New OOTS products from CafePress
New OOTS t-shirts, ornaments, mugs, bags, and more
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Secret of Mana

1. - Top - End - #1
    Firbolg in the Playground

Default Secret of Mana

I've been playing games since about 1990. Played lots of games, mostly RPG's. The other day I was looking at top 10 lists for RPG's by system. I've played a strong majority of them, but somehow missed Secret of Mana.

So I started SoM for the first time a couple days ago. To be honest, I didn't like it much at first. 1 dude, combat was long and a little awkward. But now, a couple hours in (just got Undine's magic), I can say I'm really enjoying it. Not using any guides so I'm probably missing stuff, but that's fine. I really like the seamlessly switching between characters and weapons, even if the AI isn't great.

Maybe I should've done a LP with SS's. Might'be been funny for the pros to see.
    My one and only handbook: My Totemist Handbook
    My one and only homebrew: Book of Flux
    Spoiler
    Show
    A comment on tiers, by Prime32
    Quote Originally Posted by KillianHawkeye View Post
    As a DM, I deal with character death by cheering and giving a fist pump, or maybe a V-for-victory sign. I would also pat myself on the back, but I can't really reach around like that.
      /l、
    ゙(゚、 。 7
     l、゙ ~ヽ
     じしf_, )ノ

2. - Top - End - #2
    Spamalot in the Playground

Default Re: Secret of Mana

Secret of Mana is pretty buggy, but it really is fun if you got a friend or two and team up. Even alone, it's got nice elements to make it worthwhile playing through once.
    Digo Dragon - Artist
    D&D 5e Homebrew: My Little Pony Races

3. - Top - End - #3

Holy smokes! You can 2-player it?

That seems like it might make the game a bit easy.
    Spoiler
    Show
    As a DM, I deal with character death by cheering and giving a fist pump, or maybe a V-for-victory sign. I would also pat myself on the back, but I can't really reach around like that.
      /l、