New OOTS products from CafePress
New OOTS t-shirts, ornaments, mugs, bags, and more
Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
  1. - Top - End - #1
    Dwarf in the Playground

OrcBarbarianGuy

Question Help Newbie Barbarian Bash Heads

So I'm new to pen and paper roleplaying games and am going to be joining a game of D&D 3.5. One of my friends directed me here for help getting started.

I've read through the different class pages and I want to hit things in the face, really hard, with a big weapon. I think this means I should be playing a barbarian. Can y'all give me some pointers on how to increase the amount of head choppin' I can do?

I have to be a non-evil alignment, I can use any book and Dragon Magazine, and we're starting at level 8. No race with LA +2 or more. I think that's if, if you want to know anything else just ask and I will try to find out.

2. - Top - End - #2
    Bugbear in the Playground

RedWizardGuy

Default Re: Help Newbie Barbarian Bash Heads

Spirit Lion Totem Barbarian to make full attacks on the charge. Pick up Power Attack, Leap Attack, Shock Trooper, and a Valorous Greatsword or Greataxe. Go to town with charges.

3. - Top - End - #3
    Dwarf in the Playground

You can find Eladriel's barbarian handbook here.

Long story short. The power attack feat is the bread and butter of the barbarian, it lets you swap out accuracy for damage. Most barbarians choose to take feats to enhance their charge, using the alternate class feature from complete champion to get pounce(you can get a full attack at the end of a charge) and a bunch of other fun feats. Chargers are common and very good at doing stupid amounts of damage.