Page 9 of 29 FirstFirst 12345678910111213141516171819 ... LastLast
Results 241 to 270 of 842

Thread: Simple RAW 3

  1. - Top - End - #241
    Ogre in the Playground
     
    Arkhios's Avatar

    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Location
    Finland
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Simple RAW 3

    Quote Originally Posted by Arenabait View Post
    Q109 Can I cast booming blade or green flame blade with a thrown dagger?
    A109. No.

    "As part of the action used to cast this spell, you must make a melee attack with a weapon".

    Thrown dagger is not a melee attack.
    Last edited by Arkhios; 2017-03-06 at 03:25 AM.

  2. - Top - End - #242
    Bugbear in the Playground
     
    Goblin

    Join Date
    May 2014

    Default Re: Simple RAW 3

    Quote Originally Posted by Arkhios View Post
    A109. No.

    "As part of the action used to cast this spell, you must make a melee attack with a weapon".

    Thrown dagger is not a melee attack.
    And since the range of Booming/Greenflame Blade is 5 feet this doesn't work for a couple reasons.
    My homebrew: A list of 5e homebrew magitech augments found here, a homebrew race of devil-toads here, and the Professional, an all mundane support class. Criticism is much appreciated!

  3. - Top - End - #243
    Ogre in the Playground
     
    Arkhios's Avatar

    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Location
    Finland
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Simple RAW 3

    Quote Originally Posted by Flashy View Post
    And since the range of Booming/Greenflame Blade is 5 feet this doesn't work for a couple reasons.
    True, although I believe the part of the text I quoted is the most relevant in this regard.
    My 5th Edition D&D Homebrew:


    Politeness guarantees politeness
    Writing blue text written in cursive/italics is me being sarcastic or lighthearted, thus not intentionally offensive.

  4. - Top - End - #244
    Barbarian in the Playground
     
    Erys's Avatar

    Join Date
    Aug 2016

    Default Re: Simple RAW 3

    Quote Originally Posted by Potato_Priest View Post
    Q 108 (out of order because I forgot to read the rules of the thread)

    What is the purpose of the hand crossbow's designation as "light"? As per page 195 in the phb, two-weapon fighting only applies with melee weapons.
    A108: To be thorough.

    There are heavy crossbows, and there are light ones.

  5. - Top - End - #245
    Bugbear in the Playground
     
    Goblin

    Join Date
    May 2014

    Default Re: Simple RAW 3

    Q110: Is there a RAW answer on what kind of action applying manacles to a creature would be? I'm wondering how it would interact with the Thief's Fast Hands ability.
    My homebrew: A list of 5e homebrew magitech augments found here, a homebrew race of devil-toads here, and the Professional, an all mundane support class. Criticism is much appreciated!

  6. - Top - End - #246
    Barbarian in the Playground
    Join Date
    Sep 2011

    Default Re: Simple RAW 3

    Quote Originally Posted by Flashy View Post
    Q110: Is there a RAW answer on what kind of action applying manacles to a creature would be? I'm wondering how it would interact with the Thief's Fast Hands ability.
    A 110 The rules don't specify a particular action for putting manacles on a creature. While I think it's a reasonable use of a Thief's Fast Hands, there's nothing to stop a DM from ruling otherwise.

  7. - Top - End - #247
    Bugbear in the Playground
     
    ElfMonkGuy

    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Simple RAW 3

    Q111
    If you were playing a bear totem barbarian and a Moon Druid, could your Rage, then cast wild shape and still have the effects of rage apply to wild shape?

  8. - Top - End - #248
    Barbarian in the Playground
    Join Date
    Sep 2011

    Default Re: Simple RAW 3

    Quote Originally Posted by Fishyninja View Post
    Q111
    If you were playing a bear totem barbarian and a Moon Druid, could your Rage, then cast wild shape and still have the effects of rage apply to wild shape?
    A111 The effects of raging are all spelled out in the feature's description: "If you are able to cast spells, you can't cast them or concentrate on them while raging." This doesn't affect or stop you from using any class features besides Spellcasting/Pact Magic so it doesn't stop you from using Wild Shape (which is magical but not actually a spell) or gaining the benefits of your Rage while Wild Shaped.
    Last edited by Lord Il Palazzo; 2017-03-08 at 01:35 PM.

  9. - Top - End - #249
    Bugbear in the Playground
     
    ElfMonkGuy

    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Simple RAW 3

    Quote Originally Posted by Lord Il Palazzo View Post
    A111 The effects of raging are all spelled out in the feature's description: "If you are able to cast spells, you can't cast them or concentrate on them while raging." This doesn't affect or stop you from using any class features besides Spellcasting/Pact Magic so it doesn't stop you from using Wild Shape (which is magical but not actually a spell) or gaining the benefits of your Rage while Wild Shaped.
    Thank you. I had conflicting reports.

  10. - Top - End - #250
    Bugbear in the Playground
    Join Date
    Apr 2016

    Default Re: Simple RAW 3

    Quote Originally Posted by Lord Il Palazzo View Post
    A111 The effects of raging are all spelled out in the feature's description: "If you are able to cast spells, you can't cast them or concentrate on them while raging." This doesn't affect or stop you from using any class features besides Spellcasting/Pact Magic so it doesn't stop you from using Wild Shape (which is magical but not actually a spell) or gaining the benefits of your Rage while Wild Shaped.
    A111: Also note that you'd have to either be a Moon Druid or a Frenzy Barbarian for the combo to work in practice. A Land Druid would have to spend its action to wild shape, and then the rage would end because you didn't attack that turn. A Frenzy Barbarian could sidestep that with a bonus action attack if they were in a frenzy.

  11. - Top - End - #251
    Barbarian in the Playground
    Join Date
    Sep 2011

    Default Re: Simple RAW 3

    Quote Originally Posted by Rysto View Post
    A111: Also note that you'd have to either be a Moon Druid or a Frenzy Barbarian for the combo to work in practice. A Land Druid would have to spend its action to wild shape, and then the rage would end because you didn't attack that turn. A Frenzy Barbarian could sidestep that with a bonus action attack if they were in a frenzy.
    R111 It's a fair point, but it's not quite as simple as that. (Taking damage would also keep your rage from ending and you could also keep your rage going by making an opportunity attack after using Wild Shape, though both are dependent on what your enemies decide to do.) That said, the two abilities do work in either order so if you want to become a bear and then rage and attack on the next turn, that might make it slightly easier to keep your rage going. (Wild Shape says "You retain the benefit of any features from your class, race, or other source and can use them if the new form is physically capable of doing so.")

  12. - Top - End - #252
    Halfling in the Playground
     
    MindFlayer

    Join Date
    Dec 2016

    Default Re: Simple RAW 3

    Q112

    The Sentinel Feat allows you to make a special opportunity attack and if it hits, the opponent doesn't move, so, if one opponent is surrounded by two or more characters, one of which has the Sentinel feat, so, if the opponent moves and both the characters use their reactions to do opportunity attacks, if the Sentinel player hits, will the other not get their opportunity attack since the opponents movement was stopped by Sentinel? Also, if the opponent is under the effect of Booming Blade, which deals damage if the target moves, still activates if the movement is stopped by Sentinel?

  13. - Top - End - #253
    Bugbear in the Playground
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location

    Default Re: Simple RAW 3

    Quote Originally Posted by DarthPenance View Post
    Q112

    The Sentinel Feat allows you to make a special opportunity attack and if it hits, the opponent doesn't move, so, if one opponent is surrounded by two or more characters, one of which has the Sentinel feat, so, if the opponent moves and both the characters use their reactions to do opportunity attacks, if the Sentinel player hits, will the other not get their opportunity attack since the opponents movement was stopped by Sentinel? Also, if the opponent is under the effect of Booming Blade, which deals damage if the target moves, still activates if the movement is stopped by Sentinel?

    A112: OA trigger before the creature actually moves out of the square. Thus it will stop movement and no Booming Blade**. While not as clear, I would say that all OA trigger when the Sentinel OA triggers.

    **This assumes you are using a grid, otherwise you can 'move' 4 feet, triggering BB before triggering OA.

  14. - Top - End - #254
    Dwarf in the Playground
    Join Date
    Nov 2016

    Default Re: Simple RAW 3

    Q113 - is the damage calculated by a magical bonfire only rolled once?

    Quote Originally Posted by Create Bonfire
    Conjuration cantrip

    Casting Time: 1 action

    Range: 60 feet

    Components: V, S

    Duration: Concentration, up to 1 minute

    You create a bonfire on ground that you can see within range. Until the spells ends, the bonfire fills a 5-foot cube. Any creature in the bonfire’s space when you cast the spell must succeed on a Dexterity saving throw or take 1d8 fire damage. A creature must also make the saving throw when it enters the bonfire’s space for the first time on a turn or ends its turn there.
    I'm grappling a bird that had had a bonfire lit under it.

    I've dragged it out of the fire to grapple a second bird.

    I've now dragged the first bird through the fire, and the second bird into the fire after the first, holding it there.

    The birds have failed their athletics checks against me.

    So on my turn they have both entered the fire once, and on its turn, one has remained there.

    So to me, that's 3 saving throws (but DM had only rolled for 2 so far, I have queried)

    The issue however is that the person who created the bonfire rolled a 1 on the damage due.

    According to the DM, because it's an area effect spell, that die is used every time the creature enters the fire as opposed to rolling the d8 every time it fails a save.

    Is he correct?

  15. - Top - End - #255
    Bugbear in the Playground
    Join Date
    Oct 2015

    Default Re: Simple RAW 3

    Quote Originally Posted by Escribblings View Post
    Q113 - is the damage calculated by a magical bonfire only rolled once?

    According to the DM, because it's an area effect spell, that die is used every time the creature enters the fire as opposed to rolling the d8 every time it fails a save.

    Is he correct?
    A113 - The rule is "If a spell or other effect deals damage to more than one target at the same time, roll the damage once for all of them." Based on the underlined section, the damage should be rolled again when it occurs at separate times.

  16. - Top - End - #256
    Dwarf in the Playground
    Join Date
    Nov 2016

    Default Re: Simple RAW 3

    Quote Originally Posted by Zalabim View Post
    A113 - The rule is "If a spell or other effect deals damage to more than one target at the same time, roll the damage once for all of them." Based on the underlined section, the damage should be rolled again when it occurs at separate times.
    Could you point me to where in the PHB that is outlined?

    I've had a brief look and can't see it.

  17. - Top - End - #257
    Bugbear in the Playground
    Join Date
    Oct 2015

    Default Re: Simple RAW 3

    Combat section, page 196, top right corner. It should be somewhere in the basic rules/SRD too.

    In fact: 5e.d20srd.org/srd/combat/damageAndHealing.htm

  18. - Top - End - #258
    Bugbear in the Playground
     
    ElfMonkGuy

    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Simple RAW 3

    Q114 If you are a moon druid and wildshape.
    Do you keep any bonuses from magic items.

    For example if my character had Gauntles of Ogre Strength, would the Wild Shape still retain the 19 STR or not?

  19. - Top - End - #259
    Barbarian in the Playground
     
    Erys's Avatar

    Join Date
    Aug 2016

    Default Re: Simple RAW 3

    Quote Originally Posted by Fishyninja View Post
    Q114 If you are a moon druid and wildshape.
    Do you keep any bonuses from magic items.

    For example if my character had Gauntles of Ogre Strength, would the Wild Shape still retain the 19 STR or not?
    A114: If you wildshape to a form that can wear the gauntlets, you can opt to ;keep them worn; when you change and use the benefits of said magic item. If you merge/drop any magic items when you change forms the magic from those items will not affect the new form.

  20. - Top - End - #260
    Ogre in the Playground
     
    Dalebert's Avatar

    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    New Hampshire
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Simple RAW 3

    Q 115 Rogues can't get sneak attack if they have disadvantage. If they get advantage to offset it so that they attack normally, does that still apply? (Assuming they qualify for sneak attack via some other means, of course, like an adjacent ally)

    EDIT: I found the answer so I'll post it in case others were also wondering.

    A 115 No, it no longer applies and the rogue can still get sneak attack.

    "If circumstances cause a roll to have both advantage and disadvantage, you are considered to have neither of them , and you roll one d20."
    Last edited by Dalebert; 2017-03-09 at 11:37 PM.
    If you cast Dispel Magic on my Gust of Wind, does that mean you're disgusting?

    In real estate, they say it's all about location, location, location. In D&D I say it's about action economy, action economy, action economy.

    Crystal Mage -- a homebrewed arcane tradition

  21. - Top - End - #261
    Pixie in the Playground
     
    ElfRangerGuy

    Join Date
    Nov 2016

    Default Re: Simple RAW 3

    Quote Originally Posted by Erys View Post
    A108: To be thorough.

    There are heavy crossbows, and there are light ones.
    And stangely enough, light crossbows aren't light.

    The real reason a hand crossbow is light is so that you can use the Crossbow Expert feat to shoot the light crossbow with one hand as a bonus action when you make a melee weapon attack with the other. In fact, I think you may even be able to shoot two crossbows on your turn if you have one in each hand (away from books).

  22. - Top - End - #262
    Ogre in the Playground
     
    Arkhios's Avatar

    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Location
    Finland
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Simple RAW 3

    Quote Originally Posted by ClearlyTough69 View Post
    And stangely enough, light crossbows aren't light.

    The real reason a hand crossbow is light is so that you can use the Crossbow Expert feat to shoot the light crossbow with one hand as a bonus action when you make a melee weapon attack with the other. In fact, I think you may even be able to shoot two crossbows on your turn if you have one in each hand (away from books).
    It might be an oversight, either because they intended to allow two-weapon fighting with all light weapons by default, or they forgot that two-weapon fighting requires two light melee weapons. If they want us to believe that feats are an optional rule, making hand crossbow light only for the feat to work properly is counterintuitive, and it's also redundant. Anyone can hold and attack with two one-handed weapons if they have enough attacks to make (Extra Attack) in a turn. They don't have to be light in that case. Two-Weapon Fighting only lets you do another attack if you wield two light melee weapon as a bonus action. If Dual Wielder allows it for non-light weapons, Crossbow Expert could as well allow this with hand crossbow.

    Hand Crossbow could work just as well without the two-handed property (which absence already makes it by definition a one-handed weapon).
    Last edited by Arkhios; 2017-03-10 at 06:59 AM.

  23. - Top - End - #263
    Dwarf in the Playground
    Join Date
    Nov 2016

    Default Re: Simple RAW 3

    Q116 - Warlock pacts and patrons

    Stupid question time, I'm a little confused.

    Can you make any pact (blade, chain, tome) with any patron?

    Or are they restricted to blade/fiend, chain/goo, tome/fey?

  24. - Top - End - #264
    Bugbear in the Playground
     
    Goblin

    Join Date
    May 2014

    Default Re: Simple RAW 3

    Quote Originally Posted by Escribblings View Post
    Q116 - Warlock pacts and patrons

    Stupid question time, I'm a little confused.

    Can you make any pact (blade, chain, tome) with any patron?

    Or are they restricted to blade/fiend, chain/goo, tome/fey?
    A116: There are no restrictions on your patron/pact combinations. You could play a blade/fiend, a chain/fiend, or a tome/fiend. The same holds true for the others.
    My homebrew: A list of 5e homebrew magitech augments found here, a homebrew race of devil-toads here, and the Professional, an all mundane support class. Criticism is much appreciated!

  25. - Top - End - #265
    Dwarf in the Playground
    Join Date
    Nov 2016

    Default Re: Simple RAW 3

    Thanks, I thought that was the case, but just couldn't get my head round it for some reason.

  26. - Top - End - #266
    Dwarf in the Playground
     
    Flumph

    Join Date
    Jan 2016

    Default Re: Simple RAW 3

    Q117 - Life domain Cleric feature "Disciple of Life" and the spell "Regenerate"

    If a Life Domain cleric casts Regenerate, will the bonus healing from Disciple of Life affect the initial healing of the spell only, or does it also buff the ongoing healing?

  27. - Top - End - #267
    Pixie in the Playground
    Join Date
    Jan 2016

    Default Re: Simple RAW 3

    Q 118

    Stairs: difficult terrain?

  28. - Top - End - #268
    Barbarian in the Playground
     
    Arenabait's Avatar

    Join Date
    Dec 2016

    Default Re: Simple RAW 3

    Q119: Obnoxiously Lucky.

    How do the "Lucky" feat and the Warlock Fiend patron ability "Dark One's Own Luck" Interact? Do I roll 1d20+1d10 twice and choose which to use? Do I roll a single d10 and add it to both rolls? Do I only apply it to one roll?

    Edit: Used italics instead of embolding it, so I fixed that
    Last edited by Arenabait; 2017-03-13 at 12:36 AM.

  29. - Top - End - #269
    Bugbear in the Playground
     
    HalflingPirate

    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Location
    Swamp of Oblivion
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Simple RAW 3

    Quote Originally Posted by Arenabait View Post
    Q119: Obnoxiously Lucky.

    How do the "Lucky" feat and the Warlock Fiend patron ability "Dark One's Own Luck" Interact? Do I roll 1d20+1d10 twice and choose which to use? Do I roll a single d10 and add it to both rolls? Do I only apply it to one roll?

    Edit: Used italics instead of embolding it, so I fixed that
    You roll a single d10 and add it to both rolls, I believe. Away from book atm, though.
    Spoiler: To My Fellow Empire Players and GM
    Show
    I may tend to come across as negative, as I usually post when something is wrong or to winge, but I really like this game so far and I'm having loads of fun. Thank you everyone for making it such a great experience!

  30. - Top - End - #270
    Barbarian in the Playground
     
    NecromancerGuy

    Join Date
    Jul 2016

    Default Re: Simple RAW 3

    Quote Originally Posted by Arenabait View Post
    Q119: Obnoxiously Lucky.

    How do the "Lucky" feat and the Warlock Fiend patron ability "Dark One's Own Luck" Interact? Do I roll 1d20+1d10 twice and choose which to use? Do I roll a single d10 and add it to both rolls? Do I only apply it to one roll?

    Edit: Used italics instead of embolding it, so I fixed that
    Quote Originally Posted by Potato_Priest View Post
    You roll a single d10 and add it to both rolls, I believe. Away from book atm, though.
    That is indeed correct.
    Join a Bleach freeform game here!

    Spoiler: Quotes in the Playground!
    Show
    Quote Originally Posted by JumboWheat01 View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by Red Fel View Post
    Welcome to the Dark Side. We have scented hand towels.
    I thought you were supposed to have cookies. I was promised cookies.
    Quote Originally Posted by Segev View Post
    Speaking as a necromancer, I just don't get why people can't leave a guy to raise a family in peace.

    And they get all offended when I take some commonly-given advice and go out to make new friends.



    I have an irrational hatred of ogres and scorpions.


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •