Results 1 to 2 of 2
  1. - Top - End - #1
    Pixie in the Playground
    Join Date
    Nov 2011

    Default PF Rules question: monk summoner madness

    Hello dear rule masters, here's one hard question for you:

    My friend plays monk 3 /summoner [synthetist] 3

    -He's got claws which do 1d4 damage
    -He takes improved natural attacks to his claws so they do 1d6 damage
    -He has monks robe (so his effectual monk level is 8th)
    -He has feral combat training feat
    ===> how much damage does he do with his Monk Unarmed strikes?

    For illustration, let's imagine he would be only level 1 monk / level 1 summoner

    His claw does 1d6 damage; do we start looking the damage improvement from the large table then? I would imagine the monk damage replaces what you would actually do with your fists / natural attacks normally.

    Please include your calculations/explanations for the damage die
    Last edited by Nekrah; 2012-10-09 at 02:24 PM.

  2. - Top - End - #2
    Orc in the Playground
     
    RogueGuy

    Join Date
    Apr 2011

    Default Re: PF Rules question: monk summoner madness

    how much damage does he do with his Monk Unarmed strikes?
    1d10, per an 8th-level monk.

    He has a natural attack, and has improved it. However, that has no impact on his unarmed strike (and, notably, can't be used in combination with a flurry of blows). The text from Improved Natural Attack states:

    Choose one of the creature's natural attack forms (not an unarmed strike).
    He got Feral Combat Training. That allows him to:

    While using the selected natural weapon, you can apply the effects of feats that have Improved Unarmed Strike as a prerequisite, as well as effects that augment an unarmed strike.
    In other words, it can improve his natural weapon (by letting him, for example, Stunning Fist with a claw), but it does not in any way improve his unarmed strike.

    So, yeah, 1d10.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •