New OOTS products from CafePress
New OOTS t-shirts, ornaments, mugs, bags, and more
  1. - Top - End - #1
    Halfling in the Playground

RogueGuy

Default M&M First time GM help

As you can guess from my title, I'm a fist time GM and I'm going to be running MM for my friends.

We're all fairly learned with tabletop gaming in general, but I have no experience with the setting.

I'd really like some advice, both in general and system specific.

I'll be using Paragon City from "City of Heroes" as the primary setting, and my players will be acting as villains.

Big questions I have are:

-What sort of things should I disallow?
    -Are there any optimization shenanigans I should look out for?
    -I'll be making nemeses for my characters, any tips? (I have themes already, I mean things like keeping them as a threat
    -Any other loose advice you can offer.

2. - Top - End - #2
    Bugbear in the Playground

Default Re: M&M First time GM help

Mutants and Masterminds is easy to break over your knee with almost no effort. You can make an eternal Groundhog's Day power that hurls the victim 24 hours back in time every 24 hours for the rest of forever, no save, for like 12 points. Moreso than any other game it requires the Gentleman's Agreement that everyone is sitting down to actually play and have fun, rather than make some ultra-powerful abomination that invalidates the game.

That being said, it's not hard to work in ANY character concept; so there's not much I'd really disallow. It's possible to purchase flat immunity from all forms of harm, but it would take all of your points to do so and you'd probably come to be known as The Mighty Speedbump. Something like Regeneration is a much more cost effective method of gaining some degree of invincibility (I've got a player that can regenerate from being fed through a wood chipper each round as a Free Action) but still requires a significant investment to get going.