Page 2 of 121 FirstFirst 1234567891011122752102 ... LastLast
Results 31 to 60 of 3609
  1. - Top - End - #31
    Bugbear in the Playground
     
    docnessuno's Avatar

    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Nowhere around
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 3.5 (by RAW) XXII

    A 14

    The handle animal description doesn't mention in any way verbal communication as a requirement to impart orders. RAW you can use tricks while wildshaped.



    A 15

    Yes, in your example the SRd clearly states Light: 50 or less

  2. - Top - End - #32
    Ogre in the Playground
     
    mattie_p's Avatar

    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    <<Undetected>>
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 3.5 (by RAW) XXII

    Quote Originally Posted by qwertyu63 View Post
    Q16:

    Are there listed prices for buying animals anywhere?
    A16 (Partial) Yes.

    The SRD has a link under Goods and Services, Mounts and Related Gear.

    Other animals may have listed prices in their entry in the various monster manuals or books where they were introduced. For example the Battletitan Dinosaur (MM3, p38) has a cost of "often more than 100,000 gp." Eberron Campaign Setting has prices for various animals on page 121. If no price is listed, it is up to the individual DM to set a price, and even if the creature is available for purchase at all.
    Chairman of Zinc Saucier. Currently judging made from scratch Flayerspawn Psychics. It is just like Iron Chef but comes with double the prize money.
    Quote Originally Posted by Psyren View Post
    So now you're claiming that spellcasting "lacks a clear, supernatural element?" Being supernatural is literally the only point of magic.
    Spoiler
    Show
    Characters:
    Grath - Southern Comfort Campaign
    Prizes:
    Eglath - 2nd Place Iron Chef XXXII


    Avatar by Derjuin, sing her praises to Elysium. Adopt an Avatar today.

  3. - Top - End - #33
    Dwarf in the Playground
     
    BardGuy

    Join Date
    Jun 2012

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 3.5 (by RAW) XXII

    Q 17
    How would a weapon with both the Merciful and the Vicious enchantments work? Since they both grant an untyped damage bonus, would they stack? Or would they be treated as multiple instances of the same bonus type, where only the higher of the two rolls would be added to the weapon's damage?

    Q 18
    The Merciful enchantment says that all damage dealt by the weapon is nonlethal. Would this apply to damage dealt by other enchantments on the weapon, such as Flaming, Frost, Shock, and Vicious?

    Q 18B
    If yes, if an enchantment that deals energy damage such as a Flaming enchantment becomes nonlethal, does it retain its energy type for the purpose of energy resistance/immunities?

    Q 18C
    Would the 1d6 damage that a Vicous weapon deals to is wielder become nonlethal if the Merciful enchantment is added?

    (Whoops, my bad with the mis-numbering. Derp.)
    Last edited by Vaern; 2012-11-15 at 05:21 PM.

  4. - Top - End - #34
    Ogre in the Playground
     
    mattie_p's Avatar

    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    <<Undetected>>
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 3.5 (by RAW) XXII

    Q 16 17: They stack.

    Per the SRD, regarding stacking:
    In most cases, modifiers to a given check or roll stack (combine for a cumulative effect) if they come from different sources and have different types (or no type at all), but do not stack if they have the same type or come from the same source (such as the same spell cast twice in succession).
    Not only are vicious and merciful untyped (and additionally come from different sources), they are not modifiers to a roll. They each offer additional dice as bonus damage.

    Q 17 18: All damage is non-lethal.

    Merciful states that "The weapon deals an extra 1d6 points of damage, and all damage it deals is nonlethal damage." This is not overwritten by the vicious special ability, or any other mentioned special ability.

    Q 18B: Yes, it retains its type, even though it is non-lethal damage, as the merciful special ability does nothing to change type of damage (note that it does not affect bludgeoning/piercing/slashing either for DR purposes).

    Q 18C: Yes, Vicious damage to the wielder is non-lethal as well, as the vicious special ability does not overwrite merciful's ability that all damage is nonlethal.
    Last edited by mattie_p; 2012-11-15 at 04:46 PM.
    Chairman of Zinc Saucier. Currently judging made from scratch Flayerspawn Psychics. It is just like Iron Chef but comes with double the prize money.
    Quote Originally Posted by Psyren View Post
    So now you're claiming that spellcasting "lacks a clear, supernatural element?" Being supernatural is literally the only point of magic.
    Spoiler
    Show
    Characters:
    Grath - Southern Comfort Campaign
    Prizes:
    Eglath - 2nd Place Iron Chef XXXII


    Avatar by Derjuin, sing her praises to Elysium. Adopt an Avatar today.

  5. - Top - End - #35
    Orc in the Playground
     
    Rhaegar14's Avatar

    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Colorado
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 3.5 (by RAW) XXII

    Q 19

    Can a Bard that uses an instrument effectively use a two-handed instrument and a one-handed weapon at the same time? The logical answer is no, but I'm wondering if there's a ruling somewhere that threw them a bone.
    78% of DM's started their first campaign in a tavern. If you're one of the 22% that didn't, copy and paste this into your signature.

    My players met in a mountain pass on their way to a celebratory feast, that was then ambushed by a draconic army. Good times.

    Awesome Talon avatar by Ceika.

  6. - Top - End - #36
    Dwarf in the Playground
     
    Joe Eskimo's Avatar

    Join Date
    Dec 2011

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 3.5 (by RAW) XXII

    Q 20

    Using the spellbook rules found in Complete Arcane, could I make a custom spellbook with more than 100 pages per book? Say a book with 200-500 pages?
    Now you're being rude, and I hate rude people.
    -Hannibal Lecter

    Awesome Young Belkar Avatar by Vaynor

  7. - Top - End - #37
    Dwarf in the Playground
     
    Joe Eskimo's Avatar

    Join Date
    Dec 2011

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 3.5 (by RAW) XXII

    Q 21

    Concerning Blue Ice from Frostburn, it says that any slashing weapon made from blue ice has a +1 enhancement bonus to damage. Adding the masterwork property to it grants it a +1 enhancement bonus on attack rolls. So is a Masterwork Blue Ice Longsword effectively a +1 Longsword since it has a +1 enhancement bonus to both attack and damage despite not being magical?
    Now you're being rude, and I hate rude people.
    -Hannibal Lecter

    Awesome Young Belkar Avatar by Vaynor

  8. - Top - End - #38
    Banned
     
    willpell's Avatar

    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 3.5 (by RAW) XXII

    A21
    If by "is effectively a" you mean "counts as a" for purposes of enhanceability, damage reduction, etc. ...then no. It might function identically, but it doesn't have the "this sword is a magic sword" tag which enables it to do all the things which a +1 sword can do.

    Q22
    Is there a playable (ie not "LA: --") race of Construct, Ooze or Magical Beast with one or more HD? I'd prefer the LA to be as low as possible, and the HD to be low-ish (somewhere from 3 to 7 or so).
    EDIT: Okay, the Aranea is one example. I'd like to know if there are others.
    EDIT2: Forgot to specify, it has to be Large or larger.
    Last edited by willpell; 2012-11-17 at 02:45 AM.

  9. - Top - End - #39
    Dwarf in the Playground
     
    Goblin

    Join Date
    Jan 2009

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 3.5 (by RAW) XXII

    We were hunting for wererats yesterday, and these came up...

    Q23 Can you identify a Lycanthrope in human form with Knowledge (local)?

    Q24 Can the Heal skill be used to see if someone is infected with lycanthropy?

  10. - Top - End - #40
    Titan in the Playground
     
    AssassinGuy

    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Sunnydale

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 3.5 (by RAW) XXII

    A 23
    Becoming a lycanthrope is very much like multiclassing as an animal and gaining the appropriate Hit Dice.
    You can only identify the Humanoid aspects of the creature with Knowlege (local). One of those aspects is that the creature has the shapechanger subtype. If you exceed the minimum DC required for success on the check by enough multiples of 5, you may discover that.

    A 24 No.

    The Heal skill may be used to treat the effects of diseases, but AFAIK cannot be used to identify specific diseases affecting a creature.

  11. - Top - End - #41
    Ogre in the Playground
    Join Date
    Mar 2012

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 3.5 (by RAW) XXII

    Q 25

    Is the Knowledge DC for identifying a creature that advances with class levels fix or does it increase with class levels.

    Q 26

    What is the appropriate knowledge skill to identify a humanoid with the dark template?

    Q 27

    Is there a functional difference between monster and creature?

  12. - Top - End - #42
    Halfling in the Playground
     
    DruidGirl

    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    London
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 3.5 (by RAW) XXII

    A25: Yes it increases as each class levels gives you an extra HD based upon that class [which counts as one more HD for the check]

    A26: None technically. Dark gives you the extraplanar subtype which is not knowledgable as per PHB so you have to go by their race-type. So Dark Goblin would come under humanoids [Nature]. Although a nice DM might allow you knowledge planes for extraplanar.

    A27: A creature counts as anything that is not an object (animated objects are creatures) however a monster has no clarification so that is upto the DM. However going by hold monster rulings you could argue that it's anything living..
    To put it simply, if it has the ability to roll initiative than it is a creature.
    Monster is a bit more flakey though.

    Edit: Monster could very well count as everything in the game since the knowledge skill says that you roll against the "monsters HD" and since nearly every creature type is knowledgeable than surely every creature therefore is a monster.
    Last edited by mishka_shaw; 2012-11-16 at 09:06 AM.

  13. - Top - End - #43
    Ogre in the Playground
     
    Man on Fire's Avatar

    Join Date
    Mar 2012

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 3.5 (by RAW) XXII

    Q28

    Lets say that Shadowdancer, Wizard and Frenzied Berserker runs into opponents. FB goes into Frenzy, Shadowdancer uses his abilities to hide in the shadows and Wizard casts invisibility on himself. Once all opponents are dead neither Wizard or Shadowdancer come out. There is literally nobody around Frenzied Berserker that he can see. Does the Frenzy automatically ends or do they have to wait until it ends normally?

  14. - Top - End - #44
    Titan in the Playground
     
    AssassinGuy

    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Sunnydale

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 3.5 (by RAW) XXII

    A 28
    Should she run out of enemies before her frenzy expires, her rampage continues.
    The frenzy continues until it expires, or the player makes a successful roll to end it.
    To end the frenzy before its duration expires, the character may attempt a DC 20 Will save once per round as a free action.

  15. - Top - End - #45
    Ogre in the Playground
     
    killem2's Avatar

    Join Date
    Nov 2011

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 3.5 (by RAW) XXII

    Q 29: How much strength bonus does a dire boar get to their first natural attack with a strength score of 33?

  16. - Top - End - #46
    Ogre in the Playground
    Join Date
    Mar 2012

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 3.5 (by RAW) XXII

    A 29

    Since the Dire Boar only has one natural attack, it gets 1.5 times its STR Bonus rounded down. In case of STR 33 that is 11*1.5=16.5 rounded down 16.

  17. - Top - End - #47
    Dwarf in the Playground
     
    Dark Kerman's Avatar

    Join Date
    Nov 2010

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 3.5 (by RAW) XXII

    Q30

    How much gold does a Dread Necromancer start with?

  18. - Top - End - #48
    Ogre in the Playground
     
    mattie_p's Avatar

    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    <<Undetected>>
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 3.5 (by RAW) XXII

    A 30: Ask your DM

    In the absence of written guidance in the class description and no errata, the DM must decide starting gold. If you are the DM, I recommend you check other base classes to see what class is "most" similar, then use that. A quick google search indicated sorcerer and bard are popular options.
    Last edited by mattie_p; 2012-11-16 at 08:48 PM.
    Chairman of Zinc Saucier. Currently judging made from scratch Flayerspawn Psychics. It is just like Iron Chef but comes with double the prize money.
    Quote Originally Posted by Psyren View Post
    So now you're claiming that spellcasting "lacks a clear, supernatural element?" Being supernatural is literally the only point of magic.
    Spoiler
    Show
    Characters:
    Grath - Southern Comfort Campaign
    Prizes:
    Eglath - 2nd Place Iron Chef XXXII


    Avatar by Derjuin, sing her praises to Elysium. Adopt an Avatar today.

  19. - Top - End - #49
    Dwarf in the Playground
     
    EvilClericGuy

    Join Date
    May 2012

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 3.5 (by RAW) XXII

    Q 31

    Can miser with magic feat (KKPG) be applied by an artificer to a wand?

  20. - Top - End - #50
    Ogre in the Playground
     
    killem2's Avatar

    Join Date
    Nov 2011

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 3.5 (by RAW) XXII

    Q 32: If a Wizard uses Summon Undead I - V, and a friendly cleric turns undead, what happens?

  21. - Top - End - #51
    Ogre in the Playground
    Join Date
    Mar 2012

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 3.5 (by RAW) XXII

    A 32

    Turn Undead has no friend or foe recognition, so the same thing happens to them as to hostile undead.

  22. - Top - End - #52
    Dwarf in the Playground
     
    Imp

    Join Date
    Jan 2011

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 3.5 (by RAW) XXII

    Q-33

    If I have a negative dex-score: does it still add (negatively) to AC?

  23. - Top - End - #53
    Ogre in the Playground
    Join Date
    Mar 2012

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 3.5 (by RAW) XXII

    A 33

    Yes, and you do not lose that penalty, when you lose your DEX bonus to AC.

  24. - Top - End - #54
    Dwarf in the Playground
     
    Goblin

    Join Date
    Jan 2009

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 3.5 (by RAW) XXII

    Quote Originally Posted by Curmudgeon View Post
    A 24 No.

    The Heal skill may be used to treat the effects of diseases, but AFAIK cannot be used to identify specific diseases affecting a creature.
    That's...unexpected. Well, if specific diseases cannot be identified, that makes me wonder...

    Q34 Can the Heal skill be used to see if someone is sick, as in, suffering from a disease?

  25. - Top - End - #55
    Titan in the Playground
     
    AssassinGuy

    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Sunnydale

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 3.5 (by RAW) XXII

    Re: Q 31

    Kenzer & Company's license with Wizards of the Coast expired in August of 2007, so Kingdoms of Kalamar is an unsupported third party setting and thus your question lies outside the scope of this thread.

  26. - Top - End - #56
    Pixie in the Playground
     
    PirateCaptain

    Join Date
    Aug 2011

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 3.5 (by RAW) XXII

    Q35

    If a cleric loses his holy symbol, can he still cast spells? The item description under Equipment says "focus for his spells" but none of the spells list it as a focus requirement.
    Thando lives!

  27. - Top - End - #57
    Ogre in the Playground
     
    mattie_p's Avatar

    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    <<Undetected>>
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 3.5 (by RAW) XXII

    A35: Yes, as long as the cleric does not cast a spell that requires a Divine Focus.

    If the spell requires a divine focus, such as the bless spell, he cannot cast it without the required holy symbol.
    Last edited by mattie_p; 2012-11-17 at 04:43 PM.
    Chairman of Zinc Saucier. Currently judging made from scratch Flayerspawn Psychics. It is just like Iron Chef but comes with double the prize money.
    Quote Originally Posted by Psyren View Post
    So now you're claiming that spellcasting "lacks a clear, supernatural element?" Being supernatural is literally the only point of magic.
    Spoiler
    Show
    Characters:
    Grath - Southern Comfort Campaign
    Prizes:
    Eglath - 2nd Place Iron Chef XXXII


    Avatar by Derjuin, sing her praises to Elysium. Adopt an Avatar today.

  28. - Top - End - #58
    Dwarf in the Playground
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Norway
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 3.5 (by RAW) XXII

    Q36

    Can you enchant a weapon with stat bonuses?

    Say i want a quarterstaff that gives me +2 to inteligence, is that legal.

    Wondrous items that don’t match the affinity for a particular body slot should cost 50% more than wondrous items that match the affinity.

    So is it legal?
    No spoilers in this signature.

  29. - Top - End - #59
    Banned
     
    willpell's Avatar

    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 3.5 (by RAW) XXII

    Quote Originally Posted by Sewercop View Post
    Q36

    Can you enchant a weapon with stat bonuses?

    Say i want a quarterstaff that gives me +2 to inteligence, is that legal.

    Wondrous items that don’t match the affinity for a particular body slot should cost 50% more than wondrous items that match the affinity.

    So is it legal?
    Not sure on the official answer there, but fyi, a magic weapon isn't a "wondrous item". As far as I know, stat-boosting items MUST occupy a body slot, even if it's not the traditional one. An item held in your hands can't accomplish this, as best I can tell.

  30. - Top - End - #60
    Ogre in the Playground
    Join Date
    Mar 2012

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 3.5 (by RAW) XXII

    Q 37

    Could a wizard use minor creation or fabricate or a similar spell to create a holy symbol?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •