Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. - Top - End - #1
    Halfling in the Playground
     
    DruidGirl

    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    London
    Gender
    Male

    Default Sharing non-class spells and companions

    Hi

    A question that has bugged me for a while.
    In the description of sharing spells (yoinked from d&d wiki as can't bring PHB to work) it states...
    "At the druidís option, she may have any spell (but not any spell-like ability) she casts upon herself also affect her animal companion"
    Now obviously it says "She Casts" which means I have to be phsyically the one that does it, so healing from a cleric will not propagate.
    My question however is what about the following...

    I cast a scroll I have made that is on my druid list
    I cast a scroll someone else made and is not on my druid list
    I buy a wondrous item that does a spell 3/day
    I drink a potion

    I'm hoping that if I buy a ring of reduce person than it will also propagate to the mount but I am not quite sure what "casts upon herself" defines as.

    Thanks in advanced

  2. - Top - End - #2
    Bugbear in the Playground
     
    molten_dragon's Avatar

    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    The State of Denial
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Sharing non-class spells and companions

    Quote Originally Posted by mishka_shaw View Post
    Hi

    A question that has bugged me for a while.
    In the description of sharing spells (yoinked from d&d wiki as can't bring PHB to work) it states...
    "At the druidís option, she may have any spell (but not any spell-like ability) she casts upon herself also affect her animal companion"
    Now obviously it says "She Casts" which means I have to be phsyically the one that does it, so healing from a cleric will not propagate.
    My question however is what about the following...

    I cast a scroll I have made that is on my druid list
    I cast a scroll someone else made and is not on my druid list
    I buy a wondrous item that does a spell 3/day
    I drink a potion

    I'm hoping that if I buy a ring of reduce person than it will also propagate to the mount but I am not quite sure what "casts upon herself" defines as.

    Thanks in advanced
    I wouldn't think so for the ring of reduce person, since it would most likely be command word rather than spell completion.

    If it was spell completion (i.e. a wand scroll or staff) then it might work, but as far as I know RAW isn't completely clear on the subject.
    If build a man a fire, he'll be warm for a day.

    If you set a man on fire, he'll be warm for the rest of his life.

    My Homebrew

  3. - Top - End - #3
    Banned
     
    ThiagoMartell's Avatar

    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Brazil
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Sharing non-class spells and companions

    Try using d20srd instead of D&D wiki. It's just better.

  4. - Top - End - #4
    Halfling in the Playground
     
    DruidGirl

    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    London
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Sharing non-class spells and companions

    I read a post that in the 3.5 rules compendium it states that no magic items count as "casting" but rather activating.
    So I guess its a no on all counts.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •