The Order of the Stick: Utterly Dwarfed
The Order of the Stick: Utterly Dwarfed - Coming in December and available for pre-order now
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Ruling Question

  1. - Top - End - #1
    Pixie in the Playground
     
    BlackDragon

    Join Date
    Jan 2007

    Default Ruling Question

    So we recently did a two on two tournament, and one of the players had a planar shepard. On his first round he use an ability that open up a rift/ connection to the plane of dreams. This gave his team 10 rounds to every 1 round our team got. Now I tried to use dispel magic to make this go away. The DM ruled that since this is an ability that it can not be dispelled. I disagreed. What would you have ruled?

  2. - Top - End - #2
    Barbarian in the Playground
     
    Penguinsushi's Avatar

    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Johnson City, TN
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Ruling Question

    It doesn't seem to be an SLA (edit: at least, i can't find reference to the spell it would be emulating), so I would agree that it cannot be dispelled. It is certainly supernatural, and thus would be suppressed in a null-magic field however.

    It is a pretty powerful ability (probably too powerful with respect to the time traits - the other traits aren't too bad. I think i'd nix that - not only is it unfair, it's boring for the other players), but from what I can see, there are at least a couple of mitigating factors:

    1) according to what I've read, the shepherd does have to concentrate on it. disrupt his concentration, and it falters

    2) it affects things within 40ft. close to melee, and you'll be in the same time field and the round disparity will vanish.

    ~PS
    Last edited by Penguinsushi; 2007-05-22 at 08:38 AM.
    "One Penguin To Rule Them All..."



    Spoiler
    Show
    "I'm invisible...I'm invisible...I'm baby mice-ing invisible!" ~ Diva De

    The Boot. Fear it.


    Thanks to Trog for OotK icon
    Also, thanks to El J, Kubb Ambassador

  3. - Top - End - #3
    Lost in the Playground Administrator
     
    Rawhide's Avatar

    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Australia
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Ruling Question

    Is it spell-like (Sp), supernatural (Su) or extraordinary (Ex)?

    A spell like can be dispelled, however a supernatural cannot. Supernatural will cease to work in an antimagic field however and does not require concentration checks.

    http://www.d20srd.org/srd/specialAbilities.htm

    "My Hobby: Replacing your soap with gravy" by rtg0922, Doll and Clint "Rawhide" Eastwood by Sneak

  4. - Top - End - #4
    Firbolg in the Playground
     
    Person_Man's Avatar

    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Washington, DC
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Ruling Question

    The Planar Shepard is well known as the most utterly broken PrC. I have no idea why your DM would allow it, unless the other players are an Archivist, a Artificer, and an Incantatrix. And even then, nothing they do can compare to the Planar Bubble.

    Unless I'm miss-remembering, Planar Bubble is a Supernatural Ability (Su). Supernatural abilities are magical and go away in an antimagic field but are not subject to spell resistance, counterspells, or to being dispelled by dispel magic.

    Thus, once the Shepard creates a bubble, you lose unless you can cast Anitmagic Field.

  5. - Top - End - #5
    Ogre in the Playground
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location

    Default Re: Ruling Question

    Quote Originally Posted by Person_Man View Post
    And even then, nothing they do can compare to the Planar Bubble.
    Yes, something compares ... the ability to go first compares and it compares favorably. With buffing the artificer has every spell and item necessary to ensure he goes first. Without buffing you need a way to never be flatfooted without buffing (Minotaur gets this for instance) and to be able to cast celerity.
    Last edited by PinkysBrain; 2007-05-22 at 08:56 AM.

  6. - Top - End - #6
    Firbolg in the Playground
     
    Person_Man's Avatar

    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Washington, DC
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Ruling Question

    Quote Originally Posted by PinkysBrain View Post
    Yes, something compares ... the ability to go first compares and it compares favorably. With buffing the artificer has every spell and item necessary to ensure he goes first. Without buffing you need a way to never be flatfooted without buffing (Minotaur gets this for instance) and to be able to cast celerity.
    Ah, I had forgotten about Celerity because I ban it from my games.

    Point conceded. An Artificer can compare to a Planar Shepard. But I think the general point I made is still true - it's a tremendously overpowered PrC.

  7. - Top - End - #7
    Ettin in the Playground
     
    Shhalahr Windrider's Avatar

    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    By a River
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Ruling Question

    Quote Originally Posted by Penguinsushi View Post
    It doesn't seem to be an SLA (edit: at least, i can't find reference to the spell it would be emulating), so I would agree that it cannot be dispelled.
    Not every spell-like ability directly mimics a spell. Most do, but many don't. For example, see the bard's fascinate music effect (no spell reference there), the paladin's special mount (and pre-3.5: lay on hands), warlock and dragonfire adept invocations, and shadowcaster mysteries.

    If I had the time and inclination, I could probably dig out a few examples of racial spell-likes that don't directly mimic spells, too.
    The Future just ainít what it used to be.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •