Page 8 of 24 FirstFirst 123456789101112131415161718 ... LastLast
Results 211 to 240 of 691

Thread: Simple RAW 3

  1. - Top - End - #211
    Bugbear in the Playground
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location

    Default Re: Simple RAW 3

    Quote Originally Posted by Specter View Post
    Q97 Does the Abjurer's Arcane Ward recharge with abjuration only when it's at zero or at any time it has already taken damage?
    A97: At any time, it just doesn't go away when it hits zero.

  2. - Top - End - #212
    Ogre in the Playground
     
    Dalebert's Avatar

    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    New Hampshire
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Simple RAW 3

    A 97 As long as it's not fully charged, the stated conditions will recharge it. This has been verified as intended by Crawford.
    In real estate, they say it's all about location, location, location. In D&D I say it's about action economy, action economy, action economy.

    My swashbuckler: "I like chewing bubble gum and bucklin' swashes and I'm all out of swashes!! So I'm pretty much just sitting around chewing bubble gum."

    Crystal Mage -- a homebrewed arcane tradition

  3. - Top - End - #213
    Ogre in the Playground
     
    Arkhios's Avatar

    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Location
    Finland
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Simple RAW 3

    Quote Originally Posted by Dalebert View Post
    Q 96 That raises my next question. What is the mechanical definition of "hostile".

    By the plain language meaning, it seems clear my party member is not hostile to me, but it feels like this opens up an exploit for me to choose not to be hostile and thus not provoke AoO myself. For instance, does a pacifist not provoke AoOs?
    Not sure if this qualifies as a RAW answer, but here's my interpretation:
    From plain gamistic point of view, that which side you fight for determines your hostility towards the other. So, even if you chose not to be hostile towards an enemy, unless you made something to convince the enemy of your non-hostile intentions, that enemy might still consider you hostile and you would provoke an opportunity attack as normal.
    Last edited by Arkhios; 2017-02-28 at 02:05 PM.

  4. - Top - End - #214
    Dwarf in the Playground
    Join Date
    Nov 2016

    Default Re: Simple RAW 3

    Q98 - does a barbarian's rage end if only grappling & shoving?

    As above. I'm a little confused on this.

    Quote Originally Posted by PHB
    Your rage lasts for 1 minute. It ends early if you are knocked Unconscious or if Your Turn ends and you haven't attacked a hostile creature since your last turn or taken damage since then. You can also end your rage on Your Turn as a Bonus Action.
    Quote Originally Posted by Sage Advice
    http://www.sageadvice.eu/2015/06/08/shove-grapple-attacks/
    Quote Originally Posted by Jeremy Crawford
    The grapple option in the Player's Handbook is an attack, but it uses an ability check in place of an attack roll.
    Quote Originally Posted by Jeremy Crawford
    ... They are unusual attacks that lack attack rolls.
    Quote Originally Posted by Sage Advice
    http://www.sageadvice.eu/2015/05/08/barbarian-rage-2/
    Quote Originally Posted by Warren Huckaby
    Does a barbarian keep his rage if he uses his action to grapple if grappling is not an attack?
    Quote Originally Posted by Jeremy Crawford
    The grapple option in the Player's Handbook is an attack, but it uses an ability check in place of an attack roll.
    Everything points to grapple and shove keeping a rage alive by themselves, but even when explicitly asked, a yes/no answer was not given.
    Last edited by Escribblings; 2017-02-28 at 05:32 PM.

  5. - Top - End - #215
    Ogre in the Playground
     
    Arkhios's Avatar

    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Location
    Finland
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Simple RAW 3

    Quote Originally Posted by Escribblings View Post
    Q98 - does a barbarian's rage end if only grappling & shoving?

    As above. I'm a little confused on this.

    Everything points to grapple and shove keeping a rage alive by themselves, but even when explicitly asked, a yes/no answer was not given.
    A 98. No. To clarify this answer to the question, I should think the following is self-evident (even without a need to ask Crawford and/or Mearls). The Rage ability doesn't specify that the act of attacking had to include an attack roll, it only speaks of attacking, which both Grappling and Shoving qualify for.

    Quote Originally Posted by PHB pg. 195
    GRAPPLING
    When you want to grab a creature or wrestle with it, you can use the Attack action to make a special melee attack, a grapple.

    SHOVING A CREATURE
    Using the Attack action, you can make a special melee attack to shove a creature -- .
    Last edited by Arkhios; 2017-02-28 at 05:51 PM.

  6. - Top - End - #216
    Dwarf in the Playground
     
    OrcBarbarianGuy

    Join Date
    Sep 2014

    Default Re: Simple RAW 3

    Q99 if I double a creatures hit dice (this creature is a humanoid, a Dragonclaw (3d8 +3), does that increase in hit dice (I guess 6d8 +6) raise their proficiency bonus?

  7. - Top - End - #217
    Ettin in the Playground
     
    Kobold

    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Euphonistan
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Simple RAW 3

    Quote Originally Posted by Dmdork View Post
    Q99 if I double a creatures hit dice (this creature is a humanoid, a Dragonclaw (3d8 +3), does that increase in hit dice (I guess 6d8 +6) raise their proficiency bonus?
    Maybe. It depends on what the CR of the resulting creature is set to be. Prof bonus on monsters are based on CR not hit dice (though HP from the hit dice are part of the CR calculation hence why it is a maybe).
    A vestige for me "Pyro火gnus Friend of Meepo" by Zaydos.

    http://www.giantitp.com/forums/shows...5&postcount=26

  8. - Top - End - #218
    Bugbear in the Playground
     
    OrcBarbarianGirl

    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Why am I here?

    Default Re: Simple RAW 3

    Q 100 If I were to roll an additional damage die for a weapon that did 2d6 damage, would I roll 3d6 or 4d6?
    Quote Originally Posted by Petrocorus View Post
    This thread, Questions that can't be answered... Answered by RAW by No brains, is Epic.
    Quote Originally Posted by illyahr View Post
    That is so stupid it's hilarious.
    Quote Originally Posted by georgie_leech View Post
    ...I've clearly been playing D&D for too long, because that made a demented kind of sense.

  9. - Top - End - #219
    Barbarian in the Playground
    Join Date
    Sep 2011

    Default Re: Simple RAW 3

    Quote Originally Posted by No brains View Post
    Q 100 If I were to roll an additional damage die for a weapon that did 2d6 damage, would I roll 3d6 or 4d6?
    A 100 An additional die is one additional die. You'll roll 3d6.

  10. - Top - End - #220
    Halfling in the Playground
     
    RedWizardGuy

    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Location
    South Carolina, USA
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Simple RAW 3

    Q101 Can you call for a general "(Strength, Dexterity, Constitution...) check" rather than skill tied to that attribute?
    Thanks to the amazing forums here on GITP I, as a new player to tabletop games in general, am slowly expanding my knowledge on how to be a better player and DM by reading various questions and answers. If you're reading this, thank you for taking place in this wonderful community.

  11. - Top - End - #221
    Troll in the Playground
     
    georgie_leech's Avatar

    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Calgary, AB
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Simple RAW 3

    A101

    Not only is that RAW allowed, it's the default. All 'skill' checks are Ability Score Checks that proficiency with various skills or tools may apply to.
    Quote Originally Posted by Grod_The_Giant View Post
    We should try to make that a thing; I think it might help civility. Hey, GitP, let's try to make this a thing: when you're arguing optimization strategies, RAW-logic, and similar such things that you'd never actually use in a game, tag your post [THEORETICAL] and/or use green text
    Quote Originally Posted by Lvl 2 Expert View Post
    So a ranger is like a Bachelor of Applied Druidology.
    Quote Originally Posted by Kid Jake View Post
    What's the word for 'fear of being eaten by a mounted bear in half-plate' again? Because that's the one I have.

  12. - Top - End - #222
    Pixie in the Playground
     
    Flumph

    Join Date
    Jun 2016
    Location
    Hamilton, New Zealand
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Simple RAW 3

    Q102

    A character with extra attacks (lets say a 12th level Paladin), takes the Magic Initiate feat, chooses sorcerer, and selects some juicy SCAG melee cantrips. Can they actually use them effectively or do they end up trading the two melee attacks for the cantrip incorporating that one attack?

    I would assume no, because Extra Attack says you can attack twice (or more depending on class) instead of once whenever you take the Attack action on your turn, and unless its quickened the cantrip is also an action, not a bonus.
    "What we do in life, echoes in eternity."

  13. - Top - End - #223
    Bugbear in the Playground
    Join Date
    Apr 2016

    Default Re: Simple RAW 3

    A102

    You are correct. Extra Attack only works with the Attack action, not with anything else that grants an attack like a SCAG attack cantrip. This is an intentional design decision to prevent those cantrips from being must-have damage boosts for martial characters.

  14. - Top - End - #224
    Pixie in the Playground
     
    ElfRangerGuy

    Join Date
    Nov 2016

    Default Re: Simple RAW 3

    Quote Originally Posted by coredump View Post
    This is incorrect.
    This is unhelpful.

  15. - Top - End - #225
    Ogre in the Playground
     
    Arkhios's Avatar

    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Location
    Finland
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Simple RAW 3

    Quote Originally Posted by ClearlyTough69 View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by coredump View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by Maxilian View Post
    A77:You only add the Modifier if you are proficient with the weapon, so unless you have the Tavern Brawler feat, you don't add the Modifier
    This is incorrect.
    This is unhelpful.
    Let's see if I can be more helpful.

    A77 (correction): You add your ability modifier to all weapon attack rolls and weapon damage rolls. Being proficient lets you add your proficiency bonus on the attack roll. Without proficiency you still add an appropriate ability modifier - even with an improvised weapon.

    (Sorry if this has been answered/corrected already, I tried to look out for it, but didn't notice).

  16. - Top - End - #226
    Bugbear in the Playground
    Join Date
    Jun 2013

    Default Re: Simple RAW 3

    Q103 - If I get a Dex-save Hold Monster on a creature, have an infinite number of level 9 Lore Wizards, and cast a new dex-based Hold Monster every 9th round, is there anything the creature can do to get out of the paralysis?
    Last edited by Dromuthra; 2017-03-03 at 01:05 AM.

  17. - Top - End - #227
    Colossus in the Playground
     
    NecromancerGuy

    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    The Amber Temple
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Simple RAW 3

    Q104: Can you cast a Cantrip while maintaining a Concentration spell?
    Quote Originally Posted by Keld Denar View Post
    +3 Girlfriend is totally unoptimized. You are better off with a +1 Keen Witty girlfriend and then appling Greater Magic Make-up to increase her enhancement bonus.
    Homebrew
    To Do: Reboot and finish Riptide

  18. - Top - End - #228
    Ogre in the Playground
     
    Arkhios's Avatar

    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Location
    Finland
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Simple RAW 3

    Quote Originally Posted by Coidzor View Post
    Q104: Can you cast a Cantrip while maintaining a Concentration spell?
    A104: yes, you can. As per RAW, you can cast a cantrip even on the same turn you've cast a spell of 1st level or higher. (Provided you have the means to do so).

    In fact, if you cast the concentration spell on the previous round, your casting of any non-concentration spell (cantrips are spells too) on the following turns doesn't break your concentration.
    Last edited by Arkhios; 2017-03-03 at 02:02 AM.

  19. - Top - End - #229
    Dwarf in the Playground
    Join Date
    Nov 2016

    Default Re: Simple RAW 3

    Q105 can you unarmed strike as a bonus attack during a frenzy?

    Frenzy

    Starting when you choose this path at 3rd level, you can go into a frenzy when you rage. If you do so, for the Duration of your rage you can make a single melee weapon Attack as a Bonus Action on each of your turns after this one. When your rage ends, you suffer one level of Exhaustion (as described in Conditions ).
    I'm assuming not, but I thought it best to ask.

    Especially because this adds to my confusion

    https://merricb.com/2015/06/11/dd-pl...narmed-strike/

    Jeremy Crawford has additionally tweeted the following: “Addressing a nuance in the PH errata: the rule lets melee weapon attacks use unarmed strikes, despite those strikes not being weapons.”
    Last edited by Escribblings; 2017-03-03 at 05:05 AM.

  20. - Top - End - #230
    Barbarian in the Playground
    Join Date
    Sep 2011

    Default Re: Simple RAW 3

    Quote Originally Posted by Escribblings View Post
    Q105 can you unarmed strike as a bonus attack during a frenzy?



    I'm assuming not, but I thought it best to ask.

    Especially because this adds to my confusion

    https://merricb.com/2015/06/11/dd-pl...narmed-strike/
    A105 Like the quote you included says, unarmed strikes count as melee weapon attacks which means they qualify for the bonus action attack with Frenzy.

    There's a lot of confusion about the term "weapon attack" as it's used in D&D5e. Basically, as far as I can tell, it's used to mean a physical attack as opposed to a "spell attack" (which used to mean a magical attack, with or without a spell) because of certain effects (like Frenzy for weapon attacks or Wand of the War Mage for spell attacks) that care about one or the other. Looking at other books, "weapon attack" is used to identify physical attacks with or without a weapon (the Monster Manual labels both an assassin's shortsword and a dragon's claw attack as "Melee Weapon Attacks", for example) which doesn't exactly help with clarity but at least reinforces that "weapon attacks" don't have to involve manufactured weapons.
    Last edited by Lord Il Palazzo; 2017-03-03 at 11:24 AM.

  21. - Top - End - #231
    Dwarf in the Playground
    Join Date
    Nov 2016

    Default Re: Simple RAW 3

    Quote Originally Posted by Lord Il Palazzo View Post
    A105

    There's a lot of confusion about the term "weapon attack" as it's used in D&D5e. Basically, as far as I can tell, it's used to mean a physical attack as opposed to a "spell attack" ...
    I'm presuming it also excludes "special" attacks such as grapple and shove. That does make some sense, restricting the bonus to blindly hitting things, LOL.

  22. - Top - End - #232
    Ogre in the Playground
     
    Arkhios's Avatar

    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Location
    Finland
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Simple RAW 3

    Quote Originally Posted by Escribblings View Post
    I'm presuming it also excludes "special" attacks such as grapple and shove. That does make some sense, restricting the bonus to blindly hitting things, LOL.
    In general, a bonus action tells you exactly what you can do with it. There's no "generic" bonus action which would let you make an Attack action (which in turn would let you Grapple or Shove). Only if a special ability tells you can "use bonus action to grapple or shove" then you can. (Tavern Brawler and Shield Master come to mind, and both have a condition).

  23. - Top - End - #233
    Ogre in the Playground
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Prime Material Plane

    Default Re: Simple RAW 3

    Q106

    If I have proficiency with a tool and a skill and I am doing something involving both of them
    (ex: performance using a musical instrument), I only apply my proficiency bonus once?

  24. - Top - End - #234
    Dwarf in the Playground
     
    NecromancerGirl

    Join Date
    Oct 2016

    Default Re: Simple RAW 3

    Quote Originally Posted by GnomeGninjas View Post
    Q106

    If I have proficiency with a tool and a skill and I am doing something involving both of them
    (ex: performance using a musical instrument), I only apply my proficiency bonus once?
    A 106
    Mostly. In this situation it would just be a Perform check. If you didn't have proficiency in that certain musical instrument then you would most certainly take a penalty to the roll or just not be able to do it. In the PHB it says explicitly that "your proficiency bonus cannot be added to a single die roll or other number more than once" - PHB pg173

    Some exceptions to this would be if your character had expertise in using a certain tool or in a skill check. Because Expertise allows you to apply your proficiency bonus twice, in this situation if you had expertise in the Perform skill, then you would add your proficiency bonus twice instead of once.
    Last edited by The Ship's dog; 2017-03-05 at 01:31 PM.

  25. - Top - End - #235
    Barbarian in the Playground
     
    HalflingPirate

    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Location
    Swamp of Oblivion
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Simple RAW 3

    Q 108 (out of order because I forgot to read the rules of the thread)

    What is the purpose of the hand crossbow's designation as "light"? As per page 195 in the phb, two-weapon fighting only applies with melee weapons.
    Last edited by Potato_Priest; 2017-03-06 at 01:44 AM.
    Playing the Principality of the Emeraldvale mountains in Empires 3
    Spoiler: To My Fellow Empire Players and GM
    Show
    I may tend to come across as negative, as I usually post when something is wrong or to winge, but I really like this game so far and I'm having loads of fun. Thank you everyone for making it such a great experience!

  26. - Top - End - #236
    Ogre in the Playground
     
    Dalebert's Avatar

    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    New Hampshire
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Simple RAW 3

    A 106

    Quote Originally Posted by The Ship's dog View Post
    If you didn't have proficiency in that certain musical instrument then you would most certainly take a penalty to the roll or just not be able to do it.
    Correction: Per RAW, there's no penalty for attempting something you're not proficient in other than just not getting your proficiency bonus. You can, for instance, use thieves tools and you just won't get your prof bonus. If you have proficiency in performance, and the DM decrees playing an instrument to be a performance, then you can play any instrument adding your prof bonus and whichever stat bonus your DM considers most appropriate, usually but not necessarily charisma. (PHB p.174 under Skills)
    In real estate, they say it's all about location, location, location. In D&D I say it's about action economy, action economy, action economy.

    My swashbuckler: "I like chewing bubble gum and bucklin' swashes and I'm all out of swashes!! So I'm pretty much just sitting around chewing bubble gum."

    Crystal Mage -- a homebrewed arcane tradition

  27. - Top - End - #237
    Dwarf in the Playground
     
    NecromancerGirl

    Join Date
    Oct 2016

    Default Re: Simple RAW 3

    Quote Originally Posted by Dalebert View Post
    *snip*
    Ah, thank you.

  28. - Top - End - #238
    Pixie in the Playground
    Join Date
    Jan 2016

    Default Re: Simple RAW 3

    Q 107

    Can a PC or creature with sunlight sensitivity use invisibility to let the sunlight just go through or around them and avoid the negative effects of sunlight exposure?

  29. - Top - End - #239
    Barbarian in the Playground
    Join Date
    Sep 2011

    Default Re: Simple RAW 3

    Quote Originally Posted by Surly Wizard View Post
    Q 107

    Can a PC or creature with sunlight sensitivity use invisibility to let the sunlight just go through or around them and avoid the negative effects of sunlight exposure?
    A107 A DM is free to allow this to work, but by RAW being invisible doesn't affect your perception, make you immune to lighting effects (besides your own visibility, obviously) or do anything else to overcome sunlight sensitivity.

  30. - Top - End - #240
    Orc in the Playground
     
    Arenabait's Avatar

    Join Date
    Dec 2016

    Default Re: Simple RAW 3

    Q109 Can I cast booming blade or green flame blade with a thrown dagger?
    Last edited by Arenabait; 2017-03-06 at 02:55 AM.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •