Page 3 of 15 FirstFirst 12345678910111213 ... LastLast
Results 61 to 90 of 429

Thread: Folding@Home

  1. - Top - End - #61
    Dwarf in the Playground
     
    Zaggab's Avatar

    Join Date
    Jun 2006

    Default Re: Folding@Home

    I can't get it to work on my laptop (Mac iBook g4). I have downloaded the client and all, but when I start it, it just says "Couldn't get work instructions"

    Any ideas?
    Yay!

  2. - Top - End - #62
    Ettin in the Playground
     
    Castaras's Avatar

    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Leicester, UK
    Gender
    Female

    Default Re: Folding@Home

    Just to say, I've had to get rid of Folding@home. It was messing up my computer.
    "I'm just going on motive and opportunity here and the fact that if the earth got swallowed by a black hole, I'd look suspiciously in your direction first."
    ~ Timberwolf

    "After the first day we universally agreed that she was banned from fire thereafter. The second day she ended up with the power to create 5 extra copies of herself."
    ~ Heliomance

    "You're like Pinkie Pie powered by a nuclear reactor."
    ~ Lix Lorn


  3. - Top - End - #63
    Dwarf in the Playground
     
    HalfOrcPirate

    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Canada

    Default Re: Folding@Home

    Quote Originally Posted by Castaras View Post
    Just to say, I've had to get rid of Folding@home. It was messing up my computer.
    It is very likely that you have used the windows graphic client. For some people there is an issue because of the graphics (check post #31 in this thread for more info). In that case, just use the console client (see post #43 for instructions).
    Now if the console client has problems, it is just about 100% likely that there is a problem with the hardware (e.g. bad RAM) or its configuration (e.g. OCed too high). (People have used this client to test their system). This is the client that is used by companies and universities for support of this project as it works everywhere.
    I do hope you give the console client a try!

  4. - Top - End - #64
    Dwarf in the Playground
     
    HalfOrcPirate

    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Canada

    Default Re: Folding@Home

    Quote Originally Posted by Zaggab View Post
    I can't get it to work on my laptop (Mac iBook g4). I have downloaded the client and all, but when I start it, it just says "Couldn't get work instructions" Any ideas?
    I won't even ask if you are online when it tries
    There are some options that might prevent you from getting work. The question about what type of project do you want - if you specify that you want project workunits without deadlines then that is a problem as there aren't any projects like that any more.

  5. - Top - End - #65
    Dwarf in the Playground
     
    Zaggab's Avatar

    Join Date
    Jun 2006

    Default Re: Folding@Home

    Quote Originally Posted by Zargon View Post
    I won't even ask if you are online when it tries
    There are some options that might prevent you from getting work. The question about what type of project do you want - if you specify that you want project workunits without deadlines then that is a problem as there aren't any projects like that any more.
    I got it started. The problem was something about proxy servers (which I don't actually know what it is). I just typed something at random, and voila! It works.

    At least at school...
    Yay!

  6. - Top - End - #66
    Orc in the Playground
     
    RedWizardGuy

    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Indianapolis, IN
    Gender
    Male2Female

    Default Re: Folding@Home

    Ah, finally something I know something about!

    A proxy server is pretty much what it sounds like. It is a server that companies (or schools) put in place between yourself and the Internet. All traffic heading for the web must go to this proxy server in order to get out. This includes traffic like downloads from Folding@Home. They do this so they can filter the Internet (i.e. make sure you don't surf porn at work/school).

    While you're at home, you won't have a proxy server (in 99%) of the cases. So if you have trouble downloading the work at home, it's because you have a proxy server set up in the client when you don't need one.

    I hope that made at least a little sense. If you have further trouble with downloading (due to proxy), I can offer for specific help.

  7. - Top - End - #67
    Dwarf in the Playground
     
    Zaggab's Avatar

    Join Date
    Jun 2006

    Default Re: Folding@Home

    Everyhing seems to be working fine now, but thanks anyway.

    The key to understanding what a proxy server is turned out to be finding "proxy" in the dictionary.
    Yay!

  8. - Top - End - #68
    Orc in the Playground
     
    RedWizardGuy

    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Indianapolis, IN
    Gender
    Male2Female

    Default Re: Folding@Home

    Glad you got it fixed.

    On another note, I'm having a spot of trouble. I'm getting the following in my logs:

    [15:17:11] + Attempting to send results
    [15:17:42] Couldn't send HTTP request to server (wininet)
    [15:17:42] + Could not connect to Work Server (results)
    [15:17:42] (171.64.65.65:8080)
    [15:17:42] - Error: Could not transmit unit 03 (completed August 28) to work server.

    I don't know why. I'm working on work unit 5 now. So 1,2, and 4 appear to have transmitted just fine. I don't know what to do about this one. Worse, I think it already credited me with points for it, so I am loathe to just delete the work results file. Any suggestions?

  9. - Top - End - #69
    Barbarian in the Playground
     
    Bitzeralisis's Avatar

    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Rhode Island
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Folding@Home

    Just like this?

    Spoiler
    Show

    Code:
    [10:56:11] + Attempting to send results
    [10:56:32] - Couldn't send HTTP request to server
    [10:56:32] + Could not connect to Work Server (results)
    [10:56:32]     (171.64.65.58:8080)
    [10:56:32] - Error: Could not transmit unit 03 (completed August 22) to work server.
    [10:56:32]   Keeping unit 03 in queue.
    
    
    [10:56:32] + Attempting to send results
    [10:57:35] - Couldn't send HTTP request to server
    [10:57:35] + Could not connect to Work Server (results)
    [10:57:35]     (171.64.65.58:8080)
    [10:57:35] - Error: Could not transmit unit 03 (completed August 22) to work server.
    
    
    [10:57:35] + Attempting to send results
    [11:00:16] - Couldn't send HTTP request to server
    [11:00:16] + Could not connect to Work Server (results)
    [11:00:16]     (171.64.122.76:8080)
    [11:00:16]   Could not transmit unit 03 to Collection server; keeping in queue.
    [11:00:16] - Preparing to get new work unit...
    [11:00:16] + Attempting to get work packet
    [11:00:16] - Connecting to assignment server
    [11:00:16] - Successful: assigned to (171.64.65.58).
    [11:00:16] + News From Folding@Home: Welcome to Folding@Home
    [11:00:17] Loaded queue successfully.
    
    
    [11:00:28] + Attempting to send results
    [11:03:00] - Couldn't send HTTP request to server
    [11:03:00] + Could not connect to Work Server (results)
    [11:03:00]     (171.64.65.58:8080)
    [11:03:00] - Error: Could not transmit unit 03 (completed August 22) to work server.
    
    
    [11:03:00] + Attempting to send results
    [11:10:10] - Couldn't send HTTP request to server
    [11:10:10] + Could not connect to Work Server (results)
    [11:10:10]     (171.64.122.76:8080)
    [11:10:10]   Could not transmit unit 03 to Collection server; keeping in queue.
    [11:10:10] + Closed connections


    I had this happen once, the problem was my firewall was blocking it (until I marked it as "safe," of course). Either your internet was down, the F@H server was down, or your firewall was blocking it. Either way, if it showed up in the F@H site, then there's no problems at all.
    Last edited by Bitzeralisis; 2007-08-30 at 01:27 PM.
    ·Bitzeralisis·
    Avatar: Rogue

  10. - Top - End - #70
    Orc in the Playground
     
    RedWizardGuy

    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Indianapolis, IN
    Gender
    Male2Female

    Default Re: Folding@Home

    Well, here's the rub... it keeps popping up. And that's bizarre because I've gotten work units since then and processed them and even uploaded them. It's just this one that won't go.

    Edit: It's popping up every 6 hours. I guess that's the retry time.
    Last edited by Al'izh'dheg; 2007-08-30 at 02:42 PM.

  11. - Top - End - #71
    Banned
     
    Zombie

    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    reality... except not

    Default Re: Folding@Home

    Quote Originally Posted by Al'izh'dheg View Post
    Tannish, by your post, I wasn't sure, but I wanted to make certain you knew you don't have to have a PS3 to participate. Any computer will work.

    Edit: Any computer running a common OS, I mean. By that I mean Windows, OSX, Linux, and even a couple of flavors of UNIX I believe.
    of course, but more processors working on it = wordidontrememberrightnow

  12. - Top - End - #72
    Orc in the Playground
     
    RedWizardGuy

    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Indianapolis, IN
    Gender
    Male2Female

    Default Re: Folding@Home

    Indeed so! I have 4 computers working on it round the clock. One is an old dual processor 933MHz processor server I had lying around doing nothing. It wheezes and chokes with it's 256 MB of RAM, but still manages to get some done every couple of days. I have one session running on each of the two processors.

    So that's 5 instances running at the same time! Whee! Of course that server I mentioned above really is limping along. I was thinking about having it run the SMP version instead. See if maybe letting both processors bear down on one work unit would get them out faster. Then again probably not, as the lack of memory is likely the cause of its issue.

  13. - Top - End - #73
    Bugbear in the Playground
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Canadia
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Folding@Home

    So I signed up and got it to work. Looks interesting. I'm about 2/5 of the way through my first WU, after just two days. Apparently my computer sucks for processing speed.

    I am, however, interested in what exactly I'm seeing here. Light grey (Hydrogen), dark grey (Carbon), red (Oxygen) and blue (Nitrogen? The number of bonds on each atom—3—seems to fit, but I can't remember my colour coding from Grade 9 science). So...I'm guessing that what my computer is doing is processing the chemical formulas and physical structure of various proteins?

    *goes off to read the Folding website for answers*

    Hmm...interesting.
    Remember when I had an avatar?

  14. - Top - End - #74
    Dwarf in the Playground
     
    HalfOrcPirate

    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Canada

    Default Re: Folding@Home

    With the project number (if using the console client, check the unitinfo.txt file for the project number), you can enter the project number into JMOL (Jmol is a molecule viewer for use in chemistry and biochemistry) to see more information. http://jmol.sourceforge.net/fah/
    Also for details about a project, click the description link for the project at http://fah-web.stanford.edu/psummary.html (this link also shows how much a project is worth as well as how much time there is to complete it).
    Some of the newer project might not be in JMOL or the description, but might be described in the support forum.
    Other links that might be of interest:
    http://folding.stanford.edu/FAQ-diseases.html
    http://folding.stanford.edu/science.html
    And aimed more for students:
    http://folding.stanford.edu/education/molmodel.html
    http://folding.stanford.edu/education/protein.html
    http://folding.stanford.edu/education/diseases.html

  15. - Top - End - #75
    Dwarf in the Playground
     
    HalfOrcPirate

    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Canada

    Default Re: Folding@Home

    Giant in the Playground Folding Team Update #3

    Our team rank this week has cracked into the top 10,000 teams (moved up from 11,377th to 8880th)! We've also passed 30,000 points in total!

    In team news this week:
    We have 7 new members on our team this week - They are _Simius_, Pwenet, rward30, The_Evil_Thing, ufo, Vespe and ZebTheTroll! Welcome to the team!!
    rward30, check your system (and fahlog.txt) as your points indicate that there is a problem. If OCing, try reduce it by a little bit.

    Team member point contributions:
    Who has contributed to the team points this week? Here is the list (in alphabetic order):
    _Simius_, adanedhel9, Alarra, Alizhdheg, Archonic_Energy, Beaudoin, Bitzeralisis, Dennis_Callesen, Exachix, gaelbert, Jackie, Khaldan, MaxDibe, Mobius_Stripped, Phoe, potatocubed, Pwenet, Pyro, rward30, Samiam303, tannish2, The_Evil_Thing, ufo, Vespe, zargon and ZebTheTroll!

    Top 6 members in points gained in the last week:
    1 Alizhdheg
    2 Mobius_Stripped
    3 Pyro
    4 Phoe
    5 Alarra
    6 gaelbert

    Changes in team ranks (in the top 20):
    In the top 10: Pyro holds onto the lead! Alizhdheg jumps up from 15th to take 2nd! Mobius_Stripped moves up from 14th into 7th! And Alarra moves up 2 into 9th!
    In the top 20: MaxDibe up 2 into 15th, tannish2 up 9 into 16th, Exachix up 3 into 17th and potatocubed up into 20th.

    Individual Milestones achieved
    (in points at 1K, 5K, 10K, etc.):
    1,000 points: Dennis_Callesenm, Khaldan, Archonic_Energy, Alarra, Mobius_Stripped and Alizhdheg
    Congratulations to all those that have achieved a new milestone!

    Link of the week:
    (already posted just before this post!)

    p.s. If you have suggestions on how to improve these weekly update reports or any corrections to this or my FAQ type posts, let me know via message or post.

  16. - Top - End - #76
    Orc in the Playground
     
    RedWizardGuy

    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Indianapolis, IN
    Gender
    Male2Female

    Default Re: Folding@Home

    Well done to everybody contributing! We are doing so well, and it's for an excellent cause. Thank you all.

  17. - Top - End - #77
    Barbarian in the Playground
     
    Bitzeralisis's Avatar

    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Rhode Island
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Folding@Home

    lol... I raised to 5th place right after the update. As usual.

    With they'd get the SMP version perfected fast.
    ·Bitzeralisis·
    Avatar: Rogue

  18. - Top - End - #78
    Orc in the Playground
     
    RedWizardGuy

    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Indianapolis, IN
    Gender
    Male2Female

    Default Re: Folding@Home

    I have an odd question. If I click on any of my certificates, it comes up saying that I've done 0 work. Why is that? Everybody else seems to work fine. Is it because when I created my accounts, I used illegal characters? I didn't know at the time that apostrophes aren't allowed.

  19. - Top - End - #79
    Barbarian in the Playground
     
    Exachix's Avatar

    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Geosynchronous orbit

    Default Re: Folding@Home

    Have you completed any work units?

    What is your name on it?

    He he... I'm blind.

    Could just be an error in their system. I don't think we can help.
    Last edited by Exachix; 2007-09-03 at 11:27 AM.
    Cassietar!
    Lilli
    Spoiler
    Show

  20. - Top - End - #80
    Orc in the Playground
     
    RedWizardGuy

    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Indianapolis, IN
    Gender
    Male2Female

    Default Re: Folding@Home

    Didn't think so. I seem to be the only one afflicted. And it's not affecting our (or my) score any.

  21. - Top - End - #81
    Bugbear in the Playground
     
    The Evil Thing's Avatar

    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Home
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Folding@Home

    Damn, I'm getting my arse kicked here. Curses. Now I'm going to HAVE to upgrade my computer again.
    Skydiving as an activity does not in itself require a parachute.
    Skydiving as a hobby does.

    People who take drugs are bad.
    Blasted customs agents.

  22. - Top - End - #82
    Barbarian in the Playground
     
    Pyro's Avatar

    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Somewhere
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Folding@Home

    Wow a couple of posts ago I thought it would be a stretch to be in the top 5,000 by end of October, but at the rate we're going we may be in in the top 100 by that time.

  23. - Top - End - #83
    Orc in the Playground
     
    RedWizardGuy

    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Indianapolis, IN
    Gender
    Male2Female

    Default Re: Folding@Home

    Every little bit helps! And I'm proud to be on such a team as this. :)

  24. - Top - End - #84
    Pixie in the Playground
    Join Date
    Sep 2007

    Default Re: Folding@Home

    Quote Originally Posted by Zargon View Post
    rward30, check your system (and fahlog.txt) as your points indicate that there is a problem. If OCing, try reduce it by a little bit.
    Not sure what type of problem you are referring to. I don't OC as general rule, since my system is not in the best ventilated of locations. Could be that I tend to pause the F@H process while I do my daily dose(s) of MMO games, which makes me slow my overall work on it? If you can tell me what to look for, I'll see what I can do. Used to do this a lllooonnnggg time ago, and was setup as an independent, might that also be an issue? *shrug* Anything I can do to help out, and I will though. Looking at getting another system here at home setup as well to add to the list.

  25. - Top - End - #85
    Dwarf in the Playground
     
    HalfOrcPirate

    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Canada

    Default Re: Folding@Home

    rward30 - your next work unit got the full points, so maybe the earlier one was just been a fluke. Pausing should not be a problem. (I stop & start my system often and haven't seen any problems). You can always check the fahlog.txt file to see what it says happened (sometimes it is just a workunit reaches an early end point). If problems start up again, we can check into it a bit further.

    Pyro - top 100? NFL - a team like Penny Arcade with about 300 active members took almost 6 months to do that! Top 500 by the end of October maybe... but would need a lot of new members! And that means getting the word out (even a simple as adding a link to your signature can help) & especially if given help from the forum gods and above! Some ideas that I think would be a significant help:
    - a folding faq or instructions thread besides this discussion/etc. folding thread.
    - a mention in the GitP news
    - some teams have special forum badges for their folding members e.g. reach a milestones like 10K, get a simple GitP folding team badge, 100K gets a nicer badge. That kind of thing is alway popular with us forum folks!

    Evil Thing - if need any suggestions for upgrades...

  26. - Top - End - #86
    Orc in the Playground
     
    RedWizardGuy

    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Indianapolis, IN
    Gender
    Male2Female

    Default Re: Folding@Home

    Those are some great ideas. We could also come out with an official signature like I've seen some others do on these boards. Make people official secretaries of the Folding club or something. I'm all for that.

  27. - Top - End - #87
    Halfling in the Playground
     
    The 6th Side's Avatar

    Join Date
    Aug 2007

    Default Re: Folding@Home

    If I were to install this program how much would it slow down my computor?


    I know how people love to ignore a post by a Pixie, heck, I used to! But I am not a Pixie, i've just re-made my account! So on the rare occasion that I post something serious please pay attention to it

  28. - Top - End - #88
    Pixie in the Playground
    Join Date
    Sep 2007

    Default Re: Folding@Home

    Quote Originally Posted by The 6th Side View Post
    If I were to install this program how much would it slow down my computor?
    For general purposes, it doesn't. Only time I notice anything on my system is when I'm doing online games, or something along those lines, that is extrememly extensive use of system resources anyway. For most people, with standard day-to-day usage of the system though, no noticeable slow down. Also, if you do something that requires a lot of resources, you can always pause the F@H program (what I do when I start my MMO games) with no problem. Just remember to resume the work afterwards.

  29. - Top - End - #89
    Dwarf in the Playground
     
    HalfOrcPirate

    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Canada

    Default Re: Folding@Home

    Quote Originally Posted by rward30 View Post
    For general purposes, it doesn't. Only time I notice anything on my system is when I'm doing online games, or something along those lines, that is extrememly extensive use of system resources anyway. For most people, with standard day-to-day usage of the system though, no noticeable slow down. Also, if you do something that requires a lot of resources, you can always pause the F@H program (what I do when I start my MMO games) with no problem. Just remember to resume the work afterwards.
    Yes could pause it like rward30 mentioned (or stop it if it is one of the cards that has issues with two 3D apps from running at the same time - e.g. refuses to go to full screen on the second app). I can't say why for rward30 it is noticeable, perhaps adjusting some settings (e.g. slide the CPU selection to 3/4s and don't accept large projects) would clear things up or perhaps it is because of the client type used (as using the windows graphic client)?

    However using the settings mentioned in the console installation instructions on the second page of this thread (and repeated below), it should have no impact whatsoever. i.e. can't tell if running or not, even using benchmarks.

    Setting for minimal impact:
    Use console client with service option and the following settings
    80% cpu use (or less, especially if using a notebook)
    Use idle priority
    Don't accept large projects
    Don't accept advance projects

    With that configuration there would be no impact in just about all cases, even with an old PIII-550 with not much RAM.

    Here is an article from Tech Report about this:
    "Conclusions
    The results of our testing couldn't be clearer, at least for the systems we've tested today. Quite simply, the impact of running Folding@Home in the background is negligible. Even the most discerning users won't notice it."
    http://techreport.com/articles.x/4341/1
    Note they are using higher settings (e.g. cpu use at 100% instead of my suggested 80%) and on older equipment than many people have.

    Give it a try (with either client) and let us know how it goes!

  30. - Top - End - #90
    Pixie in the Playground
    Join Date
    Sep 2007

    Default Re: Folding@Home

    I did have mine set to use about 95% processor, as well as accepting larger projects, and I run the graphical client instead of console, so that's probably why. Just switched to smaller projects on the main system, and going to drop the processor to what you just mentioned, see what happens. I have no real problems most of the time, it just when I start my MMO's *shrug*. Personally I'm not to worried about it. Only curious thing I notice, I run the larger projects faster than I do the small one, maybe that's just because I also dropped the priority. Getting ready to trade to the console client as well, see what happens there.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •