1. - Top - End - #1
    Ogre in the Playground

Default Looking for webcomic marketing advice

Hey everyone :) I've been working on my webcomic The Meddlers for a few months and I'm ready to market it but I'm having some issues. I have no idea how to make a banner or rather what to put on it other than the title. I've told individuals (friends) about the comic but only a tiny percentage of them even checks it out, and they don't seem to read any other page, so I'm also worried it's low quality, even though I was pretty proud of it before I put it up online.

I'm hoping there are fellow webcomic creators around here who could help me with the marketing aspect. I already know I want to make a banner and put it in my signature on webcomic forums (such as this one) but I don't know where to begin I guess.
    It's been suggested I change the header/logo to add the update schedule (right now, only once a week on Wednesdays) so I think I'll work on the updated logo but if nobody checks out the page in the first place, whether they come back regularly or not isn't really a concern.

I'll take every advice you have to give (preferably advice related to marketing webcomics, though :P)

Thanks a lot. I'm sure it's a subject that comes up often so I'm sorry to be "that guy" and just ask a common question, but when looking at banner-making I've only found websites that list things such as the size of the banner and not really what to put on it. Quotes? Characters? If so, how many before it's crowded? An actual scene? And the "call to action", what is that supposed to be? Just a "click here" or "read now"? That sounds obnoxious.

2. - Top - End - #2
    Halfling in the Playground

Default Re: Looking for webcomic marketing advice