The Order of the Stick: Utterly Dwarfed
The Order of the Stick: Utterly Dwarfed - Coming in December and available for pre-order now
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
  1. - Top - End - #1
    Barbarian in the Playground

DwarfClericGuy

Default Morally gray quests

I'm setting up a short campaign to go from lvl 1 to lvl 5. (dnd 5e) I have encounters and NPCs set, but as I played Witcher a bit, I'd like to rework the thing a bit and introduce some morally gray quests. Short things, like "Mill is crucial for village, but dam has cut off water from kobold village ..." Thing is I'm not very good at coming up with this material. If anyone has any ideas, can you guys drop them in a form of sentence of two?

thanks

2. - Top - End - #2
    Ettin in the Playground

RangerGuy

Default Re: Morally gray quests

Are there any paladins or other alignment-based classes in the party?

Do you want your players to spend hours arguing how to approach a gray situation?
    Last edited by goto124; 2016-01-19 at 08:14 AM.

3. - Top - End - #3
    Firbolg in the Playground

NecromancerGuy

Give every NPC a realistic reason for doing what they are doing. Suddenly that Orc raiding party is less a bunch of dehumanized pure evil monsters and more of desperate violent humanoids. This will not remove all the black and white from your campaign overnight but will render most of your quests shades of gray (Billy Joel) by default.

4. - Top - End - #4
    Ettin in the Playground

RangerGuy

Better yet, don't intentionally aim for moral grayness. Just build realistic and believable characters, societies, situations.

Wouldn't be nice if a 'gray' situation came up, the players suggest a solution that realistically should work, only for the solution to get shut down to keep the situation 'gray'.
    Last edited by goto124; 2016-01-19 at 08:15 AM.

5. - Top - End - #5

Best way to do morally grey quests is to set up the monster races as deserving of empathy.

6. - Top - End - #6

SolithKnightGuy