Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. - Top - End - #1
    Ogre in the Playground
     
    gooddragon1's Avatar

    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    In the playground

    Default Aptitude Weapon Question

    No, I do not want to abuse the ability horribly thank you.

    What I want to know is if I took weapon focus with multiple different weapons (say 3) would I get an extra +3 on attack rolls with an aptitude weapon by being able to apply all of them on it?
    Quote Originally Posted by Woland View Post
    Honestly, some lawyer somewhere is probably having an orgasm and he doesn't know why."
    No μ!

    Hi my name is ... and I'm an attention addict.

  2. - Top - End - #2
    Firbolg in the Playground
     
    Urpriest's Avatar

    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Kitchener/Waterloo
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Aptitude Weapon Question

    No. It's the same feat, even if you made different choices each time. The same feat won't stack with itself.
    Lord Raziere herd I like Blasphemy, so Urpriest Exalted as a Malefactor

    Meet My Monstrous Guide to Monsters. Everything you absolutely need to know about Monsters and never thought you needed to ask.
    Quote Originally Posted by Mithril Leaf View Post
    One of the unwritten rules of Giantitp is that Urpriest is always right.
    Trophy!
    Spoiler
    Show


    original Urpriest (by Andraste)

  3. - Top - End - #3
    Ogre in the Playground
     
    gooddragon1's Avatar

    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    In the playground

    Default Re: Aptitude Weapon Question

    Quote Originally Posted by Urpriest View Post
    No. It's the same feat, even if you made different choices each time. The same feat won't stack with itself.
    Effect: A wielder who has feats that affect the use of a particular type of weapon, such as Weapon Focus, Greater Weapon Focus, Weapon Specialization, or the like, can apply the benefits of those feats to any weapon that has the aptitude quality.
    Are you sure?
    Last edited by gooddragon1; 2012-05-25 at 05:13 PM.
    Quote Originally Posted by Woland View Post
    Honestly, some lawyer somewhere is probably having an orgasm and he doesn't know why."
    No μ!

    Hi my name is ... and I'm an attention addict.

  4. - Top - End - #4
    Orc in the Playground
     
    Elfinor's Avatar

    Join Date
    Apr 2010

    Default Re: Aptitude Weapon Question

    Even though it's an untyped bonus, the feat's text specifically states that it doesn't stack with itself.
    Quote Originally Posted by SRD
    Weapon Focus [General]

    Choose one type of weapon. You can also choose unarmed strike or grapple (or ray, if you are a spellcaster) as your weapon for purposes of this feat.

    Prerequisites
    Proficiency with selected weapon, base attack bonus +1.

    Benefit
    You gain a +1 bonus on all attack rolls you make using the selected weapon.

    Special
    You can gain this feat multiple times. Its effects do not stack. Each time you take the feat, it applies to a new type of weapon.

    A fighter may select Weapon Focus as one of his fighter bonus feats. He must have Weapon Focus with a weapon to gain the Weapon Specialization feat for that weapon.

    Awesome Avatar by TinyMushroom

  5. - Top - End - #5
    Banned
     
    ThiagoMartell's Avatar

    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Brazil
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Aptitude Weapon Question

    Let me tell you, this is probably the one abuse of Aptitude Weapon I'd allow, RAW be damned.

  6. - Top - End - #6
    Ettin in the Playground
     
    The Dark Fiddler's Avatar

    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    IUP
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Aptitude Weapon Question

    Quote Originally Posted by Elfinor View Post
    Even though it's an untyped bonus, the feat's text specifically states that it doesn't stack with itself.
    And even without this clause, it still wouldn't stack anyway. Bonuses from the same source, as a general rule, do not stack (like Urpriest said).
    Homebrew: The Guardian | Combat Pragmatist
    Animorphs-styled morphing rules for the Fate Core system!
    Coming Soon(?): WarMunchies, a candy-based wargame | Pokemon Four Suits

    The best answer is always to ask your DM.
    Unless you're the DM, in which case you should talk to your players.

  7. - Top - End - #7
    Bugbear in the Playground
     
    Mithril Leaf's Avatar

    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Aptitude Weapon Question

    One of the unwritten rules of Giantitp is that Urpriest is always right.

  8. - Top - End - #8
    Troll in the Playground
     
    Lateral's Avatar

    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Boston, The World
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Aptitude Weapon Question

    Quote Originally Posted by Mithril Leaf View Post
    One of the unwritten rules of Giantitp is that Urpriest is always right.
    ...That's gonna make it into his signature, isn't it.

  9. - Top - End - #9
    Titan in the Playground
     
    TuggyNE's Avatar

    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Recovering from RSI
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Aptitude Weapon Question

    Quote Originally Posted by Lateral View Post
    ...That's gonna make it into his signature, isn't it.
    Oh it had better!
    Quote Originally Posted by Water_Bear View Post
    That's RAW for you; 100% Rules-Legal, 110% silly.
    Quote Originally Posted by hamishspence View Post
    "Common sense" and "RAW" are not exactly on speaking terms
    Projects: Homebrew, Gentlemen's Agreement, DMPCs, Forbidden Knowledge safety, and Top Ten Worst. Also, Quotes and RACSD are good.

    Anyone knows blue is for sarcas'ing in "Take 10 SAN damage from Dark Orchid" Use of gray may indicate nitpicking Green is sincerity

  10. - Top - End - #10
    Firbolg in the Playground
     
    Urpriest's Avatar

    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Kitchener/Waterloo
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Aptitude Weapon Question

    Quote Originally Posted by Lateral View Post
    ...That's gonna make it into his signature, isn't it.
    Of course!
    Lord Raziere herd I like Blasphemy, so Urpriest Exalted as a Malefactor

    Meet My Monstrous Guide to Monsters. Everything you absolutely need to know about Monsters and never thought you needed to ask.
    Quote Originally Posted by Mithril Leaf View Post
    One of the unwritten rules of Giantitp is that Urpriest is always right.
    Trophy!
    Spoiler
    Show


    original Urpriest (by Andraste)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •