    Q1251
    The spell Greater Teleport specifies that "there is no chance that you arrive off-target". Do you still roll the same percentages to see if you get the correct destination, but treat all "Off-Target" results as "On-Target" (so a "Very Familiar" location still has a 1% chance of producing a "Somewhere Else" result)? Or is the roll eliminated altogether and you always arrive exactly where you want to?

    Q1252
    Darkvision does not seem to get an entry in the Monster Manual. Is it an {Ex} or {Su} ability?

    Q1253
    When an Erinyes throws her animated rope to entangle a target, do they get a Reflex save to avoid it? How is the DC determined? For some reason, the entry for the rope lists a different Caster Level than for the erinyes's SLAs.
    Last edited by willpell; 2012-11-03 at 12:22 AM.

  26. - Top - End - #2546
    Titan in the Playground
     
    AssassinGuy

    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Sunnydale

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 3.5 (by RAW) XXI

    A 1252

    Darkvision is covered in the Player's Handbook (page 307):
    darkvision: An extraordinary ability possessed by some creatures that enables them to see in the dark.

  27. - Top - End - #2547
    Banned
     
    willpell's Avatar

    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 3.5 (by RAW) XXI

    Quote Originally Posted by Curmudgeon View Post
    A 1252

    Darkvision is covered in the Player's Handbook (page 307):
    Alright, that's what I thought. A follow-up and a couple new questions:

    Q 1252b
    Just to confirm, this means that a Baatezu, whose See in Darkness ability is (Su)pernatural, but who also has Darkvision out to 60 feet as do all Outsiders, can see 60 feet into a pitch-black Antimagic Field? Or is it rather that his See in Darkness remains active at any distance up until the moment he steps into the AMF, at which point everything beyond 60 feet away from him instantly disappears from his sight, and reappears when he steps back out of the AMF?

    Q 1254
    The Erinyes's animated rope ability says that she can throw it 30 feet away with no penalty, but it doesn't clarify whether she needs a ranged attack roll to do so, as do other users of the Animate Rope spell (those other users take range penalties at any range beyond 10 feet, but can throw the rope up to 50 feet by accepting such penalties). Since the text also seems to indicate a Reflex save, and very few effects both require a hit roll and offer a save, I thought I should check whether I'm reading this correctly. So, to generalize the question, exactly how does the Erinyes's "throw animated rope to entangle target" maneuver work?

    Q 1255
    For any character entangled by a thrown rope or the like, while it's a full-round action to use Escape Artist to get free, what kind of action is needed to burst the ropes with a Strength check? What about when you're tied up, when Escape Artist would require 1 minute? More generally, is there a default rule for how long Ability Checks usually take?

  28. - Top - End - #2548
    Titan in the Playground
     
    AssassinGuy

    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Sunnydale

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 3.5 (by RAW) XXI

    A 1253

    When an Erinyes throws its rope to entangle a target, it operates as an Animate Rope spell except for a 30' range limit. There is no Reflex save involved in this. The Reflex save is determined by the usual formula: DC = 10 + 1 (spell level) + 5 (ability bonus for CHA 20) = 16.

    A 1254

    See above. The Erinyes must follow the rules for Animate Rope except for the 30' range limit. That includes the ranged touch attack requirement.

    A 1255 Ask your DM.

    There is no default time for ability checks, so this is up to each individual DM to adjudicate.
    Last edited by Curmudgeon; 2012-11-04 at 03:13 AM.

  29. - Top - End - #2549
    Pixie in the Playground
     
    GnomeWizardGuy

    Join Date
    Nov 2012

    frown Re: Simple Q&A D&D 3.5 (by RAW) XXI

    Q 1256

    If a ghost who has manifested attacks with a magic+1 ghost touch weapon, does it ignore an opponent's physical armor?


    For reference - I'm reading Monster Manual 3 pp 117-118: "A manifested ghost can pass through solid objects at will, and its own attacks pass through armor." and later "A weapon of +1 or beter magical enhancement, however, can harm material creatures when the ghost manifests, but any such attack has a 50% chance to fail unless the weapon is a ghost touch weapon."

    I'm hoping this is a simple yes and I'm just being stupid, but it seems contradictory to me for the ghost touch weapon to ignore armor (presumably by becoming incorporeal) and then injure the opponent (by becoming corporeal again?). My apologies if this has been asked before - new to the forum, searched around, and couldn't find an answer.
    Last edited by Velorian; 2012-11-03 at 10:00 PM. Reason: bolding the question number

  30. - Top - End - #2550
    Titan in the Playground
     
    Dusk Eclipse's Avatar

    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    In the ruins of San de So
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 3.5 (by RAW) XXI

    Q 1257 What is the CL for a Whisper Gnome's Spell-like abilities?
    Last edited by Dusk Eclipse; 2012-11-03 at 10:32 PM.
    Just call me Dusk
    Avatar by Ceika

    Iron Chef Trophy:
    Spoiler
    Show



Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •