New OOTS products from CafePress
New OOTS t-shirts, ornaments, mugs, bags, and more

Thread: Hole in the Sky

1. - Top - End - #1
    Titan in the Playground

Default Hole in the Sky

Hole in the Sky
    A superhero game of anxiety, loss, and trust.

I want to design games for a living. I am not currently designing enough games. The solution? Design a dang game.

Inspired by Applejack’s Infrastructure Adventures, I’m making my own hack of Apocalypse World. In the spirit of stealing good ideas, I’m going to start with the Agendas, move on to basic moves, and then maybe work on the playbooks. Gotta figure out the game first, then how it plays, and then move on from there.

The Basic Pitch: “We can bust small arms dealers all the doo-dah day, but a hole opens up in the sky? Three hundred feet above us? That’s endgame.” -Avengers, Age of Ultron

You don’t know what it is. You don’t know when it is coming. All you know is that the Hole in the Sky is coming for your world. Eventually. Inexorably. And? You know none of you can beat it. You are the best your world has, and you’re not good enough.

So. What do you do?

AGENDAS:
    -Stain the world with the Hole in the Sky
    -Keep the players fueled
    -Play to find out what happens

Spoiler: Some more words about the agendas
    Show
    First, the major difference between this game and AW; this game comes built with a direction in mind. When you sit down to play this game, you are figuring out what to do about the Hole in the Sky. So, naturally, everything you do should be able to trace a thread back to it. You do science to figure out how to solve the Hole. The team drama stems from the Hole’s pressure. The world changes due to the character’s efforts against the Hole. Even if the players decide to do absolutely nothing, they make the decision in the context of ignoring the Hole in the Sky.