New OOTS products from CafePress
New OOTS t-shirts, ornaments, mugs, bags, and more
  1. - Top - End - #1
    Pixie in the Playground

ElfRogueGirl

Default Newbie Curious About PbP

Hi everyone! I'm brand new to these forums -- hopefully I'm posting in the right place?

So here's the deal. I started playing D&D 5e with a group of friends a few months ago, and I love it! Unfortunately, we're not able to meet as often as I'd like, and I find myself wanting more. I've been looking around online for ways to find people to play with and the idea of PbP intrigued me. I enjoy writing and I feel like it might allow me more time to really think my actions through and fully absorb all elements of the game.

My question: is PbP a good way for new RPG players to learn, or is it geared more toward people who already have a super solid grasp on the game mechanics? Are there many DMs on these forums who are open to players who may need a lot of help getting the hang of it? I understand that PbP in general is much slower than playing IRL, so I would hate to commit to a game only to find that I'm hindering my fellow players with my many questions/missteps.

Any insight into this would be greatly appreciated! I totally understand if PbP isn't the place for me yet -- just assessing my options at this point, no biggie. :)

2. - Top - End - #2
    Ogre in the Playground

Flumph

Default Re: Newbie Curious About PbP

Quote Originally Posted by Apostrophe View Post
    Hi everyone! I'm brand new to these forums -- hopefully I'm posting in the right place?

So here's the deal. I started playing D&D 5e with a group of friends a few months ago, and I love it! Unfortunately, we're not able to meet as often as I'd like, and I find myself wanting more. I've been looking around online for ways to find people to play with and the idea of PbP intrigued me. I enjoy writing and I feel like it might allow me more time to really think my actions through and fully absorb all elements of the game.