Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. - Top - End - #1
    Barbarian in the Playground
     
    Scarey Nerd's Avatar

    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    England
    Gender
    Male

    Default ECL of a Pseudodragon? [3.5e]

    Just a quick question, out of interest: If a player were to play a Pseudodragon, which I assume is possible as they have an LA, do the two d12 HD count towards their ECL, meaning a level 1 of whatever class would give it an ECL of 6? Or are those two HD placeholders, since the base creature has no class in the MM?
    All credit to araveugnitsuga for the brilliant Malkavian avatar!

    Past avatars:

    Spoiler
    Show
    Credit to A Rainy Knight! Credit to Bradakhan! Credit to araveugnitsuga!

  2. - Top - End - #2
    Titan in the Playground
     
    TuggyNE's Avatar

    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Recovering from RSI
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: ECL of a Pseudodragon? [3.5e]

    Quote Originally Posted by Scarey Nerd View Post
    Just a quick question, out of interest: If a player were to play a Pseudodragon, which I assume is possible as they have an LA, do the two d12 HD count towards their ECL, meaning a level 1 of whatever class would give it an ECL of 6? Or are those two HD placeholders, since the base creature has no class in the MM?
    Those are its racial hit dice, which always count toward ECL and cannot be bought off like LA.
    Quote Originally Posted by Water_Bear View Post
    That's RAW for you; 100% Rules-Legal, 110% silly.
    Quote Originally Posted by hamishspence View Post
    "Common sense" and "RAW" are not exactly on speaking terms
    Projects: Homebrew, Gentlemen's Agreement, DMPCs, Forbidden Knowledge safety, and Top Ten Worst. Also, Quotes and RACSD are good.

    Anyone knows blue is for sarcas'ing in "Take 10 SAN damage from Dark Orchid" Use of gray may indicate nitpicking Green is sincerity

  3. - Top - End - #3
    Barbarian in the Playground
     
    Scarey Nerd's Avatar

    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    England
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: ECL of a Pseudodragon? [3.5e]

    Quote Originally Posted by tuggyne View Post
    Those are its racial hit dice, which always count toward ECL and cannot be bought off like LA.
    OK, so if a player wanted to be one, they'd have to be in a level 6 party minimum. Fair enough, cheers
    All credit to araveugnitsuga for the brilliant Malkavian avatar!

    Past avatars:

    Spoiler
    Show
    Credit to A Rainy Knight! Credit to Bradakhan! Credit to araveugnitsuga!

  4. - Top - End - #4
    Titan in the Playground
     
    Dusk Eclipse's Avatar

    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    In the ruins of San de So
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: ECL of a Pseudodragon? [3.5e]

    If you are planning on playing (or DM for a monstrous character) you should read Urpriest's Monstrous Monster Handbook ASAP.
    Just call me Dusk
    Avatar by Ceika

    Iron Chef Trophy:
    Spoiler
    Show



Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •