New OOTS products from CafePress
New OOTS t-shirts, ornaments, mugs, bags, and more
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
  1. - Top - End - #1
    Orc in the Playground

PaladinGuy

Default Help Needed on Hiding During Combat

Bringing this over from the RAW thread and adding a couple notes for organization:

Questions on Hiding During Combat

Sorry if some of these are elementary but I am a relative newbie trying to DM a party with a Half-Elf Paladin and Halfing Rogue. The 3rd Level Arcane Trickster Rogue uses his cunning action most rounds to hide behind the Paladin. He looks to attack with advantage and sneak attack every round either with a ranged weapon (bow or crossbow) or melee weapon (rapier or short-sword). I've read the rules on stealth and a couple threads but feel like I really don't have a great grasp on it yet.

BASIC HIDING

#1 When the Halfing hides and is in position to get cover from the Paladin, am I supposed to use the stealth roll of the Halfing in a contest versus a perception check of the enemy or use the passive perception of the enemy? With expertise in stealth, it is super easy for the Halfing to beat an enemy's passive perception. I assume that for opponents where the Paladin does not provide cover that the Halfing can't hide.

Example: Hallway with X = Walls, E1 = Enemy 1, P = Paladin, H = Halfing, E2 = Enemy 2

XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX
    E3 ------ E1 ------ P H ----------- E2

So contest with H's stealth versus E1 perception and E3 perception and no contest with E2? Passive perception for E1 and E3?

BASIC COMBAT WHEN HIDDEN

#2 If the Halfing successfully hides, will he get advantage and sneak attack when attacking E1 or E3 with a ranged attack if the Paladin is not within 5 feet of E1 yet?