Page 88 of 91 FirstFirst ... 38637879808182838485868788899091 LastLast
Results 2,611 to 2,640 of 2721
  1. - Top - End - #2611
    Halfling in the Playground
     
    DruidGirl

    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    London
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 3.5 (by RAW) XXI

    Quote Originally Posted by MrLemon View Post
    Please number your questions here.

    A 1286
    This is most likely a PF Feat (namely Furious Focus). It does not exist in 3.5. (Simple Proof: I've never seen it in TO, despite being hilariously broken without PF's Power Attack mechanics)
    Also: feel free to smack your friend for that
    Ah sorry, I did number it but when I pasted it into word to spell-check I forgot to copy the question number too. Thanks though, I thought it seemed a bit powerful for 3.5.

  2. - Top - End - #2612
    Titan in the Playground
     
    AssassinGuy

    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Sunnydale

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 3.5 (by RAW) XXI

    A 1285

    There is nothing of the sort in the RAW. Perhaps you're thinking of this unofficial guideline which Skip Williams added to the FAQ:
    When do “add-on” effects such as poison occur? For example, if an assassin delivers a death attack with a weapon bearing wyvern poison, does the poison take effect first, thus potentially reducing the target’s Fortitude save against the death attack?

    As a general guideline, whenever the rules don’t stipulate an order of operations for special effects (such as spells or special abilities), you should apply them in the order that’s most beneficial to the “controller” of the effect.

    In this case, the assassin is the “controller” of both the poison and the death attack, so he’d most likely choose for the poison to take effect first, and then the death attack.
    The player is not the "controller" of anything in your scenario. The DM is in control of the familiar and all other NPCs. (Frankly, it surprises me that the DM would have the familiar be a willing subject for Share Pain, given that it has only half the master's hit points and thus any attack which would kill the master would instead be guaranteed to kill the familiar.) However, this situation does not allow for any choice, even by the DM, because this is not an example of "simultaneous effects". The attack happens first, with all attendant considerations like saving throws and damage reduction; only after such considerations do we have the correct damage figure which can be halved for Share Pain. However, since the familiar is dead from the attack, there is no longer a Share Pain effect active to transfer any of the damage.

  3. - Top - End - #2613
    Orc in the Playground
     
    Qc Storm's Avatar

    Join Date
    Oct 2012

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 3.5 (by RAW) XXI

    Q 1287

    If a wizard turns a monk into a Hydra, can the Monkhydra deliver all its head attacks, followed by Hydra-fu of blows in a full attack?

  4. - Top - End - #2614
    Dwarf in the Playground
     
    BardGuy

    Join Date
    Jun 2012

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 3.5 (by RAW) XXI

    Q 1288
    Is it stated anywhere that a weapon can't be enchanted with the same property multiple times, such as a +1 double flaming longsword? I can't seem to find that particular rule.
    Last edited by Vaern; 2012-11-07 at 07:43 PM.

  5. - Top - End - #2615
    Titan in the Playground
     
    AssassinGuy

    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Sunnydale

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 3.5 (by RAW) XXI

    A 1287 No.
    If you get multiple attacks because your base attack bonus is high enough, you must make the attacks in order from highest bonus to lowest.
    You don't sequence attacks by type. Instead, all attacks must be in order of decreasing attack bonus.

    A 1288
    Stacking

    In most cases, modifiers to a given check or roll stack (combine for a cumulative effect) if they come from different sources and have different types (or no type at all), but do not stack if they have the same type or come from the same source (such as the same spell cast twice in succession). If the modifiers to a particular roll do not stack, only the best bonus and worst penalty applies.
    You can have flaming twice on the same longsword, but you would not get to add +2d6 fire damage; instead, because the bonus to damage is from the same source (flaming enhancement) you would roll 1d6 twice, compare the results, and add only the better of the two rolls.

  6. - Top - End - #2616
    Dwarf in the Playground
     
    BardGuy

    Join Date
    Jun 2012

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 3.5 (by RAW) XXI

    A 1288 Comment
    Hm. As odd as that sounds, it does make sense... in an odd way...

  7. - Top - End - #2617
    Orc in the Playground
     
    Qc Storm's Avatar

    Join Date
    Oct 2012

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 3.5 (by RAW) XXI

    Quote Originally Posted by Curmudgeon View Post
    A 1287 No. You don't sequence attacks by type. Instead, all attacks must be in order of decreasing attack bonus.
    But isn't it possible to add Natural Attacks after your iterative? Something like UAS/UAS/UAS/bite/bite/bite/bite/bite.


    Q 1289


    If a human uses Alter Self, does he lose his Bonus Feat/skills?

  8. - Top - End - #2618
    Titan in the Playground
     
    AssassinGuy

    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Sunnydale

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 3.5 (by RAW) XXI

    Quote Originally Posted by Qc Storm View Post
    But isn't it possible to add Natural Attacks after your iterative? Something like UAS/UAS/UAS/bite/bite/bite/bite/bite.
    No. If you have unarmed strikes at +12/+7/+2 and secondary natural attacks at +6/+6/+6/+6/+6, you would take your attacks in descending AB order:
    • unarmed strike @ +12
    • unarmed strike @ +7
    • bite @ +6
    • bite @ +6
    • bite @ +6
    • bite @ +6
    • bite @ +6
    • unarmed strike @ +2

    A 1289 Yes.

    Racial bonuses are qualities not derived from class levels, so you lose those when you lose the racial form which grants them.

  9. - Top - End - #2619
    Barbarian in the Playground
     
    Wonton's Avatar

    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Canada
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 3.5 (by RAW) XXI

    Q 1290

    Is the bonus damage from Warmage Edge doubled on a crit?
    Rules that supersede Rule 0:

    Rule -1: You're all there to have fun. The GM and the players should never do anything that would limit people's fun, for any in-game or real-life reason.

    Rule -0.5 (corollary): That means that if someone's fun is getting in the way of other people's fun, that person needs to change how they're playing.

  10. - Top - End - #2620
    Pixie in the Playground
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Dresden, Germany
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 3.5 (by RAW) XXI

    Q 1291

    As a Loremaster do i have to pay 100 GP to identify any item with my Greater Lore? Or do i have to own a 1500 GP worth focus to use my True Lore?
    Sur Domitryryl aeti Tenol!

  11. - Top - End - #2621
    Ogre in the Playground
     
    Man on Fire's Avatar

    Join Date
    Mar 2012

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 3.5 (by RAW) XXI

    Q 1292
    Can Indomitable Soul work on saves to break from Frenzied Berserker's Frenzy, or saves to avoid going into Frenzy when wounded?

  12. - Top - End - #2622
    Ogre in the Playground
     
    mattie_p's Avatar

    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    <<Undetected>>
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 3.5 (by RAW) XXI

    A 1291: No. Although the abilities reference spells, they are clearly Extraordinary abilities. Ex abilities are non-magical by definition, and would not consume a material component nor require a focus.
    Chairman of Zinc Saucier. Currently judging made from scratch Flayerspawn Psychics. It is just like Iron Chef but comes with double the prize money.
    Quote Originally Posted by Psyren View Post
    So now you're claiming that spellcasting "lacks a clear, supernatural element?" Being supernatural is literally the only point of magic.
    Spoiler
    Show
    Characters:
    Grath - Southern Comfort Campaign
    Prizes:
    Eglath - 2nd Place Iron Chef XXXII


    Avatar by Derjuin, sing her praises to Elysium. Adopt an Avatar today.

  13. - Top - End - #2623
    Banned
     
    willpell's Avatar

    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 3.5 (by RAW) XXI

    Q1293
    Since a creature with a Gaze Attack can use an "attack action" to inflict its gaze upon someone, and does not need to roll an attack to do so, a creature who gets an iterative attack due to a BAB of 6 can make one weapon attack at their full BAB, then "subtract" 5 BAB for their iterative attack but use that attack to Gaze someone, requiring no attack roll, correct?

    Q1294
    Other than "close enough to see you", is there any range limit to gaze attacks? If a medusa stands on the roof of City Hall, does pretty much everyone in town who's outside and looking in the right direction have to save vs. petrification, even if they're on the village outskirts and the medusa is just a speck in their sight? Or do they have to be close enough to distinguish her eyes, and if so about how far would you estimate that would extend, all factors being typical?

    Quote Originally Posted by Curmudgeon View Post
    No. If you have unarmed strikes at A 1289 Yes.

    Racial bonuses are qualities not derived from class levels, so you lose those when you lose the racial form which grants them.
    Note that implementing this rule would require you to distinguish which of a character's skill ranks (or Skill Tricks) were purchased using a human bonus skill point rather than class-related ones, and those specific skills would be the ones to disappear every time you stopped being human. Given what a hassle this would be using anything resembling the default character sheet, this is probably a good rule for even the most RAW-conservative of DMs to consider disregarding.
    Last edited by willpell; 2012-11-08 at 09:33 AM.

  14. - Top - End - #2624
    Troll in the Playground
    Join Date
    Mar 2012

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 3.5 (by RAW) XXI

    Can't remember how often I already asked that question, but here I go again:

    Q 1295

    Is the CON damage multiplied on a charge with a valorous wounding weapon?

    Apologies if the question has been answered and I only missed the answer.

  15. - Top - End - #2625
    Barbarian in the Playground
     
    OldWizardGuy

    Join Date
    Aug 2008

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 3.5 (by RAW) XXI

    Q1296 What playable races have 4 arms? and what book are they in?

  16. - Top - End - #2626
    Ogre in the Playground
     
    mattie_p's Avatar

    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    <<Undetected>>
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 3.5 (by RAW) XXI

    A 1296: A non-exhaustive list should include:

    * Diopsid - Dragon Magazine Compendium p 10

    * Thri-kreen - Expanded Psionics Handbook p14

    * Dvati - Dragon Magazine Compendium p 14 (a slightly unusual selection, in that each Dvati consists of two humanoid bodies, but you have 4 arms nonetheless.)

    * Insectile template (+2 LA) - Savage Species p 121 (gains 4 arms and other stuff)

    * Also see this thread here.
    Chairman of Zinc Saucier. Currently judging made from scratch Flayerspawn Psychics. It is just like Iron Chef but comes with double the prize money.
    Quote Originally Posted by Psyren View Post
    So now you're claiming that spellcasting "lacks a clear, supernatural element?" Being supernatural is literally the only point of magic.
    Spoiler
    Show
    Characters:
    Grath - Southern Comfort Campaign
    Prizes:
    Eglath - 2nd Place Iron Chef XXXII


    Avatar by Derjuin, sing her praises to Elysium. Adopt an Avatar today.

  17. - Top - End - #2627
    Barbarian in the Playground
     
    OldWizardGuy

    Join Date
    Aug 2008

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 3.5 (by RAW) XXI

    Q1297 Can Girallion's Blessing's(SPC 106) arms wield weapons?

  18. - Top - End - #2628
    Troll in the Playground
    Join Date
    Mar 2012

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 3.5 (by RAW) XXI

    A 1297

    Yes, just not at the same time as using the claws.

  19. - Top - End - #2629
    Titan in the Playground
     
    AssassinGuy

    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Sunnydale

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 3.5 (by RAW) XXI

    Re: A 1289
    Quote Originally Posted by willpell View Post
    Given what a hassle this would be using anything resembling the default character sheet, this is probably a good rule for even the most RAW-conservative of DMs to consider disregarding.
    You would be wrong there, both in that some DMs disregard the RAW (I never do), and that disregarding it is a good idea here. (If the player has not identifed their Human bonus feat and all their Human bonus skills then I choose for them, for maximum educational value. ) The FAQ author had this to say on the subject:
    For ease of play, some DMs ignore this side effect, but doing so represents a clear benefit granted to humans. Be aware that players of nonhuman characters can resent this “freebie.”
    A 1293 No.
    Gaze attacks not produced by a spell are supernatural.
    Using a supernatural ability is a standard action unless noted otherwise.
    A 1294
    Each character within range of a gaze attack must attempt a saving throw (which can be a Fortitude or Will save) each round at the beginning of his turn.
    If there is no other range specified for a gaze attack, then the character comes into range when they make a successful Spot check to see the eyes of the creature with the gaze attack. The DC to Spot a Large object in plain sight, within 10 feet, is 0. Most eyes would be Fine objects. Adjust for size and distance accordingly, and remember this Spot rule:
    Trying to spot something you failed to see previously is a move action.

  20. - Top - End - #2630
    Dwarf in the Playground
     
    Imp

    Join Date
    Jan 2011

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 3.5 (by RAW) XXI

    Okay, this is a bit embarrassing. I had playing MM races houseruled back when I learned the game. To get it clear:

    Q1298


    How does one play a monstrous race? You eat the LA as in 1 LA = 1 level. Sure. What does you do with the racial HD? 1HD=1lvl. ?
    Last edited by PetterTomBos; 2012-11-08 at 04:14 PM.

  21. - Top - End - #2631
    Ogre in the Playground
     
    mattie_p's Avatar

    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    <<Undetected>>
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 3.5 (by RAW) XXI

    A 1298: Yes, and yes.

    Sounds like you might need to read Urpriest's Monstrous Monster Handbook. I highly recommend it.
    Chairman of Zinc Saucier. Currently judging made from scratch Flayerspawn Psychics. It is just like Iron Chef but comes with double the prize money.
    Quote Originally Posted by Psyren View Post
    So now you're claiming that spellcasting "lacks a clear, supernatural element?" Being supernatural is literally the only point of magic.
    Spoiler
    Show
    Characters:
    Grath - Southern Comfort Campaign
    Prizes:
    Eglath - 2nd Place Iron Chef XXXII


    Avatar by Derjuin, sing her praises to Elysium. Adopt an Avatar today.

  22. - Top - End - #2632
    Dwarf in the Playground
     
    MindFlayer

    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 3.5 (by RAW) XXI

    Q1299
    So Close!
    What are the rules regarding HP and hardness of objects like armor?

  23. - Top - End - #2633
    Barbarian in the Playground
     
    Wonton's Avatar

    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Canada
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 3.5 (by RAW) XXI

    Quote Originally Posted by zzuxon View Post
    Q1299
    So Close!
    What are the rules regarding HP and hardness of objects like armor?
    A 1299

    From the SRD:

    HP = 5 * armor bonus
    Hardness is determined by material (10 for iron/steel, 2 for leather/hide)

    And because everyone seemed to skip over mine, I'll ask it again...

    Q 1290

    Is the bonus damage from Warmage Edge doubled on a crit?
    Last edited by Wonton; 2012-11-08 at 10:07 PM.
    Rules that supersede Rule 0:

    Rule -1: You're all there to have fun. The GM and the players should never do anything that would limit people's fun, for any in-game or real-life reason.

    Rule -0.5 (corollary): That means that if someone's fun is getting in the way of other people's fun, that person needs to change how they're playing.

  24. - Top - End - #2634
    Banned
     
    willpell's Avatar

    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 3.5 (by RAW) XXI

    Quote Originally Posted by Curmudgeon View Post
    A 1293 No.
    The text in the DMG section on gaze attacks does specifically say "an attack action".

  25. - Top - End - #2635
    Titan in the Playground
     
    AssassinGuy

    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Sunnydale

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 3.5 (by RAW) XXI

    Re: A 1293
    Quote Originally Posted by willpell View Post
    The text in the DMG section on gaze attacks does specifically say "an attack action".
    Yes, and there's one attack action which specifically fits the action requirement: the standard action attack (Player's Handbook, page 139).

    Don't confuse "an attack action" with "an attack". You may make one attack in a standard action attack, and possibly multiple attacks (depending on your BAB) in a full attack action. Both of these are attack actions, but only one fits the requirement for Supernatural abilities.

  26. - Top - End - #2636
    Barbarian in the Playground
    Join Date
    Jan 2012

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 3.5 (by RAW) XXI

    Q 1300

    It is known that martial monk from dragon magazine has the fighter bonus feat list added as possible feat choices while ignoring pre-reqs. By kinda RAW of epic level handbook / complete warrior. Would this include the epic fighter bonus feat list as well? Specificly, perfect two-weapon fighting.
    Last edited by animewatcha; 2012-11-09 at 03:49 AM.

  27. - Top - End - #2637
    Titan in the Playground
     
    AssassinGuy

    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Sunnydale

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 3.5 (by RAW) XXI

    Quote Originally Posted by animewatcha View Post
    It is known that martial monk from dragon magazine has the fighter bonus feat list added as possible feat choices while ignoring pre-reqs.
    A 1300

    That's actually known to be false, by the RAW.
    Bonus Feat: At 1st level, a monk may select either Improved Grapple or Stunning Fist as a bonus feat. At 2nd level, she may select either Combat Reflexes or Deflect Arrows as a bonus feat. At 6th level, she may select either Improved Disarm or Improved Trip as a bonus feat. A monk need not have any of the prerequisites normally required for these feats to select them.
    The waiver of feat prerequisites is limited to these six listed bonus feats. The Martial Monk does not add to the list of feats for which the prerequisites are waived.

  28. - Top - End - #2638
    Barbarian in the Playground
    Join Date
    Jan 2012

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 3.5 (by RAW) XXI

    QA 1300 cont.

    I have seen the 'later additions' to the monk bonus feat ( you are quoting player's handbook in which that was printed before this mess ) list like monastic training, etc. be added to the list with no specificness saying 'needing to meet pre-reqs' unless for such things as such Fiery fist to stunning fist.

    Martial monk follows that portion in that fighter bonus feat is gained to the list of choices. No mention of meeting the pre-reqs. Leaving one to rightfully assume ignoring as per ability.

    Q 1301

    Magic of incarnum. Page 148. Spine Rend. Assuming person has 2 main hand attacks and 2 off hand attacks. Usage appropriate spines for all of them. Main hand 1 + off hand 1 ( if both are successful ) trigger the ability. However, if Main hand 1 + off hand 1 are successful, can spine rend trigger off main hand 2 ( if successful hit ) + off hand 1? Please note that this rend special ability does not have the limit of once per round.
    Last edited by animewatcha; 2012-11-09 at 04:43 AM.

  29. - Top - End - #2639
    Titan in the Playground
     
    AssassinGuy

    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Sunnydale

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 3.5 (by RAW) XXI

    Quote Originally Posted by animewatcha View Post
    QA 1300 cont.

    Martial monk follows that portion in that fighter bonus feat is gained to the list of choices. No mention of meeting the pre-reqs. Leaving one to rightfully assume ignoring as per ability.
    You can't "rightfully assume" something which isn't actually written down; that's the whole premise of "Rules As Written". Unless there's new rules text adding all FBFs (Fighter Bonus Feats) to the list of six feats for which Monks need not meet prerequisites, the standard prerequisite rules remain in effect.

  30. - Top - End - #2640
    Barbarian in the Playground
    Join Date
    Jan 2012

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 3.5 (by RAW) XXI

    The only two specific cases ( that I can find ) that support you are Flensing and Whirling steel strike in the eberron campaign setting. Both the fluff section and the feat sections themselves making specific mention. Things like ki blase and water splitting stone getting parathensis in that other pre-reqs can be ignored except what was listed.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •