1. - Top - End - #1
    Pixie in the Playground

PaladinGuy

Default Human with Drow Stats?

I'm drawing up a character sheet for a Hunter (ranger with a bow, I'm using the Essentials guides,) and found that the player race most suited to that class and its playstyle is the dow. Playing a dark skinned elf I have no problem with, but since I started playing D&D not so long ago, I have heard SO much about a notorious Chaotic Good drow ranger named Drizzt. It even has a name: Drizzt Syndrome. You know what I'm talking about.

So my character is a Chaotic Good drow ranger. This must not happen.

I came up with the idea that my character is pretty much human, but has drow ancestry and was at least in part raised and trained by drow, so he has all their capabilities, and so starts with drow racial stats. Now, I'm not trying to munchkin some sort of overpowered human/drow hybrid that violates the rules or anything like that, I just want to play with drow racial stats without having to roleplay as a drow, or be accused of copying Drizzt.

Can you guys think of any real reason why I can't do this? Obviously, it's not in accordance with the rules, but it doesn't mess with character balance or anything.
    I realized immediately after logging in for the first time that I should have called my account 'Dire Lemming.' Oh well.

2. - Top - End - #2
    Ogre in the Playground

Default Re: Human with Drow Stats?

Y'know, I vaguely recall a rule about half-blood characters -- mechanically you just choose one race and be all that race, but fluff wise you can be a halfblood (like a half dwarf half gnome could just be a gnome or just be a dwarf).

So, you'd be a half drow elf half human, raised in human society, with drow stats.

I... think its in the PHB for 4e, but you'll have to check,
    Thanks Gigi Digi for the avatar.

3. - Top - End - #3
    Barbarian in the Playground