Page 7 of 50 FirstFirst 123456789101112131415161732 ... LastLast
Results 181 to 210 of 1474
  1. - Top - End - #181
    Titan in the Playground
     
    ElfRangerGuy

    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Imagination Land
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Simple RAW Thread for 3.5 #33: Doesn't everything popular die when 33?

    A 98

    A spell which protects against intrusion, by definition, will only prevent someone from entering the protected area.
    "Nothing you can't spell will ever work." - Will Rogers

    "What you must learn is that these rules are no different than the rules of a computer system. Some of them can be bent. Others can be broken." - Morpheus, The Matrix

    Quote Originally Posted by Krellen View Post
    Remember, Evil isn't "selfish". It's Evil. "Look out for number one" is a Neutral attitude. Evil looks out for number one while crushing number two.

  2. - Top - End - #182
    Pixie in the Playground
     
    RedWizardGuy

    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Simple RAW Thread for 3.5 #33: Doesn't everything popular die when 33?

    Q99 Maneuvers such as War Masters Charge grant a charge attack. Does this granted charge attack work with either of the feats Shield Charge or Shield Slam?

    Q100If the free trip from Shield Charge does work with maneuvers granting a charge, does the +4 and free attack from improved trip apply, as I haven't sacrificed an attack to make a trip attack?

  3. - Top - End - #183
    Halfling in the Playground
     
    BlackDragon

    Join Date
    Feb 2016

    Default Re: Simple RAW Thread for 3.5 #33: Doesn't everything popular die when 33?

    Q101

    Iron Heart Endurance heals "2 x your level" in HP. Is that character level or initiator level?

  4. - Top - End - #184
    Dwarf in the Playground
    Join Date
    Oct 2013

    Default Re: Simple RAW Thread for 3.5 #33: Doesn't everything popular die when 33?

    A80 Not that I'm aware of. The place to check is over there.

    Quote Originally Posted by VisitingDaGulag View Post
    Persistent spell reads, "Spells of instantaneous duration cannot be affected by this feat, nor can spells whose effects are discharged." [CArc81]

    Q 91: Clearly Divine Insight [SpC70] cannot be persisted because its duration says "x/level or until discharged." But Death Throes [SpC60] has a duration of "x/level or until y" but y is not specifically "discharged". Since the y effect does end the spell, does this count as "discharged" for persisting even though the spell never uses the term?
    Page bump
    Last edited by VisitingDaGulag; 2017-08-02 at 05:21 PM.

  5. - Top - End - #185
    Ogre in the Playground
     
    mattie_p's Avatar

    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    <<Undetected>>
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Simple RAW Thread for 3.5 #33: Doesn't everything popular die when 33?

    Quote Originally Posted by VisitingDaGulag View Post
    Persistent spell reads, "Spells of instantaneous duration cannot be affected by this feat, nor can spells whose effects are discharged." [CArc81]

    Q 91: Clearly Divine Insight [SpC70] cannot be persisted because its duration says "x/level or until discharged." But Death Throes [SpC60] has a duration of "x/level or until y" but y is not specifically "discharged". Since the y effect does end the spell, does this count as "discharged" for persisting even though the spell never uses the term?
    A 91: It may not be affected by Persistent Spell.

    Discharge is a defined term:

    Quote Originally Posted by SRD
    Discharge
    Occasionally a spells lasts for a set duration or until triggered or discharged.
    Death Throes is triggered by the character's death, therefore it may not be persisted.

    Quote Originally Posted by Sniper View Post
    Q99 Maneuvers such as War Masters Charge grant a charge attack. Does this granted charge attack work with either of the feats Shield Charge or Shield Slam?

    Q100If the free trip from Shield Charge does work with maneuvers granting a charge, does the +4 and free attack from improved trip apply, as I haven't sacrificed an attack to make a trip attack?
    A 99: Yes (to shield charge). No (to shield slam) From p39-40 of Tome Of Battle

    Quote Originally Posted by ToB
    Actions during a Maneuver:The Initiation Action line of a maneuver provides the action required to use that maneuver. For example,
    the initation action of the radiant charge maneuver is 1 full round action. Thus, as part of your full round action, you bring about the effect in the maneuver description. In this case, the maneuver allows you you to make a charge attack with a number of additional benefits.
    A character may make an attack during a charge with their shield during a charge, thus triggering shield charge. Shield Slam requires its own "initation action" of a full round action or a charge action and is incompatible with the maneuver.

    Q:100 Yes. After the attack as part of the charge, the trip attempt is automatic (as is the bonus from improved trip, which is not an action), and if successful in the trip attempt, the free attack from improved trip is as well. You make the free attack at the same attack bonus as your initial attack with the shield.
    Last edited by mattie_p; 2017-08-02 at 09:25 PM. Reason: answering additional questions
    This forum may use my name, simulated likeness, and/or words for any entertainment purposes or signature quotes.

    Chairman Emeritus of Zinc Saucier. It is just like Iron Chef but comes with double the prize money.

    Spoiler
    Show
    Prizes:
    Eglath - 2nd Place Iron Chef XXXII

    Avatar by Derjuin, sing her praises to Elysium.

    Quote Originally Posted by Psyren View Post
    So now you're claiming that spellcasting "lacks a clear, supernatural element?" Being supernatural is literally the only point of magic.

  6. - Top - End - #186
    Titan in the Playground
     
    Thurbane's Avatar

    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Terra Australis
    Gender
    Male

    Exclamation Re: Simple RAW Thread for 3.5 #33: Doesn't everything popular die when 33?

    Quote Originally Posted by Draculstar View Post
    Q101

    Iron Heart Endurance heals "2 x your level" in HP. Is that character level or initiator level?
    A 101

    Compare to the text for Burning Blade:

    Quote Originally Posted by ToB
    For the rest of your turn, your melee attacks deal an extra 1d6 points of fire damage + 1 point per initiator level.
    IHE lacks the "initiator level" clause, so I think it safe to assume it does not refer to IL.

    The D&D glossary says this:

    level
    A measure of advancement or power applied to several areas of the game. See caster level, character level, class level, and spell level.
    character level
    A character's total level. For a character with levels in only one class, class level and character level are the same thing.
    class level
    A character's level in a single class. Class features generally depend on class level rather than character level.
    It's not 100% clear whether you would use your class level (i.e. Warblade level) or character level. As this boost can theoretically be picked up with the Martial Study feat, I'd be inclined to say character level, but check with your DM.
    Villainous Competition XXIX - Halloween Special

    Saying that someone reading RAW differently than you is "home brewing or house ruling, but that's fine" doesn't make you right, it just makes you seem pompous.

  7. - Top - End - #187
    Ogre in the Playground
     
    Debatra's Avatar

    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Kaeda
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Simple RAW Thread for 3.5 #33: Doesn't everything popular die when 33?

    C 101

    Wait, does that mean that the parts of spell descriptions (duration, range, etc) that just refer to level and not specifically "caster level" are actually checking for character level as well? That seems counter-intuitive; but now that I think of it, I can't recall any RAW that says otherwise.
    Kaedanis Pyran, tai faernae.

    Spoiler: Quotes
    Show
    Quote Originally Posted by Lycan 01 View Post
    Roland just endorsed a crack pairing?


    Did... did we break the universe?
    Quote Originally Posted by SassyQuatch View Post
    It is a major flaw in the game. Destroy a moon? Sure. Talk to somebody a hundred miles away, that's going to be difficult.
    Quote Originally Posted by Rizban View Post
    Realistically speaking... D&D style magic doesn't exist, so... let's ignore reality.

  8. - Top - End - #188
    Titan in the Playground
     
    ElfRangerGuy

    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Imagination Land
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Simple RAW Thread for 3.5 #33: Doesn't everything popular die when 33?

    Quote Originally Posted by Debatra View Post
    C 101

    Wait, does that mean that the parts of spell descriptions (duration, range, etc) that just refer to level and not specifically "caster level" are actually checking for character level as well? That seems counter-intuitive; but now that I think of it, I can't recall any RAW that says otherwise.
    A 101 continued

    No. Look for the details in the Magic Overview section.

    Caster Level

    A spellís power often depends on its caster level, which for most spellcasting characters is equal to your class level in the class youíre using to cast the spell.

    You can cast a spell at a lower caster level than normal, but the caster level you choose must be high enough for you to cast the spell in question, and all level-dependent features must be based on the same caster level.

    In the event that a class feature, domain granted power, or other special ability provides an adjustment to your caster level, that adjustment applies not only to effects based on caster level (such as range, duration, and damage dealt) but also to your caster level check to overcome your targetís spell resistance and to the caster level used in dispel checks (both the dispel check and the DC of the check).
    Close

    The spell reaches as far as 25 feet away from you. The maximum range increases by 5 feet for every two full caster levels.

    Medium

    The spell reaches as far as 100 feet + 10 feet per caster level.

    Long

    The spell reaches as far as 400 feet + 40 feet per caster level.
    "Nothing you can't spell will ever work." - Will Rogers

    "What you must learn is that these rules are no different than the rules of a computer system. Some of them can be bent. Others can be broken." - Morpheus, The Matrix

    Quote Originally Posted by Krellen View Post
    Remember, Evil isn't "selfish". It's Evil. "Look out for number one" is a Neutral attitude. Evil looks out for number one while crushing number two.

  9. - Top - End - #189
    Barbarian in the Playground
     
    St Fan's Avatar

    Join Date
    May 2010
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Simple RAW Thread for 3.5 #33: Doesn't everything popular die when 33?

    Q 102

    A few shapeshifting effects, like Wild Shape or Alter Self (if you choose so) allows you to merge the whole of your equipment into the transmuted form. They naturally cannot be used any longer, and magical items stop having their effect as long as merged.

    A) Can the magic of items so merged is still noticeable by effect such as Detect Magic?

    B) Can Locate Object or similar magic still pinpoint a merged item? In other words, are such items still in existence?

    C) What if one piece of equipment merged is an Item Familiar? Clearly, its powers as a magic item cannot be used, but is it still considered to be in possession of the character? If life energy, skill ranks or spell slots have been invested in the item, does the character still have access to them?

    Q 103

    Somewhat related to the above: Baleful Polymorph and similar effects have, on the contrary, for rule that "All items worn or carried by the subject fall to the ground at its feet, even if they could be worn or carried by the new form."

    What happens if a character sporting the "Monk Tattoo" magical item falls victim of a Baleful Polymorph?
    Last edited by St Fan; 2017-08-03 at 03:31 PM.
    Spoiler
    Show

    DM: At the end of the meal, the innkeeper is bringing you the cheese plate. Roll for initiative.
    PC: Excuse me, what?
    DM: I said, roll for initiative. They like their cheese really ripe in these parts. They have the ooze type.


    "Excuse me, but... is it a GOOD or a BAD thing when the DM can't help bursting into laughter every time he hears the phrase 'level-appropriate encounter'? No, just curious..."

  10. - Top - End - #190
    Ogre in the Playground
     
    RogueGuy

    Join Date
    Aug 2014

    Default Re: Simple RAW Thread for 3.5 #33: Doesn't everything popular die when 33?

    Quote Originally Posted by St Fan View Post
    Q 102

    A few shapeshifting effects, like Wild Shape or Alter Self (if you choose so) allows you to merge the whole of your equipment into the transmuted form. They naturally cannot be used any longer, and magical items stop having their effect as long as merged.

    A) Can the magic of items so merged is still noticeable by effect such as Detect Magic?

    B) Can Locate Object or similar magic still pinpoint a merged item? In other words, are such items still in existence?

    C) What if one piece of equipment merged is an Item Familiar? Clearly, its powers as a magic item cannot be used, but is it still considered to be in possession of the character? If life energy, skill ranks or spell slots have been invested in the item, does the character still have access to them?

    Q 103

    Somewhat related to the above: Baleful Polymorph and similar effects have, on the contrary, for rule that "All items worn or carried by the subject fall to the ground at its feet, even if they could be worn or carried by the new form."

    What happens if a character sporting the "Monk Tattoo" magical item falls victim of a Baleful Polymorph?
    A 102A
    It appears that detect magic can detect the auras of magic items subsumed in wildshape form, as there is only one clause saying that they may be obscured, and that has to deal with how powerful an effect the wildshape is relative to the strength of the item's enchantment. http://www.d20srd.org/srd/spells/detectMagic.htm Wildshape is a supernatural ability, but it does present a magical aura as a magical based ability. So yes, detect magic can detect the item's magical signature. Nothing in the abilities say that the magic auras are subsumed.

    A102 B
    This is much more clear: locate object cannot detect the object as it is pinned to a mental picture in the caster's brain. Now if the caster saw the aura of said item through a previous casting of detect magic...I would rule zero that cleverness. But that area is uncovered by RAW. But looking for a specific item based on it's non-aura appearance would fail.

    Quote Originally Posted by Locate object
    Attempting to find a certain item requires a specific and accurate mental image; if the image is not close enough to the actual object, the spell fails.
    A 102 C
    When an item familiar is inside your altered form, it is literally IN your possession. However, the particular type of activation of the item familiar's ability will be affected if it requires an action type by the possessor. You need to manipulate the object somehow in order to activate any of it's actions, but it appears that continuous effects would continue to occur. If the item itself is activating powers, that is the DM's call. It would typically need line of effect, and may not be able to swing that from inside a creature depending on the particular power.

    A 103
    This is again, DM territory. The monk tattoo classification as an item is a paraphyletic one. So it makes sense that the tattoo would be a part of the transformed shape. It also makes sense that it would be over-ridden by the magic of the polymorph curse. Perhaps a magic item saving throw is the best way to adjudicate this one.




    Q. 104
    Magic of the dragonheart has the following text and lasts hours per caster level:
    While this spell is active, you are considered to have two more draconic feats than normal for the purpose of determining the benefit of your draconic feats.
    A. Do these virtual draconic feats stack?

    B. If I am a dragonblood sorcerer 4th level sub level where you trade spell slots to turn a spell into an SLA, does magic of the dragonheart activate your draconic feats at half of your caster level when used as an SLA?

  11. - Top - End - #191
    Ogre in the Playground
    Join Date
    Feb 2014

    Default Re: Simple RAW Thread for 3.5 #33: Doesn't everything popular die when 33?

    Q105

    Can you use Magic Vestment on Mage Armor and Greater Mage Armor?

  12. - Top - End - #192
    Ogre in the Playground
     
    Debatra's Avatar

    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Kaeda
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Simple RAW Thread for 3.5 #33: Doesn't everything popular die when 33?

    A 105 You can not.
    Kaedanis Pyran, tai faernae.

    Spoiler: Quotes
    Show
    Quote Originally Posted by Lycan 01 View Post
    Roland just endorsed a crack pairing?


    Did... did we break the universe?
    Quote Originally Posted by SassyQuatch View Post
    It is a major flaw in the game. Destroy a moon? Sure. Talk to somebody a hundred miles away, that's going to be difficult.
    Quote Originally Posted by Rizban View Post
    Realistically speaking... D&D style magic doesn't exist, so... let's ignore reality.

  13. - Top - End - #193
    Barbarian in the Playground
    Join Date
    Jan 2007

    Default Re: Simple RAW Thread for 3.5 #33: Doesn't everything popular die when 33?

    Quote Originally Posted by daremetoidareyo View Post
    Q. 104
    Magic of the dragonheart has the following text and lasts hours per caster level:


    A. Do these virtual draconic feats stack?

    B. If I am a dragonblood sorcerer 4th level sub level where you trade spell slots to turn a spell into an SLA, does magic of the dragonheart activate your draconic feats at half of your caster level when used as an SLA?
    A 104

    A: No. Due to the wording of the spell, no matter how many times you cast it you will still only be considered to have two extra feats.

    B: Yes. The SLA should have the same effect as the spell.

  14. - Top - End - #194
    Ogre in the Playground
     
    Yael's Avatar

    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    Ensenada, Mťxico.
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Simple RAW Thread for 3.5 #33: Doesn't everything popular die when 33?

    Q106 Does a skeleton with a fighter base retains its armor proficiencies?

    Q107 Does a skeleton with Exotic Weapon Proficiency retains its weapon proficiency even after losing the feat?
    Last edited by Yael; 2017-08-05 at 04:40 AM.
    Quote Originally Posted by Ursus the Grim View Post
    "Narass, what's the scouter say about their power level?"

    "**** if I know."
    >> My Extended Signature <<

    Hey guys, I'm a vestige! And a spell!

    Awesome avatar by linklele.

  15. - Top - End - #195
    Ogre in the Playground
     
    AssassinGuy

    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Location
    Your shadow
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Simple RAW Thread for 3.5 #33: Doesn't everything popular die when 33?

    Quote Originally Posted by Yael View Post
    Q106 Does a skeleton with a fighter base retains its armor proficiencies?

    Q107 Does a skeleton with Exotic Weapon Proficiency retains its weapon proficiency even after losing the feat?
    A106 No, it loses all class HD and with losing those comes losing class features

    A107 No, you lose the benefits of feats if you lose the feats
    My extended signature

    Fight my brute! It's a fun game if you have enough free time

    Quote Originally Posted by ezekielraiden View Post
    You don't convince by proving someone wrong. You convince by showing them a better way to be right. The difference may seem subtle or semantic, but I assure you it matters a lot.

  16. - Top - End - #196
    Dwarf in the Playground
     
    2gig's Avatar

    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Simple RAW Thread for 3.5 #33: Doesn't everything popular die when 33?

    Q108 Can a character with fewer than four levels in ranger (no spells known, no spell slots) use wands and scrolls for ranger spells without UMD?

  17. - Top - End - #197
    Ogre in the Playground
     
    AssassinGuy

    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Location
    Your shadow
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Simple RAW Thread for 3.5 #33: Doesn't everything popular die when 33?

    Quote Originally Posted by 2gig View Post
    Q108 Can a character with fewer than four levels in ranger (no spells known, no spell slots) use wands and scrolls for ranger spells without UMD?
    A108

    Wands are Spell Trigger so yes
    Quote Originally Posted by SRD
    Spell Trigger
    Spell trigger activation is similar to spell completion, but itís even simpler. No gestures or spell finishing is needed, just a special knowledge of spellcasting that an appropriate character would know, and a single word that must be spoken. Anyone with a spell on his or her spell list knows how to use a spell trigger item that stores that spell. (This is the case even for a character who canít actually cast spells, such as a 3rd-level paladin.) The user must still determine what spell is stored in the item before she can activate it. Activating a spell trigger item is a standard action and does not provoke attacks of opportunity.
    Scrolls are Spell Completion
    Quote Originally Posted by SRD
    Spell Completion
    This is the activation method for scrolls. A scroll is a spell that is mostly finished. The preparation is done for the caster, so no preparation time is needed beforehand as with normal spellcasting. All thatís left to do is perform the finishing parts of the spellcasting (the final gestures, words, and so on). To use a spell completion item safely, a character must be of high enough level in the right class to cast the spell already. If he canít already cast the spell, thereís a chance heíll make a mistake. Activating a spell completion item is a standard action and provokes attacks of opportunity exactly as casting a spell does.
    More rules on activating a scroll
    Quote Originally Posted by SRD
    To have any chance of activating a scroll spell, the scroll user must meet the following requirements.

    The spell must be of the correct type (arcane or divine). Arcane spellcasters (wizards, sorcerers, and bards) can only use scrolls containing arcane spells, and divine spellcasters (clerics, druids, paladins, and rangers) can only use scrolls containing divine spells. (The type of scroll a character creates is also determined by his or her class.)
    The user must have the spell on his or her class list.
    The user must have the requisite ability score.
    If the user meets all the requirements noted above, and her caster level is at least equal to the spellís caster level, she can automatically activate the spell without a check. If she meets all three requirements but her own caster level is lower than the scroll spellís caster level, then she has to make a caster level check (DC = scrollís caster level + 1) to cast the spell successfully. If she fails, she must make a DC 5 Wisdom check to avoid a mishap (see Scroll Mishaps, below). A natural roll of 1 always fails, whatever the modifiers.
    This should be enough to answer your question

    TL;DR: Yes for Wands. Yes for scrolls but there is a chance of mishap
    My extended signature

    Fight my brute! It's a fun game if you have enough free time

    Quote Originally Posted by ezekielraiden View Post
    You don't convince by proving someone wrong. You convince by showing them a better way to be right. The difference may seem subtle or semantic, but I assure you it matters a lot.

  18. - Top - End - #198
    Titan in the Playground
     
    ElfRangerGuy

    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Imagination Land
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Simple RAW Thread for 3.5 #33: Doesn't everything popular die when 33?

    A 108 addition

    Before level 4, a Ranger has no Caster Level, so they may be considered unable to make the CL check necessary to activate a scroll.
    "Nothing you can't spell will ever work." - Will Rogers

    "What you must learn is that these rules are no different than the rules of a computer system. Some of them can be bent. Others can be broken." - Morpheus, The Matrix

    Quote Originally Posted by Krellen View Post
    Remember, Evil isn't "selfish". It's Evil. "Look out for number one" is a Neutral attitude. Evil looks out for number one while crushing number two.

  19. - Top - End - #199
    Titan in the Playground
     
    Thurbane's Avatar

    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Terra Australis
    Gender
    Male

    Exclamation Re: Simple RAW Thread for 3.5 #33: Doesn't everything popular die when 33?

    A 108

    FWIW, the official 3.5 FAQ says this (in regards to wands), in agreement with the answers above:

    Quote Originally Posted by Main 3.5 FAQ p.49
    For example, a paladin of 1st, 2nd, or 3rd level has not yet gained any spellcasting ability, but she still can use spell trigger items that store spells on the paladin class list.
    .

    It is silent of how this interacts with spell completion items.
    Villainous Competition XXIX - Halloween Special

    Saying that someone reading RAW differently than you is "home brewing or house ruling, but that's fine" doesn't make you right, it just makes you seem pompous.

  20. - Top - End - #200
    Bugbear in the Playground
     
    ArqArturo's Avatar

    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Hermosillo, Sonora, Mexic
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Simple RAW Thread for 3.5 #33: Doesn't everything popular die when 33?

    I'm building a character: A Goliath Paladin, but I'm going to add the Dragonborn Template.

    Does the template (thus removing the racial and extraordinary abilities of the Goliath) also remove the +1 Level adjustment?.
    MAGIC, n. An art of converting superstition into coin. There are other arts serving the same high purpose, but the discreet lexicographer does not name them.

    Taken from The Devil's Dictionary

    Spoiler
    Show
    My Warmage Guidebook (notice I said Guidebook, not Handbook), still in the works.

    Pathfinder's Inquisitor Handbook.

    Quote Originally Posted by Jeff the Green View Post
    And they only speak barbarian tongues, which naturally consists of saying "bar bar bar" over and over again.

  21. - Top - End - #201
    Dwarf in the Playground
     
    HisHighestMinio's Avatar

    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Location
    The system of Sol

    Default Re: Simple RAW Thread for 3.5 #33: Doesn't everything popular die when 33?

    Quote Originally Posted by ArqArturo View Post
    Q109 I'm building a character: A Goliath Paladin, but I'm going to add the Dragonborn Template.

    Does the template (thus removing the racial and extraordinary abilities of the Goliath) also remove the +1 Level adjustment?.
    A109
    No. Goliath is worth +1 LA, adding a suboptimal template that overrides its abilities doesn't change that.
    My username should have been HisHighestMinion, with an N.
    15 is an unusual character limit.

    Avatar by Honest Tiefling

  22. - Top - End - #202
    Bugbear in the Playground
     
    Randuir's Avatar

    Join Date
    May 2017

    Default Re: Simple RAW Thread for 3.5 #33: Doesn't everything popular die when 33?

    Q110

    If a creature gets hit by am effect that reduces an attribute but that can't reduce it below 1(such as ray of enfeeblement), and then gets hit by something that damages the same attribute and that can bring it to 0, does the 'non-lethal' effect correct the damage so the creature remains at 1, or does it get downed?

    Numerical example: minion 85 has 11 strength. He first gets hit by ray of enfeeblement that deals 6 str damage that drops it's strength to 5. Minion 85 then takes 5 str damage from another source, does the damage from ray of enfeeblement correct to effectively 5, so minion 85 now has 1 str, or does it get dropped to 0?

  23. - Top - End - #203
    Titan in the Playground
     
    ElfRangerGuy

    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Imagination Land
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Simple RAW Thread for 3.5 #33: Doesn't everything popular die when 33?

    Re: 110

    You example is flawed. Ray of enfeeblement does not deal Strength damage.
    Quote Originally Posted by Ray of Enfeeblement
    The subject takes a penalty to Strength equal to 1d6+1 per two caster levels (maximum 1d6+5). The subjectís Strength score cannot drop below 1.
    So if Minion 85 gets hit by ray of enfeeblement and takes a -6 penalty to Strength, he still has a Strength of 11 but operates as if it were only a 5 for the duration of the spell. If he takes 5 points of actual Strength damage from another source, his Strength score will drop to 6 with an effective value of 1 because ray of enfeeblement's penalty cannot drop it all the way to zero.
    "Nothing you can't spell will ever work." - Will Rogers

    "What you must learn is that these rules are no different than the rules of a computer system. Some of them can be bent. Others can be broken." - Morpheus, The Matrix

    Quote Originally Posted by Krellen View Post
    Remember, Evil isn't "selfish". It's Evil. "Look out for number one" is a Neutral attitude. Evil looks out for number one while crushing number two.

  24. - Top - End - #204
    Ogre in the Playground
     
    AssassinGuy

    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Location
    Your shadow
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Simple RAW Thread for 3.5 #33: Doesn't everything popular die when 33?

    Q111 Is there any way to apply a metamagic feat multiple times to a spell?
    My extended signature

    Fight my brute! It's a fun game if you have enough free time

    Quote Originally Posted by ezekielraiden View Post
    You don't convince by proving someone wrong. You convince by showing them a better way to be right. The difference may seem subtle or semantic, but I assure you it matters a lot.

  25. - Top - End - #205
    Barbarian in the Playground
     
    St Fan's Avatar

    Join Date
    May 2010
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Simple RAW Thread for 3.5 #33: Doesn't everything popular die when 33?

    Q 112

    Is there any limitation (beyond the creation costs in time, money and XP) on the number of spells/powers that can be added to a single magical item through the Items Creation rule?
    Spoiler
    Show

    DM: At the end of the meal, the innkeeper is bringing you the cheese plate. Roll for initiative.
    PC: Excuse me, what?
    DM: I said, roll for initiative. They like their cheese really ripe in these parts. They have the ooze type.


    "Excuse me, but... is it a GOOD or a BAD thing when the DM can't help bursting into laughter every time he hears the phrase 'level-appropriate encounter'? No, just curious..."

  26. - Top - End - #206
    Bugbear in the Playground
     
    Ripptor's Avatar

    Join Date
    Aug 2013

    Default Re: Simple RAW Thread for 3.5 #33: Doesn't everything popular die when 33?

    Q 113

    So, I have a question about grappling/dragging:

    A Giant Wasp with the Flyby Attack and Barbed Stinger feats zips by, stings someone, uses improved grab and wins the grapple at -20 to use it's Stinger to Grapple without bring 'in a grapple'.

    Can she continue to fly away with the target, dragging them around? Can she drag them into the air, flying off with them?

  27. - Top - End - #207
    Titan in the Playground
     
    Thurbane's Avatar

    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Terra Australis
    Gender
    Male

    Exclamation Re: Simple RAW Thread for 3.5 #33: Doesn't everything popular die when 33?

    Quote Originally Posted by St Fan View Post
    Q 112

    Is there any limitation (beyond the creation costs in time, money and XP) on the number of spells/powers that can be added to a single magical item through the Items Creation rule?
    A 112

    The limitations of the custom magic item creation guidelines are very much at the discretion of the DM, so this is definitely gong to be an "ask your DM" scenario.

    I would add, however, that no item can be worth more than 200,000gp pre-epic.

    Quote Originally Posted by Ripptor View Post
    Q 113

    So, I have a question about grappling/dragging:

    A Giant Wasp with the Flyby Attack and Barbed Stinger feats zips by, stings someone, uses improved grab and wins the grapple at -20 to use it's Stinger to Grapple without bring 'in a grapple'.

    Can she continue to fly away with the target, dragging them around? Can she drag them into the air, flying off with them?
    A 113

    The grappling rules are a bit of a hot mess, but they do say this:

    Quote Originally Posted by SRD
    Move: You can move half your speed (bringing all others engaged in the grapple with you) by winning an opposed grapple check. This requires a standard action, and you must beat all the other individual check results to move the grapple.
    So in your scenario, no, the Giant Wasp can't fly off, because it doesn't have a standard action to spend that round.

    Unless I'm mistaken, the option to take a -20 to your grapple check to maintain your grapple without being considered grappled yourself can only be done if you have the Improved Grab special ability, and isn't part of the standard grappling rules.

    Quote Originally Posted by Improved Grab
    The creature has the option to conduct the grapple normally or simply use the part of its body it used in the improved grab to hold the opponent. If it chooses to do the latter, it takes a Ė20 penalty on grapple checks, but it isnít considered grappled itself. Thus, the creature isnít denied its Dexterity bonus to AC, still threatens an area, and can use its remaining attacks against other opponents.
    Villainous Competition XXIX - Halloween Special

    Saying that someone reading RAW differently than you is "home brewing or house ruling, but that's fine" doesn't make you right, it just makes you seem pompous.

  28. - Top - End - #208
    Troll in the Playground
    Join Date
    Feb 2013

    Default Re: Simple RAW Thread for 3.5 #33: Doesn't everything popular die when 33?

    Q 114
    If a nezumi uses his racial ability to take the Scent feat becomes a dragonborn does the feat continue to function?

  29. - Top - End - #209
    Troll in the Playground
    Join Date
    Feb 2013

    Default Re: Simple RAW Thread for 3.5 #33: Doesn't everything popular die when 33?

    Quote Originally Posted by HisHighestMinio View Post
    A109
    No. Goliath is worth +1 LA, adding a suboptimal template that overrides its abilities doesn't change that.
    A 109 Clarification
    Templates only change what they explicitly change. Dragonborn removes many racial features, which LA is not, and lists no change to LA, so a Goliath dragonborn is LA +1.

  30. - Top - End - #210
    Ogre in the Playground
     
    Debatra's Avatar

    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Kaeda
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Simple RAW Thread for 3.5 #33: Doesn't everything popular die when 33?

    Quote Originally Posted by Thurbane View Post
    A 113

    Unless I'm mistaken, the option to take a -20 to your grapple check to maintain your grapple without being considered grappled yourself can only be done if you have the Improved Grab special ability, and isn't part of the standard grappling rules.
    C 113

    That would be covered by the Barbed Stinger feat (Serpent Kingdoms, 144), which gives that ability.
    Kaedanis Pyran, tai faernae.

    Spoiler: Quotes
    Show
    Quote Originally Posted by Lycan 01 View Post
    Roland just endorsed a crack pairing?


    Did... did we break the universe?
    Quote Originally Posted by SassyQuatch View Post
    It is a major flaw in the game. Destroy a moon? Sure. Talk to somebody a hundred miles away, that's going to be difficult.
    Quote Originally Posted by Rizban View Post
    Realistically speaking... D&D style magic doesn't exist, so... let's ignore reality.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •