Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
  1. - Top - End - #1
    Ogre in the Playground

NinjaGuy

Default How to upgrade encounters in 5E without chancing TPK.

I'm DM'ing for my family right now, and my kids are steamrollering Lost Mines of Phandelver, even with putting zero real thought into tactics and forgetting the Fighter's special abilities most of the time. I'm handicapped by the fact that a pair of 9 year olds are NOT going to handle a TPK in a mature fashion. (Eldest daughter, 12 years old, already doesn't want to game with the 9 year olds.) So I may not be able to take the risks you sometimes need to take to learn from failure.

I'm new to 5E, so I'm tweaking the wrong things--I spent a LOT of time figuring out what 1st level spells would be fun to give a Wight (I thought the Wraith would be a TPK risk, since it's Resistant to almost every form of damage except for the fighter's longsword +1, so I swapped the Wraith for a Wight with the ability to cast 1st level spells. Party arranged a surprise round, combat lasted one round after that, and the Grease spell didn't hamper the PCs at all.)

I'm having trouble hitting the spot between "too easy" and "TPK." The next encounter is a Spectator. I've maxxed out its HP, just to make sure the combat lasts long enough to let the monster get some licks in, but I still don't know if a 4th level party is at any real risk from a CR 3 monster, and if not how to upgrade it effectively.

2. - Top - End - #2
    Bugbear in the Playground

ClericGuy

Default Re: How to upgrade encounters in 5E without chancing TPK.

You could drop the numbers for some appropriate tension. If you feel like an encounter isn't as challenging as you planned, make it so, don't let the monster die, reward creative thinking, punish mistakes, you can do so without the support of RAW, if you believe that it will make the experience more enjoyable.