New OOTS products from CafePress
New OOTS t-shirts, ornaments, mugs, bags, and more
  1. - Top - End - #1
    Barbarian in the Playground

Default Choosing my college minor

I'm currently a community college student working towards transfer to a university. I want to go to San Francisco State's Urban Studies and Planning program (with Urban Geography as a double major if I can swing it), but it that doesn't happen I'll probably end up a Geography major. Either way I plan to go to graduate school for Urban Planning.

Most of my major is upper division coursework, so after factoring all my GE requirements and recommended but not required coursework for my major I still have to take more credits before I have enough to transfer (undergraduate transfers are not allowed in my circumstances). So, now is the perfect time to start working on a minor. I have several I'm considering at SF State:

Anthropology: The subject in general is fun, especially Archaeology. It's also somewhat useful in Urban Studies. Biological Anthropology is what I took for my life science GE, and I always came out talking about something interesting I'd seen.

Art History: Another very fun subject (I'm taking Asian Art History to fill a GE requirement right now, and I'm loving it), plus something very useful when looking at cities from a point of view of their character (and who tours San Francisco for the gridded street system over it's artistic merits?). You also get to learn about architecture.

California Studies: For a native I know surprisingly little about homeland.

Earth Sciences: Geology is pretty fun and I'd like to learn more, and it's another useful subject.

European Studies: I like Europe, and they have some great cities to study, too.

Pacific Asian Studies: Chinese and Japanese culture are interesting, China is one of the fastest urbanizing countries, and Japan and Hong Kong have a lot of urban planners that I should be taking inspiration from.