New OOTS products from CafePress
New OOTS t-shirts, ornaments, mugs, bags, and more
  1. - Top - End - #1
    Bugbear in the Playground

RedKnightGirl

Default Sphere of power. Mageknight in need of advice

ok first off I am new to the spheres system
    secondly I am making this character as a back up in case my character bites the dust

talked to the Gm and he ok'd Spheres of power

Third. yes I know I am using one of the weakest class for the
    system, But I love a Good Gish

My Question is what sphere would best work for A high damage Mageknight
    and what talents would be best for it

I character concept is a person who wields a polearm and uses the spheres to augment her abilities
    The person is to be a Tactician type and war expert.

I just need general build ideas to go off of.

2. - Top - End - #2
    Titan in the Playground

Default Re: Sphere of power. Mageknight in need of advice

Mageknight isn't a gish in the usual sense; it's more a martial with some magic tricks. That isn't a slight against it, just a note that I think helps set expectations properly.

That said, you can get some nice tricks. Are archetypes on the table? Handbook material?

3. - Top - End - #3
    Orc in the Playground

I like using combat maneuvers on the Mageknight. Grabbing Mystic Maneuver with your mystic combat + Improved/Greater Dirty Trick or Trip should work fairly well. If you get Time Shift as well, you can nova with Free Action combat maneuvers as long as you have spell points.

Below are some small packages of talents that I think works well with the Mageknight. I would suggest to quickly branch out into several different spheres so you get a variety of effects.

Alteration Sphere + Size Change
    Using Mystic Might as one of your mystic combat choices is also an option for your size increase, but having an easy way of growing large/huge is amazing on a melee polearm user.

Fate Sphere + Bless/Curse/Freedom + Echoing Word (maybe)