Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. - Top - End - #1
    Pixie in the Playground
     
    Devil

    Join Date
    Dec 2015

    Default Sequester spell save

    Hi there, I am reviewing the spells in the DMG, and came across an odd one, Sequester.

    From my reading of it (the SRD version, anyway) it seems to imply that there are no saves if using it against a creature.

    Specifically it states:
    Saving Throw: None or Will negates (object)
    which I believe implies Will saves only applies to objects.

    Please advise if correct.
    Last edited by kahlzun; 2017-07-17 at 06:30 PM.

  2. - Top - End - #2
    Troll in the Playground
     
    Zanos's Avatar

    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Sequester spell save

    Target: One willing creature or object (up to a 2-ft. cube/level) touched
    It's only a coma if they accept the spell.
    Last edited by Zanos; 2017-07-17 at 06:24 PM.
    If any idiot ever tells you that life would be meaningless without death, Hyperion recommends killing them!

  3. - Top - End - #3
    Pixie in the Playground
     
    Devil

    Join Date
    Dec 2015

    Default Re: Sequester spell save

    Quote Originally Posted by Zanos View Post
    It's only a coma if they accept the spell.
    Ah, I missed that bit from the SRD. Cheers.
    Last edited by kahlzun; 2017-07-17 at 06:29 PM.

  4. - Top - End - #4
    Ogre in the Playground
     
    Anxe's Avatar

    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Davis, California
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Sequester spell save

    So if you sequester an object that's held by an unwilling creature, then there's a saving throw?

  5. - Top - End - #5
    Troll in the Playground
     
    Crake's Avatar

    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Perth, Australia
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Sequester spell save

    Quote Originally Posted by Anxe View Post
    So if you sequester an object that's held by an unwilling creature, then there's a saving throw?
    According to the spell, the will save is for attended, or magical objects, so a magical object will get a save regardless of whether it's being tended or not. Magical objects have saving throws equal to 2+1/2 their caster level.

    Also, it's worth noting that for spells that require a willing target, unconscious targets are automatically considered willing, so sequester could also be cast on a sleeping (or knocked out) target with no save.
    Last edited by Crake; 2017-07-17 at 10:16 PM.
    World of Madius wiki - My personal campaign setting, including my homebrew Optional Gestalt/LA rules.
    The new Quick Vestige List

    Quote Originally Posted by Kazyan View Post
    Playing a wizard the way GitP says wizards should be played requires the equivalent time and effort investment of a university minor. Do you really want to go down this rabbit hole, or are you comfortable with just throwing a souped-up Orb of Fire at the thing?
    Quote Originally Posted by atemu1234 View Post
    Humans are rarely truly irrational, just wrong.

  6. - Top - End - #6
    Titan in the Playground
     
    Thurbane's Avatar

    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Terra Australis
    Gender
    Male

    Question Re: Sequester spell save

    Quote Originally Posted by Crake View Post
    Also, it's worth noting that for spells that require a willing target, unconscious targets are automatically considered willing, so sequester could also be cast on a sleeping (or knocked out) target with no save.
    This might be pointless RAW pedantry, but are sleeping and unconscious treated as being the same in D&D?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •