The Order of the Stick: Utterly Dwarfed
The Order of the Stick: Utterly Dwarfed - Coming in December and available for pre-order now
Results 1 to 20 of 20
  1. - Top - End - #1
    Bugbear in the Playground
     
    Tyger's Avatar

    Join Date
    Mar 2007

    Default Two handed weapon in one hand?

    Is this possible? If so, what would be the penalty for it? Conversely, is there a feat (or feats) that would permit this?

    Situation is thus: Minotaur wielding greataxe wants to unlimber his shield from time to time, without also having to carry another weapon.

    Thoughts?

  2. - Top - End - #2
    Orc in the Playground
     
    BardGuy

    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Auburn Ma

    Default Re: Two handed weapon in one hand?

    You can but with the sub-par feat called monkey grip, or try to go up a size category, You take a -2 instead of a -4 weilding it this way with monkey grip, I think you take a -2 from going up a size category.

  3. - Top - End - #3
    Firbolg in the Playground
     
    Person_Man's Avatar

    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Washington, DC
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Two handed weapon in one hand?

    Unless you have a pile of Sneak Attack or similar bonus damage, why would you want to wield a melee weapon in one hand? The main sources of melee damage are Power Attack and Leap Attack. Both are much more effective when you use a weapon with two hands. And if you're worried about AC, just buy an Animated Shield.

  4. - Top - End - #4
    Dwarf in the Playground
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location

    Default Re: Two handed weapon in one hand?

    Monkey grip is the devil

    Use mithril or something


  5. - Top - End - #5
    Ettin in the Playground
     
    Shhalahr Windrider's Avatar

    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    By a River
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Two handed weapon in one hand?

    Quote Originally Posted by Hario View Post
    You can but with the sub-par feat called monkey grip...
    No. Monkey Grip does not work that way. (That's something of a board mantra.)

    Monkey Grip allows you to wield a weapon sized for a creature one size category larger than you without changing the effort it takes to wield the weapon. It does nothing to any weapon of your own size category.

    ...Though I think it might have done something similar in 3.0 days. That's probably where the confusion comes in.

    But the new, revised version does no such thing.
    The Future just ainít what it used to be.

  6. - Top - End - #6
    Bugbear in the Playground
     
    Lemur's Avatar

    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Toon Town

    Default Re: Two handed weapon in one hand?

    Just have him use a battleaxe, and use it two handed when he's not using his shield. If you're really concerned about the die size (you shouldn't be) use a dwarven waraxe.

    Monkey grip did indeed let you use a two handed weapon in one hand in 3.0, but not in 3.5, which uses a different system for weapon sizes.

  7. - Top - End - #7
    Barbarian in the Playground
     
    Penguinsushi's Avatar

    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Johnson City, TN
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Two handed weapon in one hand?

    Quote Originally Posted by Lemur View Post
    Monkey grip did indeed let you use a two handed weapon in one hand in 3.0, but not in 3.5, which uses a different system for weapon sizes.
    Its true the wording of this feat with respect to that task is a little ambiguous (or, perhaps, anal) in 3.5, but as a gm, I would personally still allow it.

    Of course, if you could get ahold of a huge battleaxe, that would solve the technicality of that problem.

    ~PS
    "One Penguin To Rule Them All..."



    Spoiler
    Show
    "I'm invisible...I'm invisible...I'm baby mice-ing invisible!" ~ Diva De

    The Boot. Fear it.


    Thanks to Trog for OotK icon
    Also, thanks to El J, Kubb Ambassador

  8. - Top - End - #8
    Bugbear in the Playground
     
    BardGuy

    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Extradimensional pocket...with the lint.
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Two handed weapon in one hand?

    Technically, using a large longsword is bacially the same as using a greatsword (same damage, etc) I would allow you to use a greatsword in one hand with a -4 penalty.
    Johannes factotum of the Bard Defense League

    "A witty saying proves nothing." -Voltaire

    "Jack of all trades, master of none, though ofttimes better than master of one."

    The main question that any DM should ask before making a house-rule or exception is, "Is it balanced?"

  9. - Top - End - #9
    Bugbear in the Playground
     
    Tyger's Avatar

    Join Date
    Mar 2007

    Default Re: Two handed weapon in one hand?

    So in the end, the answer is... no? Its a -4 to attack with no real way to compensate? The suggestions above aren't really feasible, as he's decided to go with the greataxe, and doesn't want to worry about it. Granted, a -4 may not be that big a deal, I think he's got a +21 BAB at the moment, so -4 is pretty much small change.

  10. - Top - End - #10
    Pixie in the Playground
     
    OldWizardGuy

    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Two handed weapon in one hand?

    Well, with Monkey Grip he could use a Huge battle axe, which is mecahnically identical to a large great axe.

    So he can use an axe that size in one hand, as long as the handle is big enough that he can barely hold it because it's meant for a larger creature. Makes sense, right? (I might have to say that a large greataxe could be used one-handed with the feat in this case)

    It requires a feat and costs a -2 to attack (and using a weapon that'll make him take that penalty even when holding it two-handed, by RAW), but he can do it this way.
    They say the pen is mightier than the sword, so I took Weapon Specialization.

  11. - Top - End - #11
    Ettin in the Playground
     
    Shhalahr Windrider's Avatar

    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    By a River
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Two handed weapon in one hand?

    Quote Originally Posted by BardicDuelist View Post
    Technically, using a large longsword is bacially the same as using a greatsword...
    Only if you're using a variant rule out of the DMG. There's a lot more to a weapon than its damage die and threat range.
    The Future just ainít what it used to be.

  12. - Top - End - #12
    Bugbear in the Playground
     
    BardGuy

    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Extradimensional pocket...with the lint.
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Two handed weapon in one hand?

    Quote Originally Posted by Shhalahr Windrider View Post
    Only if you're using a variant rule out of the DMG. There's a lot more to a weapon than its damage die and threat range.
    I agree, but IF you want to, this is basically the only guide to do it.
    Johannes factotum of the Bard Defense League

    "A witty saying proves nothing." -Voltaire

    "Jack of all trades, master of none, though ofttimes better than master of one."

    The main question that any DM should ask before making a house-rule or exception is, "Is it balanced?"

  13. - Top - End - #13
    Barbarian in the Playground
     
    Penguinsushi's Avatar

    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Johnson City, TN
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Two handed weapon in one hand?

    Quote Originally Posted by Shhalahr Windrider View Post
    Only if you're using a variant rule out of the DMG. There's a lot more to a weapon than its damage die and threat range.
    True, but there's a lot more to the game than the mechanics as well. I figure, if you're already in a class that automatically gives you proficiency with all martial weapons, you can justify that (in terms of rules) rather easily...

    ~PS
    "One Penguin To Rule Them All..."



    Spoiler
    Show
    "I'm invisible...I'm invisible...I'm baby mice-ing invisible!" ~ Diva De

    The Boot. Fear it.


    Thanks to Trog for OotK icon
    Also, thanks to El J, Kubb Ambassador

  14. - Top - End - #14
    Ogre in the Playground
     
    Lord Tataraus's Avatar

    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Easton, PA
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Two handed weapon in one hand?

    Quote Originally Posted by BardicDuelist View Post
    Technically, using a large longsword is bacially the same as using a greatsword (same damage, etc) I would allow you to use a greatsword in one hand with a -4 penalty.
    Technically, yes. However, I go with realism on this stuff. A Greatsword is made to be wielded two-handed, thus its center of balance, etc. while a longsword is made to be wielded one-handed. Thus, the center of balance and porportions of the blade to hilt size will be completely different, thus the greatsword in one-hand will be very clumsy and feel heavier because the center of balance is way off. Conversely, the longsword in two hands will feel too light and the hilt will be cramped, thus making your swings (especially that of a trained warrior) overly dramatic and erratic. So, in short, no you can't use a large longsword as a greatsword for a medium character.

    As for the minotuar wielding a greataxe one handed, since he has powerful build (I think he does at least) I usually rule you can wield a two-handed weapon of a size smaller one-handed, but you take a -4 from the clumsiness of it.

  15. - Top - End - #15
    Firbolg in the Playground
     
    Closet_Skeleton's Avatar

    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Ēast Seaxna rīc
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Two handed weapon in one hand?

    Quote Originally Posted by Lord Tataraus View Post
    As for the minotuar wielding a greataxe one handed, since he has powerful build (I think he does at least) I usually rule you can wield a two-handed weapon of a size smaller one-handed, but you take a -4 from the clumsiness of it.
    Minotaurs are large, they don't need powerful build.
    "that nighted, penguin-fringed abyss" - At The Mountains of Madness, H.P. Lovecraft

    When a man decides another's future behind his back, it is a conspiracy. When a god does it, it's destiny.


  16. - Top - End - #16
    Pixie in the Playground
    Join Date
    Apr 2007

    Default Re: Two handed weapon in one hand?

    Quote Originally Posted by Lord Tataraus View Post
    Technically, yes. However, I go with realism on this stuff. A Greatsword is made to be wielded two-handed, thus its center of balance, etc. while a longsword is made to be wielded one-handed. Thus, the center of balance and porportions of the blade to hilt size will be completely different, thus the greatsword in one-hand will be very clumsy and feel heavier because the center of balance is way off. Conversely, the longsword in two hands will feel too light and the hilt will be cramped, thus making your swings (especially that of a trained warrior) overly dramatic and erratic. So, in short, no you can't use a large longsword as a greatsword for a medium character.

    As for the minotuar wielding a greataxe one handed, since he has powerful build (I think he does at least) I usually rule you can wield a two-handed weapon of a size smaller one-handed, but you take a -4 from the clumsiness of it.
    I think your points about balance, etc. are accurate. However, I don't find D&D models that level of detail anyway, so I don't sweat it too much when I run a game. I'd probably make the player buy a masterwork weapon to reflect that it needs some customization to work. If I want to revel in weapons geekery, I'll go play "Riddle of Steel".

  17. - Top - End - #17
    Ogre in the Playground
     
    MindFlayer

    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Michigan
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Two handed weapon in one hand?

    i'd say monkey grip would allow a medium character to wield a medium greatsword one handed with a neg 2. you look at the stats a large longsword is a greatsword, except for maybe a slight weight difference. my dm has a bunch of his elite beastmen (his custom monsters) wielding glaives one handed with monkey grip.
    Last edited by the_tick_rules; 2007-04-28 at 10:32 AM.
    I would be a procrastinator, but I keep putting it off.

  18. - Top - End - #18
    Ogre in the Playground
     
    Lord Tataraus's Avatar

    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Easton, PA
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Two handed weapon in one hand?

    Quote Originally Posted by Closet_Skeleton View Post
    Minotaurs are large, they don't need powerful build.
    Crap, I was thinking Krynnish minotaurs.

  19. - Top - End - #19
    Ogre in the Playground
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Brazil
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Two handed weapon in one hand?

    Quote Originally Posted by Shhalahr Windrider View Post
    No. Monkey Grip does not work that way. (That's something of a board mantra.)

    Monkey Grip allows you to wield a weapon sized for a creature one size category larger than you without changing the effort it takes to wield the weapon. It does nothing to any weapon of your own size category.

    ...Though I think it might have done something similar in 3.0 days. That's probably where the confusion comes in.

    But the new, revised version does no such thing.
    Exactly. In 3.0 it allowed you to wield a large sized weapon (two handed weapon) as a medium weapon, and a medium weapon (two handed weapon for small characters) as a small weapon (one handed for small characters).
    My DM allowed me to combine a huge Full Blade with Monkey Grip once. I doubt he'd let it again... XD

    Member of the Hinjo fan club. Go Hinjo!
    "In Soviet Russia, the Darkness attacks you."
    "Rogues not only have a lot more skill points, but sneak attack is so good it hurts..."

  20. - Top - End - #20
    Titan in the Playground
     
    Matthew's Avatar

    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Kanagawa, Japan
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Two handed weapon in one hand?

    Since a Character can use a Bastard Sword in one Hand with a -4 Penalty, I would be inclined to make it at least the same penalty, maybe even -6.
    It is a joyful thing indeed to hold intimate converse with a man after oneís own heart, chatting without reserve about things of interest or the fleeting topics of the world; but such, alas, are few and far between.

    Ė Yoshida Kenko (1283-1350), Tsurezure-Gusa (1340)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •