New OOTS products from CafePress
New OOTS t-shirts, ornaments, mugs, bags, and more
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
  1. - Top - End - #1
    Titan in the Playground

Default The Old World - A setting inspired by Morrowind and Planescape

Some people can't help themselves, it seems. I had been working on my previous Ancient Lands setting for about four years and some here might remember it. (Though I just discovered an even older thread from 2009 in which I used the name, but the content is almost unrecognizable, even to me.) I had tried to build a setting structured like Forgotten Realms, Eberron, or Tamriel, but about a year ago I started to shift from RPGs to fiction writing and from that I learned a lot about different ways to design a setting and how to bring things to life. And so, here I am again.
    Now I am thinking of worldbuilding much more along the lines of what you see in the original three Star Wars movies (excluding all Expanded Universe material), the John Carter books, or Final Fantasy games. Overall a much smaller design that is really focused on the adventures of a few heroes and not an encyclopedia of everything. As a result, I did such extensive reworking of the setting that for all intends and purposes I consider it a completely new world that merely recycles a few names (because coming up with good names is damn hard!) and ideas for cultures I never really got to develop. "The Old World" is only a working title based on the previous one, but it doesn't even make sense anymore. (But as I said, creating names is hard.)

The Basic Concept of the Old World