Results 1 to 13 of 13
  1. - Top - End - #1
    Pixie in the Playground
     
    ZatriX's Avatar

    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    South Africa
    Gender
    Male

    Default Openminded feat and levelup

    Hi all,

    We have come across an interestion topic with my group today fnd google wasn't able to help. Here goes:

    Say a character has levelled up and is eligible for the feat. He takes open-minded (5 immediate skillpoints). He wants to take a PrC, that requires, say, 5 ranks in knowledge(dungeoneering), which is currently not his class skill. Can he take that PrC and immediately invest those skillpoints into that skill to meet the prereqs? I know, it sounds kinda bent, so here's a more straight forward question:

    What (if any) is the exact order of what you do during levelup? E.g. Feat-Class-skills-spells-abilities, etc.? If it is mentioned somewhere in the books, please quote the page.

    Thanks!

  2. - Top - End - #2
    Barbarian in the Playground
     
    Flumph

    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Openminded feat and levelup

    IIRC, by RAW you need to qualify for your PrC before you start the leveling process. And also, IIRC you choose class first, then skills/feats. The rules for that is in the PHB, together with the multiclassing rules in the classes chapter.

    EDIT: What this means is that your example is not rules legal, but it's a fairly common house rule to allow it.
    Last edited by DeusMortuusEst; 2012-10-12 at 09:45 AM.
    Dumbledore is dead but had a horcrux so might still be alive to it being fake and him dead but not stopping her from using the having a horcrux on you letting you live from a killing curse.
    Quote Originally Posted by The Glyphstone View Post
    Epileptic monkeys. Boxing gloves. Typewriters. That is all.

  3. - Top - End - #3
    Ogre in the Playground
     
    danzibr's Avatar

    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    CoMo
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Openminded feat and levelup

    Quote Originally Posted by DeusMortuusEst View Post
    EDIT: What this means is that your example is not rules legal, but it's a fairly common house rule to allow it.
    Yeah, we (as in... whoever I play with) always rule you can qualify for a PrC as you enter, with the understanding that this gets you in 1 level early. I'm sure there are wild examples where you get some class feature that'd let you qualify several levels early, but we don't do that.

    Like Bear Warrior needs +7 BAB. Since it gives +1 BAB you can be like a Barb 6/Bear Warrior 1 rather than Barb 7/Bear Warrior 1. Or things with skill point requirements, etc.
    My one and only handbook: My Totemist Handbook
    My one and only homebrew: Book of Flux
    Spoiler
    Show
    A comment on tiers, by Prime32
    Quote Originally Posted by KillianHawkeye View Post
    As a DM, I deal with character death by cheering and giving a fist pump, or maybe a V-for-victory sign. I would also pat myself on the back, but I can't really reach around like that.
      /l、
    ゙(゚、 。 7
     l、゙ ~ヽ
     じしf_, )ノ

  4. - Top - End - #4
    Barbarian in the Playground
     
    SamuraiGuy

    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Openminded feat and levelup

    Quote Originally Posted by DeusMortuusEst View Post
    IIRC, by RAW you need to qualify for your PrC before you start the leveling process. And also, IIRC you choose class first, then skills/feats. The rules for that is in the PHB, together with the multiclassing rules in the classes chapter.

    EDIT: What this means is that your example is not rules legal, but it's a fairly common house rule to allow it.
    Actually, if I'm not mistaken, it is ruled somewhere (can't remember whether it was Sage Advice or the DMG) that you can use your feat (if you have on open) to qualify for a PrC as you level into it (since feats, bonus feats notwithstanding, come from character levels), but not your skill points (since those are actually gained from class levels).
    This creates a unique situation for the OP however: The feat gives him skill points, but cannot be used to let him qualify for the PrC. This is because, although the feat grants skill points, those skill points are spent at the same time as any other skill points the character would get form class levels. Basically speaking, the exception that proves the rule. (There would, indeed, be a rather interesting exception to this exception of the PrC in question actually required Open Minded as a prereq. There are, however, to my knowledge, no PrCs that do, so this is purely theoretical.
    Last edited by Twilightwyrm; 2012-10-12 at 10:33 AM.
    "If your heart is fearful throw away fear; if there is terror in it throw away terror. Take your axe in your hand and attack. He who leaves the fight unfinished is not at peace." -The Epic of Gilgamesh

  5. - Top - End - #5
    Barbarian in the Playground
     
    Flumph

    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Openminded feat and levelup

    Quote Originally Posted by Twilightwyrm View Post
    Actually, if I'm not mistaken, it is ruled somewhere (can't remember whether it was Sage Advice or the DMG) that you can use your feat (if you have on open) to qualify for a PrC as you level into it (since feats, bonus feats notwithstanding, come from character levels), but not your skill points (since those are actually gained from class levels).
    This creates a unique situation for the OP however: The feat gives him skill points, but cannot be used to let him qualify for the PrC. This is because, although the feat grants skill points, those skill points are spent at the same time as any other skill points the character would get form class levels. Basically speaking, the exception that proves the rule. (There would, indeed, be a rather interesting exception to this exception of the PrC in question actually required Open Minded as a prereq. There are, however, to my knowledge, no PrCs that do, so this is purely theoretical.
    Sage advice is really not rulings in any way at all. They're more like friendly suggestions from someone who probably didn't understood the game very well at all.

    I can't recall any such rule from the DMG, but I'll take a look when I get back home, it was a long time since I reviewed the level-up rules.

    EDIT: This is more of a question of in which order we apply things when leveling. If class comes before feat, then a feat gained at the same level can't be used to qualify for that class. As I said before, I think those rules are last in the 'Classes' chapter in the PHB.
    Last edited by DeusMortuusEst; 2012-10-12 at 10:57 AM.
    Dumbledore is dead but had a horcrux so might still be alive to it being fake and him dead but not stopping her from using the having a horcrux on you letting you live from a killing curse.
    Quote Originally Posted by The Glyphstone View Post
    Epileptic monkeys. Boxing gloves. Typewriters. That is all.

  6. - Top - End - #6
    Bugbear in the Playground
     
    NinjaGuy

    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    U.S.
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Openminded feat and levelup

    My understanding of the RAW answer (though someone like Crumudgeon may correct this), from page 58 of the PHB:

    1. Choose a Class
    2. Add BAB.
    3. Add Saves.
    4. Add Ability Scores.
    5. Add Hit Points.
    6. Add Skill Points.
    7. Add Feats.
    8. Add Spells.
    9. Add Class Features.

    That's the order things happen in the PHB, and it would prohibit what the OP plans.

    That said, at least the last step makes no sense whatsoever. (If you "choose class Rogue" in step 1, you cannot take any feat requiring sneak attack in step 7, because you don't technically have the sneak attack class feature until step 9???)

  7. - Top - End - #7
    Pixie in the Playground
     
    ZatriX's Avatar

    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    South Africa
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Openminded feat and levelup

    Quote Originally Posted by Twilightwyrm View Post
    Actually, if I'm not mistaken, it is ruled somewhere (can't remember whether it was Sage Advice or the DMG) that you can use your feat (if you have on open) to qualify for a PrC as you level into it (since feats, bonus feats notwithstanding, come from character levels), but not your skill points (since those are actually gained from class levels).
    Ok, so FEAT comes BEFORE Class. Which will (technically speaking) allow you to enter the class, that has that feat as a prereq, 1 lvl earlier.

    But if you take Openminded (which gives you immediate skillpoints) it will still apply to the previous-level class? E.g. if a barbarian wants to take a lvl of rogue, those 5 points will not count as class-skill for, say, open lock :)

    And yeah, I realise the PHB character creation rules, but it's creation, not levelup. What's first, chicken or egg?
    Last edited by ZatriX; 2012-10-12 at 12:37 PM.

  8. - Top - End - #8
    Barbarian in the Playground
     
    Flumph

    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Openminded feat and levelup

    Quote Originally Posted by ZatriX View Post
    And yeah, I realise the PHB character creation rules, but it's creation, not levelup. What's first, chicken or egg?
    No, it's the levelup rules we're talking about. Check the page Stegyre mentioned: 58 of the PHB. It's most likely the one that I was thinking of as well.

    Your idea most likely does not work. We'd heard about it if that was the case.

    EDIT: And no, the sage advice are not equal to rules.
    Last edited by DeusMortuusEst; 2012-10-12 at 12:59 PM.
    Dumbledore is dead but had a horcrux so might still be alive to it being fake and him dead but not stopping her from using the having a horcrux on you letting you live from a killing curse.
    Quote Originally Posted by The Glyphstone View Post
    Epileptic monkeys. Boxing gloves. Typewriters. That is all.

  9. - Top - End - #9
    Firbolg in the Playground
     
    nedz's Avatar

    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    London
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Openminded feat and levelup

    Quote Originally Posted by ZatriX View Post
    Ok, so FEAT comes BEFORE Class. Which will (technically speaking) allow you to enter the class, that has that feat as a prereq, 1 lvl earlier.

    But if you take Openminded (which gives you immediate skillpoints) it will still apply to the previous-level class? E.g. if a barbarian wants to take a lvl of rogue, those 5 points will not count as class-skill for, say, open lock :)

    And yeah, I realise the PHB character creation rules, but it's creation, not levelup. What's first, chicken or egg?
    No.
    You choose the class first, ..., then you choose the feat, ..., then you get the class features.
    π = 4
    Consider a 5' radius blast: this affects 4 squares which have a circumference of 40' Actually it's worse than that.


    Completely Dysfunctional Handbook

    Avatar by Caravaggio

  10. - Top - End - #10
    Bugbear in the Playground
     
    Cranthis's Avatar

    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Openminded feat and levelup

    Feats, as long as they are your character level feats, no bonus feats, can be done at any point in the levelling up process, before or after class choice atc, but anything that you get from a class, comes after you choose what class to take that level. This includes skills, hitdie, bonus feats, class abilities, etc etc. Once you have chosen the class, you can apply anything you get from it in any order. Say you want a feat that requires certain rank in a skill. You can take your class, put in your skills, and take the feat. Feats can go anywhere, and can even be delayed till the next level (if your dm allows it, which so far, most have)

  11. - Top - End - #11
    Barbarian in the Playground
     
    Flumph

    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Openminded feat and levelup

    Quote Originally Posted by Cranthis View Post
    Feats, as long as they are your character level feats, no bonus feats, can be done at any point in the levelling up process, before or after class choice atc, but anything that you get from a class, comes after you choose what class to take that level. This includes skills, hitdie, bonus feats, class abilities, etc etc. Once you have chosen the class, you can apply anything you get from it in any order. Say you want a feat that requires certain rank in a skill. You can take your class, put in your skills, and take the feat. Feats can go anywhere, and can even be delayed till the next level (if your dm allows it, which so far, most have)
    No, no, no. This is either house rules or guessing. It has already been stated, and now I can confirm it with the PHB in front of me, that the rules says that choosing what class to level up in is the first step in the leveling process. It's on page 58 of the PHB, under 'Level Advancement'.

    The trick suggested by the OP doesn't work unless a house rule is brought in and that's it. Unless of course, someone can point me to that suggested paragraph in the DMG Twilightwyrm spoke of. Sage advice is still not rules in any way.
    Dumbledore is dead but had a horcrux so might still be alive to it being fake and him dead but not stopping her from using the having a horcrux on you letting you live from a killing curse.
    Quote Originally Posted by The Glyphstone View Post
    Epileptic monkeys. Boxing gloves. Typewriters. That is all.

  12. - Top - End - #12
    Barbarian in the Playground
     
    Kobold

    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Torres Novas, PT
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Openminded feat and levelup

    Class comes before feats. The reason you get a feat is because you now have an HD value that is a multiple of 3. You don't get HD until you choose a class.
    Morituri nolumus morit - We who are about to die... don't want to

    "BUT, LORD, WHAT CAN THE HARVEST HOPE FOR, IF NOT FOR THE CARE OF THE REAPERMAN." - Death, "Reaperman"

  13. - Top - End - #13
    Firbolg in the Playground
     
    nedz's Avatar

    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    London
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Openminded feat and levelup

    It comes down to dependencies really. If you change the sequence then you can get early entry into some PrCs, or qualify for Feats earlier, etc. For some things though, e.g. HP, it doesn't matter since nothing depends upon this value.
    π = 4
    Consider a 5' radius blast: this affects 4 squares which have a circumference of 40' Actually it's worse than that.


    Completely Dysfunctional Handbook

    Avatar by Caravaggio

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •