New OOTS products from CafePress
New OOTS t-shirts, ornaments, mugs, bags, and more
  1. - Top - End - #1
    Bugbear in the Playground

RangerGuy

Default How do people market online?

I'm an Icelandic fantasy novelist, and I've been publishing one book a year since 2011. This February I finally broke into the English-language market putting one of my novels up on Amazon as an ebook. For a while it sold about one copy a day, but has lain still for over a week.

I know a big part of being noticed and marketing today is in online activity, but posting video game and tabletop related posts on this forum has represented about half of my online presence. I have a little used Facebook page but I've never used Twitter or any of the other major social sites. And I'm just not sure how this is all done. HOW to raise interest in my writing and get involved without being a jackass who posts "Hey, I wrote a book, check it out!" anywhere I can.

I would appreciate some advice, as I'm trying to make a career out of this.
    "Is this 'cause I killed the hippie? Is that even illegal?"

2. - Top - End - #2
    Troll in the Playground

Default Re: How do people market online?

well, I'd say start at Reddit. Reddit behaves a bit like rule 34, but then for forums. There is a subreddit for just about anything you can think of. One or more of them are bound to be populated by writers lookign for criticism, or for people looking to exchange amazon reviews.
    Warlock Poetry?
    Or ways to use me in game?
    Better grab a drink...

Currently ruining Strahd's day - Avatar by the Outstanding Smuchsmuch

First Ordained Jr. Tormlet by LoyalPaladin

3. - Top - End - #3
    Troll in the Playground

I'm not really a writer, just an observer of things, so take my advice with a grain of salt.