Results 1 to 3 of 3
  1. - Top - End - #1
    Bugbear in the Playground
     
    Cranthis's Avatar

    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Gender
    Male

    Default Do spell storing items recharge?

    You read the title.

    My friend thinks that his spell storing item recharges after a day, its the default RAW dmg spell storing.
    Admiral Cranthis, Inventor of the Cranthis (Sandwich) and the Gnomish Paratroopers, and rider of Chuckles, the dire pig.

    Awesome avatar by TinyMushroom!

  2. - Top - End - #2
    Ogre in the Playground
     
    SolithKnightGuy

    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Elsewhen
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Do spell storing items recharge?

    They recharge when you put a new spell into it.

    For a Spell Storing weapon, you cast a 3rd level or lower spell into the weapon. Then, you can hit someone with the weapon and activate the item so that the spell also occurs from it. The spell is now expended from the item and never returns. You can cast a spell into the item again immediately afterwards, but it does not have any form of "recharging" effect or any charges at all.

    The same is true for Rings of Spell Storing.

    There are no charges involved in any way whatsoever. Also, nothing happens to them over any period of time if you do not cast new spells into them.

  3. - Top - End - #3
    Dwarf in the Playground
     
    RedWizardGuy

    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Do spell storing items recharge?

    A spell storing weapon allows a spellcaster to store a single targeted spell of up to 3rd level in the weapon. (The spell must have a casting time of 1 standard action.) Anytime the weapon strikes a creature and the creature takes damage from it, the weapon can immediately cast the spell on that creature as a free action if the wielder desires. (This special ability is an exception to the general rule that casting a spell from an item takes at least as long as casting that spell normally.) Once the spell has been cast from the weapon, a spellcaster can cast any other targeted spell of up to 3rd level into it. The weapon magically imparts to the wielder the name of the spell currently stored within it. A randomly rolled spell storing weapon has a 50% chance to have a spell stored in it already.
    Bolding is my emphasis

    No, it doesn't fill up with the same spell again the next day, however, the slot is still available to use to cast any spell of third level or lower into the weapon whenever he pleases.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •