New OOTS products from CafePress
New OOTS t-shirts, ornaments, mugs, bags, and more
  1. - Top - End - #1
    Ogre in the Playground

RogueGuy

Default Gestalting Mythic Tiers onto classes

It's been discussed, but I can't for the life of me find any discussion of how it turned out. But anyway - gestalting mythic tiers onto the standard classes to help bring balance back to the table between the lower-tiered classes and the higher ones.

BUT.

I have a specific system for doing so that I'd want to use. Unfortunately I'm not very good at "balance" so I need opinions. I also wanted to tweak the system a little.

First, some big changes:
    • First, the three groups of Mythic abilities are going to be styled as "heroic," (1st-tier) "legendary" (3rd-tier) and "mythic" (6th-tier) for the rest of this post.
    • Second, any effect that previously depended on tier level, now depends on 1/2 character level (minimum 1).
    • Third, any effect usable X number of times per day based on mythic tier, or which required an expenditure of mythic power to activate, is now usable 1/day at 1st level and an additional time per day at 6th level and every 5 levels thereafter, except for Mythic powers, which are simply usable 1/day. Any duration based on mythic tier is now based on 1/2 character level as well.
    • Fourth, and finally for the big changes, any character can select any power from any path (archmague, guardian, etc.); HOWEVER, to select a legendary-tier power from a given path, they must have at least 1 heroic-tier power from that path, and to select a mythic-tier power from a given path, they must have a legendary-tier one. The exception here is the Universal path, which can be taken by anyone.

Second, the rate at which characters gain mythic abilities is based, essentially, on the rate at which they gain spells.
    • Fighter: 1st level, 3rd level, and every other level thereafter (ten total).