The Order of the Stick: Utterly Dwarfed
The Order of the Stick: Utterly Dwarfed - Coming in December and available for pre-order now
Page 13 of 13 FirstFirst ... 345678910111213
Results 361 to 376 of 376
  1. - Top - End - #361
    Barbarian in the Playground
    Join Date
    Dec 2015

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 4e Thread 3

    Quote Originally Posted by Dimers View Post
    Still no luck here. The closest I can find (aside from the chaos shard) that don't rely on a particular build are the Lightning Arc feat and the impaling, ricochet and thunderbolt weapon enchantments. Impaling ranged weapons do have a sort of multishot 'feel' to them if you squint kinda hard.

    There are lots of features that give you an extra attack when you hit/miss/crit/fell your original target (e.g. seeker class's Inevitable Shot) or under some other condition (e.g. Ocular Adept PP's action point feature), but it's pretty clear you're not looking for those.
    Speaker of Xaos PP can do it

  2. - Top - End - #362
    Ettin in the Playground
     
    Dimers's Avatar

    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Boston, MA
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 4e Thread 3

    Good find.

    Kinda makes me wonder why WotC associated chaos with "target more things!", between that PP and the chaos shard familiar ...
    Avatar by Meltheim: Eveve, dwarven battlemind, 4e Dark Sun

    Current games list

  3. - Top - End - #363
    Bugbear in the Playground
    Join Date
    Jul 2013

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 4e Thread 3

    If area attacks are included, for Psions only, Dreamwalker's F16 can add a target.

    And of course the Elementalist's Encounter power is designed to do precisely this.

    Also, for RBAs, if you can get a ranger at will, you can use a feat to swap for Rapid Shot.

  4. - Top - End - #364
    Barbarian in the Playground
    Join Date
    Jul 2013

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 4e Thread 3

    What ways are there to protect allies from unfriendly zones I create? Monsters that push and slide are showing up a lot more often and I'd like to nip this in the bud.

  5. - Top - End - #365
    Ogre in the Playground
     
    Anxe's Avatar

    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Davis, California
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 4e Thread 3

    Quote Originally Posted by Deathtongue View Post
    What ways are there to protect allies from unfriendly zones I create? Monsters that push and slide are showing up a lot more often and I'd like to nip this in the bud.
    I think the Epic feat, Spell Accuracy (PHB1), kind of does that? Orb of the Peerless Artist (PHB3) does the same thing in item form.
    There's a couple items that move allies out of your AoE stuff. Staff of Transposition (AV1) is probably the best one.
    I don't think there's anyway to directly exclude allies from your zone effects.

  6. - Top - End - #366
    Pixie in the Playground
    Join Date
    Oct 2019

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 4e Thread 3

    Question: Star favored champion says "Whenever your first attack roll with an encounter power misses, until the end of your turn you can make a basic attack as a minor action."

    This is written singular. Can a player do 2 minor actions to do 2 basic attacks after missing with one encounter power? (All in the same turn)

  7. - Top - End - #367
    Ettin in the Playground
     
    Dimers's Avatar

    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Boston, MA
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 4e Thread 3

    Quote Originally Posted by Dancemacabre View Post
    Question: Star favored champion says "Whenever your first attack roll with an encounter power misses, until the end of your turn you can make a basic attack as a minor action."

    This is written singular. Can a player do 2 minor actions to do 2 basic attacks after missing with one encounter power? (All in the same turn)
    I don't see why not. Some powers or traits do specifically limit you to one, and this doesn't. Both in terms of natural language and in terms of formal 4e language, "before the end of your turn" might restrict you to one attack but "until the end of your turn" shouldn't.
    Avatar by Meltheim: Eveve, dwarven battlemind, 4e Dark Sun

    Current games list

  8. - Top - End - #368
    Pixie in the Playground
    Join Date
    Oct 2019

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 4e Thread 3

    Thank you sir

  9. - Top - End - #369
    Pixie in the Playground
     
    SwashbucklerGuy

    Join Date
    Feb 2016

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 4e Thread 3

    Two questions

    1: Does anyone know if there are Longtooth shifter utility power options, and if so where?

    2: how does a frost weapon (phb 234) and Rune of Endless Fire (phb3 102) interact?

  10. - Top - End - #370
    Ettin in the Playground
     
    Dimers's Avatar

    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Boston, MA
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 4e Thread 3

    Quote Originally Posted by Arcacius View Post
    Two questions

    1: Does anyone know if there are Longtooth shifter utility power options, and if so where?

    2: how does a frost weapon (phb 234) and Rune of Endless Fire (phb3 102) interact?
    1) There aren't, no. Plenty of modifiers and add-ons for longtooth shifting itself but no other powers.

    2) Obviously the initial damage would turn to cold. I'm not aware of any rule about how to resolve the Effect. Personally I'd tell the player "pick one or the other and it'll always work that way". If I had to make a call, I'd say all cold damage:
    The weapon's alteration of the power is more specific than the power alone
    The weapon does change the power's keywords and damage type
    Avatar by Meltheim: Eveve, dwarven battlemind, 4e Dark Sun

    Current games list

  11. - Top - End - #371
    Bugbear in the Playground
    Join Date
    Jul 2013

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 4e Thread 3

    Q109

    Does the Lightning and Thunder keyword on Promise of Storm have any impact on actual play? I've always assumed that it just added extra damage of the original power's type, but I never noticed the keywords before, so I figured I'd ask.

  12. - Top - End - #372
    Ettin in the Playground
     
    Dimers's Avatar

    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Boston, MA
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 4e Thread 3

    A 109

    Rarely. Promise of storm doesn't deal damage itself and isn't an attack, so very few rules apply. If you have an ability that triggers on using a thunder/lightning power or effect, it'd work when you start your promise of storm. No such ability springs to mind, but they may exist.
    Avatar by Meltheim: Eveve, dwarven battlemind, 4e Dark Sun

    Current games list

  13. - Top - End - #373
    Halfling in the Playground
     
    AssassinGuy

    Join Date
    Aug 2019

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 4e Thread 3

    Q110

    It is my understanding that you can take multiple base multiclass feats for the same class - for instance (using an example I know off the top of my head), a sorcerer can take both Pact Initiate and Student of Malediction. In that situation, can you take two or more multiclass feats from one class but from different subclasses?

    This is a super niche question, I realize, but there are a few examples - the one in mind is someone taking Walker of the Dark Path (Blackguard Paladin Multiclass) along with Soldier of Faith (regular Paladin multiclass) and/or Squire of Righteousness (Cavalier Paladin Multiclass). All three are considered "Paladin multiclass," so it seems so by RAW, but I wanted to make sure that there isn't something against it.

    Q111

    Can a hybrid character take Hybrid Talent multiple times for both of their classes and/or multiple features from one hybrid class?

  14. - Top - End - #374
    Bugbear in the Playground
    Join Date
    Jul 2013

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 4e Thread 3

    A110 Yes. Subclasses are still the same class. This also applies to subclasses that don’t get Encounter powers taking Reserve Maneuver to get an Encounter power from their parent class, and for hybrids of those kinds of subclasses getting regular encounter and daily powers from the parent class.

    A111 Generally no. You can only take the Hybrid Talent feat once. PCs who choose not to take a Paragon Path, instead taking the Paragon Hybrid or Paragon Multiclass approach, do get a second iteration of Hybrid Talent (the PMC ability to do so was probably an oversight, but it is legal rules-as-written).

  15. - Top - End - #375
    Bugbear in the Playground
    Join Date
    Jul 2013

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 4e Thread 3

    Q112 Luckbringer of Tymora's Luckblade feature doesn't apply to anything other than Cleric powers, even Luckbringer's own Implement powers, correct?

  16. - Top - End - #376
    Barbarian in the Playground
    Join Date
    Dec 2015

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 4e Thread 3

    Quote Originally Posted by masteraleph View Post
    Q112 Luckbringer of Tymora's Luckblade feature doesn't apply to anything other than Cleric powers, even Luckbringer's own Implement powers, correct?
    It works that way, but given time of publication and where it was published, it almost certainly should be ruled that it applies to all implement powers. Simply because it matches PHB language and how implements worked got changed afterwards in part due to the problem with paragon paths and implements. But because it was in Dragon magazine, it got missed.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •