Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Do I qualify?

  1. - Top - End - #1
    Ogre in the Playground
     
    Amechra's Avatar

    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Where I live.

    Default Do I qualify?

    If I was a Lesser Tiefling, could I use the CL of my Darkness SLA to qualify for Item Creation feats?

  2. - Top - End - #2
    Ogre in the Playground
     
    Ashtagon's Avatar

    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Hillvale, Isle of dawn
    Gender
    Female

    Default Re: Do I qualify?

    Quote Originally Posted by Amechra View Post
    If I was a Lesser Tiefling, could I use the CL of my Darkness SLA to qualify for Item Creation feats?
    Personally, I wouldn't allow it. There's too many items that don't require a spell to be cast over the creation period. It opens the door to a tiefling fighter making, for example, +5 shields.

    Now, I can see an argument for epic blacksmiths and smithy-warriors making magic arms and armour, but that's a separate issue of brokenness, which isn't fixed by allowing tieflinsg specifically to do such things.
    Indigo is a much more appropriate colour for sarcasm, don't you think?
    Blue is strictly for emphasis.
    And grey is kind of like an aside to my main point.

    Avatar by The Succubus

  3. - Top - End - #3
    Barbarian in the Playground
     
    Ranting Fool's Avatar

    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Do I qualify?

    I would lean towards No for crafting with SLA as the feats want "caster levels " which it says are

    "caster level: A measure of the power with which a spellcaster
    casts a spell. Generally, a spellís caster level is the spellcasterís class
    level."
    That said I'm sure warlocks can craft stuff once they hit level 12 so errrr maybe.

    Sorry for being less then helpful.
    "People assume that time is a strict progression of cause to effect, but *actually* from a non-linear, non-subjective viewpoint - it's more like a big ball of wibbly wobbly... time-y wimey... stuff."

    The First Rule of Thesaurus Club is: You do not Talk, converse, chat, speak, gossip, chatter, natter, utter, discuss, confer, reason, deliberate, consult, parley, lecture, sermon about Thesaurus Club!

  4. - Top - End - #4
    Barbarian in the Playground
     
    peacenlove's Avatar

    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Chania, Greece
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Do I qualify?

    In fear of my analysis getting invalidated by more knowledgeable people I will err on the side that you qualify.

    From Here

    To create magic items, spellcasters use special feats. They invest time, money, and their own personal energy (in the form of experience points) in an itemís creation.

    Note that all items have prerequisites in their descriptions. These prerequisites must be met for the item to be created. Most of the time, they take the form of spells that must be known by the itemís creator (although access through another magic item or spellcaster is allowed).
    From Here

    A spell-like ability takes the same amount of time to complete as the spell that it mimics (usually 1 standard action) unless otherwise stated. Spell-like abilities cannot be used to counterspell, nor can they be counterspelled. In all other ways, a spell-like ability functions just like a spell:
    So if a magic item specifically needs darkness you are covered.

    Here we have

    Craft Magic Arms And Armor [Item Creation]
    Prerequisite

    Caster level 5th.
    Note that it doesn't specify arcane or divine caster level so your darkness caster level is ok.
    A comparison would be shadowcasters, who don't have an arcane or divine caster level, however they can qualify for Item creation feats.

    Complete Shadow Magic! for Pathfinder Rules. (Google Docs PDF)
    Newest: Shadowcaster Archetypes
    WIP:Wordcasting Shadowcaster:

    Awesome Avatar by Serpentine! Thanks a lot!
    I am willing and able to critique homebrew material. PM me a link if you want a critique. If this applies to you too, put this in your sig.
    Previous games: Life in Hell
    as Moira

  5. - Top - End - #5
    Ettin in the Playground
     
    nedz's Avatar

    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    London
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Do I qualify?

    Quote Originally Posted by peacenlove View Post
    So if a magic item specifically needs darkness you are covered.
    this basically.
    E.g. With Craft Wand you could make a Wand of Darkness.

    Though IIRC there are rules about casters co-operating to make stuff, so your feat might not be a total waste.
    p = 4
    Consider a 5' radius blast: this affects 4 squares which have a circumference of 40' ó Actually it's worse than that.


    Completely Dysfunctional Handbook

    Avatar by Caravaggio

  6. - Top - End - #6
    Ogre in the Playground
     
    Amechra's Avatar

    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Where I live.

    Default Re: Do I qualify?

    Alright, I know I couldn't make anything without help; that's not the point.

    I'm trying to grab some prereqs without being a caster, so...

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •