New OOTS products from CafePress
New OOTS t-shirts, ornaments, mugs, bags, and more
  1. - Top - End - #1
    Bugbear in the Playground

Default Looking for good books/documentaries on native american civilizations

I've always been fascinated by the civilization that lived in North and South America before that whole ugly business with European settlers and conquistadores...
    I've read a couple of books on Aztecs and neighboring cultures, but I know next to nothing about the civilizations of North America.

I would like something easy to get into, not too technical, as I'm not a professional historian, just an enthusiast. Books and documentaries are both viable possibilities and I don't shy away from door stoppers.
    I would ask for movies too, but I realize that "movie about native american civilization" and "historical accuracy" are polar opposites. However if such a movie/s exist, I'd be glad to know.
    Avatar made by Strawberries! Grazie paesą!

Quote Originally Posted by Mr Beer View Post
    You win the worst GM thread BTW.
    Quote Originally Posted by Zyzzyva View Post
    From a different thread, even!.

2. - Top - End - #2
    Titan in the Playground

Default Re: Looking for good books/documentaries on native american civilizations

To start with, if there's any way you can get it in Italy, I'd strongly recommend We Shall Remain, which is a five-part documentary series from PBS. It's one of the best documentaries I've seen on Native Americans.

Is there a particular region or culture you're interested in? There are something like 430 federally recognized Indian tribes today, so there's a tremendous diversity of cultures across the continent. In the meantime I can offer a few general suggestions: