Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. - Top - End - #1
    Dwarf in the Playground
    Join Date
    Jun 2008

    Default Total Concealment = Invisibility (?)

    I was thinking about an encounter with a medusa rogue, and was wondering the following:
    One can shut one's eyes in an effort to avoid having to save against the medusa's petrifying gaze- but does the total concealment that the medusa then gains act like invisibility would? Does it deny the medusa's target the dexterity bonus to AC and allow for the sneak attack dice to be rolled? I think it does, but the total concealment entry on the SRD doesn't specifically mention it.

    In case the first questions too easy what about this: will shadows on the plane of shadow effectively always be invisible- I think their entry says they get total concealment in absolute darkness. What does that mean for adventurers on that plane or for shadow society?
    Last edited by vartan; 2012-11-16 at 10:46 PM.
    Long time reader and lurker turned poster

  2. - Top - End - #2
    Ogre in the Playground
     
    SolithKnightGuy

    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Elsewhen
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Total Concealment = Invisibility (?)

    If a person has their eyes shut, they count as being blind. You then follow the rules for blindness.

    Quote Originally Posted by SRD Blindness
    The character cannot see. He takes a -2 penalty to Armor Class, loses his Dexterity bonus to AC (if any), moves at half speed, and takes a -4 penalty on Search checks and on most Strength- and Dexterity-based skill checks. All checks and activities that rely on vision (such as reading and Spot checks) automatically fail. All opponents are considered to have total concealment (50% miss chance) to the blinded character. Characters who remain blinded for a long time grow accustomed to these drawbacks and can overcome some of them.

  3. - Top - End - #3
    Bugbear in the Playground
     
    dascarletm's Avatar

    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    San Diego
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Total Concealment = Invisibility (?)

    There is also that averting your eyes thing that you can do. I read it in the Rules Compendium, but forgot how it works. Your players may do that and keep their dex bonus. (Correct me if I'm wrong).
    Dascarletm, Spinner of Rudiplorked Tales
    Quote Originally Posted by killem2 View Post
    dascarletm, you are so hot it is crazy.

  4. - Top - End - #4
    Colossus in the Playground
     
    Psyren's Avatar

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Total Concealment = Invisibility (?)

    Quote Originally Posted by dascarletm View Post
    There is also that averting your eyes thing that you can do. I read it in the Rules Compendium, but forgot how it works. Your players may do that and keep their dex bonus. (Correct me if I'm wrong).
    Averting your eyes has two effects:
    - the thing you're trying not to look at gains concealment (20% miss chance) relative to you.
    - You have a 50% chance of not having to make a saving throw vs. the gaze gaze attack of that creature.
    Alphonse Elric by Fay Graydon
    Extended Sig (Handbooks/Creations)
    Quote Originally Posted by The Giant View Post
    First, please don't start threads with ideas you don't support just to see what reactions you get. That's almost the definition of trolling.

    Second, the whole "blue text" thing is not a forum rule or even a recommended procedure. If someone wants to do it in their own posts, fine, but everyone should stop telling people that they "need to" or "should have" posted in blue just because they're being sarcastic/ironic/whatever.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •