New OOTS products from CafePress
New OOTS t-shirts, ornaments, mugs, bags, and more
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
  1. - Top - End - #1
    Troll in the Playground

Default The Far Reaches (Fantasy Travelogue)

What lies behind that hill? Beyond that valley?

Let's find out together!

The world is a sword & sorcery, gritty and dangerous, low-magic to no-magic. Mysterious valley covered in dark forests that contains several ancient barrows in octagonal pattern are great, floating cities not so much.

It's also sparsely populated - larger cities exist, usually connected by trade routes. These are spots of civilization, but decaying and decadent.

And to make it a bit more interesting, let's start at one location - and make it a travelogue! So write the descriptions as if a traveler described them in a journal.

I'm mainly after interesting ideas, names of locations, but also description!

Village on Crossroads

The first thing you notice is the lack of roads leading to the village or out of it. The village is small, consists only of few families living in mud huts, with one longhouse in the center, serving both as tavern and meeting place.

The people are unfriendly and xenophobic, but are more than willing to trade. Their major form of entertainment consists of travelers, so if you tell them a story, or bring some gossip, you will be treated to a friendly reception and maybe even free meal.

However, after one or two days the locals usually start being a bit pushy.

Now, pick a direction and let's see what we can build here!
    Call me Laco or Ladislav (if you need to be formal). Avatar comes from the talented linklele.
    Formerly GMing: Riddle of Steel: Soldiers of Fortune

Quote Originally Posted by Kol Korran View Post
    Instead of having an adventure, from which a cool unexpected story may rise, you had a story, with an adventure built and designed to enable the story, but also ensure (or close to ensure) it happens.

2. - Top - End - #2